Ketchup

Hello there my friends,

Thanks so much for your outpourings of goodwishes and prayers for me and mine, especially those for Dad. Dad is home from hospital but he caught an infection in there which we believe was caused by the catheter that was inserted and left in four days with some negligence on the part of those responsible, to ensure that it was emptied when it should have been etc. Dad has ongoing problems that has arisen now because of this and has had meds for this which have not got rid of the problem, so as of today he has to take another med to see if that will work. He just didn’t need any more health issues to battle. Neither Mum nor Dad are sleeping due to Dad’s poor health and especially these recent complications and they are both, understandably, exhausted.

In other news, my Darling Wondergirl celebrated her 19th birthday a couple of days ago. She is doing really well with her commute to uni and is blinding me with political and philosophical terminolgy that goes waaaaaaaaaaaaaayyy over my head.

Blunderboy hasn’t been in touch and hasn;t visited my family at all recently, though he did want to see his Grandma and Grandad the other week apparantly, but Dad was in hospital at the time and then too unwell to receive visitors when he returned home.

There are days of late without definition, that blur and blend and before i know it a week has passed…weeks have passed this way, possibly months. ‘Can it really be November already ?’ I ask myself.

But of course it is, i know this.

I don’t really note the significance of any month any more, perhaps it is apathy, perhaps it is living in a cloud of medication and brain fog.

Does it even matter that i don’t know?

I notice some things, though not others.

I  don’t know that i notice the important or unimportant.

This past week i drove by tree after tree with varied burnished leaf colours…today i drive past those same trees and there are no leaves. One week you have something, the next it is gone. There is an impermanence in certain elements of my life. An yet it’s a cycle isn’ it? Old makes way for new, out of the deadness of the fallen leaves, there is left behind something new that wil shine brightly in it’s place.

Regenerating.

Replenishing.

Wounds heal, however slowly, as long as they are not to deep.

The deep wounds can be bound to stop one falling apart, but beneath the swaddling, the scars remain.

A reminder.

It can be hard to look for goodness when we are in a dark place.

It can be hard to see the sweet small mercies and sacrifices made for us.

How many blessings do I/we overlook every day?

I’ve been thinking lately:

1. Do i look to bless others with my life?

2. Do i notice/acknowledge/appreciate the blessings done to/for me by others?

3. Do I give thanks to God, daily, for the many blessings I receive?

4. Do I even acknowledge that God is the source of all the blessings I recieve?

Anyways, I got to thinking….wouldn’t it be great to have some place to write about how i blessed someone else or how i was blessed? I mean, I wouldn’t write a daily post about my blessings, but what if i dedicated a page of the blog to do so..and invited all who visit here, to share theire blessings with one another here so we could all enjoy the blessings we each have done or received?

So, I started up a new page of the blog where we can do precisely that. It’s heading is ‘Share your Blessings’ and at least once a day I aim to write in the com box about my blessings, and i hope that you might want to join me too.

Click this link to ‘Share Your Blessings’

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Inspiration. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ketchup

  1. Mimi says:

    I was just thinking of you today, so glad to hear your Dad is home, sorry about the infection.
    Happy Birthday to Wondergirl, and love to you! Prayers as always.

  2. Sarah Oldham says:

    Happy and blessed birthday to Wondergirl!!!
    I’m happy to hear your dad is home again, but will continue to keep him (and you all) in my prayers. Be well, my friend. God bless you.

  3. Cathy says:

    Wishing all well!!!! Know you have had rough time. Hoping and praying for you and yours!

  4. Mary Lou says:

    Happy birthday to your wonderful daughter! You must be so proud of her!
    I am so sorry to hear that your dear dad is having to struggle through yet another problem. We will all continue to pray for his recovery.
    God’s blessing to all of you!

  5. Therese says:

    I love the idea of share your blessing. Will have a think about what is a blessing and post something there.

    Happy Birthday to Wondergirl. Continued prayers for your whole family especially your dad’s healing.

  6. Suzanne says:

    Hello! Blessings being sent to you here. :) Good to hear about Wondergirl’s birthday. How many years have we blogged together..just knowing about her going through the teen years!
    Praying for all of the other and praying that peace and rest come to those who need it so much. Praying for low low anxiety about it all.

  7. Owen says:

    Continued thoughts and prayers…

  8. Hi, I desire to subscribe for this web site to take most up-to-date updates,
    so where can i do it please assist.

Leave a Reply

