Once more…

may i beg your prayers….for the repose of my dear Daddies soul. Dad passed during the early hours of this monring (Sunday) at about 3:50am. Mum and i were at his bedside as he passed. Words really can’t express how we are feeling, but I know my dear friends, that death is a visitor to each of our families, that it comes to us all, that you know something of this agony. Dad passed holding the ‘holding cross’ that he has had with him all his time in hospital these past 6 weeks. He motioned for it to be put in his hand shortly before he passed.

From the bottom of my heart I thank you, as do all my near and dear ones, for all your many prayers and your kindnesses…you have helped to keep us going all along this arduous 12 month journey which Dad has so bravely endured

Shortly before he passed he said, ‘Oh God….no more’. ~A little while later he breathed his last.

We stayed until almost 8am, my dear brother left work and travelled up to come sit with Dad a while, as Dad lay peacefully, just as if sleeping…with a rosary in one hand and the holding cross in the other….because of the special air pressure mattress on the hospital bed, which moves as any pressure is placed at whatever point, it almost seemed from time to time, that Dad was still breathing….when i had alerted the nursing staff, when Dad seemed no longer to be inhaling the oxygen from his mask, even the nurse thought at first that he had fallen asleep…he had been so poorly when we arrived at the hospital…it was such a blessing that beofre he passed he finally was able to rest a little….then close his eyes, and leave us for a better life, a healthy life, meeting now, now doubt with his much loved family members who had left this world before him.

The Catholic Chaplain came to Dad’s bedside after Dad had passed, he prayed, we prayed, it was good for the soul, it was what Dad would have wanted.

Now begins the difficult part, the practicalities of dealing with all that must be done….but they are a sign of the life Dad lived on earth…we are a sign that he loved on earth, and how we love him so.

Of your charity my dear friends, pray for my dear departed Dad…I will write more, because i may want to or need to, but for now i will leave this here.

My Dad’s name as many of you know, is Peter, he became Catholic only in recent years after many many years, more than 60 of claiming atheism or agnosticism to be his belief system, or lack of beliefsysytem, whatever the hell it was. When he became Catholic he took the Saints name of Thomas, as in ‘doubting Thomas’….we are so glad Dad found his faith, and that he lived his faith right up until the end, to the best of his ability.

Eternal rest grant unto him O Lord, and may your perpetual light shine upon him, and through the mercy of God may he rest in peace. Amen.

Goodnight my darling Daddy…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Once more…

  1. barbara says:

    Oh Deb. I am so sorry. My prayers are with you all.

  2. Mary Lou says:

    Dearest Debbie, My tears fall for you, my heart aches for your. But our Lord wanted Peter Thomas by His side. Your dear Dad is home, one blessed soul at home with his God! We are all happy that your Dad found God, even if it was in the later years of his life.
    A bishop told my friend this (as if it were the deceased person talking) ‘When I was born, I cried and you laughed with joy. When I died, you cried and I laughed with joy.
    Stay strong, Debbie, for your dear Mother. Oh how she needs you.
    And all of your followers will be praying for the soul of your dear Dad and those that he has left behind on this earth.

  3. Pablo H. says:

    Dear Padre, This poor woman has lost her father:

    may i beg your prayers…

    Also from an earlier post she says:

    Sometime yesterday, during one of the few brief periods when Dad was able to communicate with us, he did let us know that he had received the Sacrament from the priest.

    *************************************************************************
    Would you please say a Mass for her daddy’s soul?

    This woman calls herself U.K.O.K. on her blog http://catholicconvert.wordpress.com

    muncho aprciado

    *************************************************************************

    Senora UKOK,

    at http://www.traditionalcatholicism.org there are sermons contained therein.

    In the Requiem Masses section a sermon Our Adoration of The Divine Will – Father Pfeiffer is there for you.

    The Three Hail Mary’s from me for your sweet heart that loved and misses your Daddy.

    He must have been very proud to have a daughter that wept before the Lord that the grace of final repentance and conversion be given to him.

    *

  4. Owen says:

    I’m sorry Deb. Prayers for you dad, your mom, you…your family.

  5. alicia says:

    I am so sorry for your loss but glad that he died in communion with the lord of all!

  6. The Sheepcat says:

    Sad for you, ukok. May he rest in peace, and may all of you be comforted in your grief.

  7. Valerie says:

    Deb – I have followed your life for the past several years, and I know what great joy it brought to you when your Dad became Catholic! Just imagine the joy he is feeling now, thanks to your prayers and God’s grace, to be in heaven finally meeting his Lord and Savior. I will light a candle at church for his treasured memory and say prayers for you and your family and for the repose of his soul. Love, Val

  8. Eternal rest grant unto him, O Lord, and may perpetual light shine upon him. May you and all of your family be comforted in your time of loss. With my sympathies and prayers!

  9. Therese says:

    I am so sorry for your loss Deb. Loosing my dad was a very hard thing but my faith got me through. I am sure yours will too.

    Thanks so much for sharing your fathers conversion story with us too Deb. It must bring you such comfort to know that he had this belief now.

    Therese.

  10. Rita says:

    You are in my thoughts and prayers, my dear.

    God Bless you all.
    xxx

  11. Antonia says:

    So so sorry Deb. My love to you and all your family.

    *prayers for your dad*

    XXXXX

  12. Angela M. says:

    Prayers ascend for all.

  13. Suzanne says:

    Dear Deb and for you sweet mum, your daughter, son, and other family members. I have prayed that your Dad’s soul be resting in the peace of our Lord and His ..our Mother. I love you, dear friend.
    Suzanne

  14. Cathy says:

    Praying for you all in this time of sorrow! May God’s blessings be on you! My your father’s soul and the souls of all the faithful departed rest in peace. Amen.

  15. Hidden One says:

    Praying for him.

  16. Jean says:

    Deb,

    I am so sorry to hear of your father’s passing. Of course, I will pray for the repose of his soul and for you, your mom, and your family, dear. May God fill your hearts with His comfort and peace. My heart and prayers go out to you!

  17. John says:

    Dear Deb, thank you for letting us know about your Dad – it is a sorrow that he had to be so ill and to leave you finally, but a joy that he will be nearer than ever to Our God. Your description of his passing is very comforting and it sounds as though your Dad’s faith was a strong one and that he was also a strong himself. God bless him and God bless his family and friends and know that you are (always) in the special prayers of special friends many of whom you’ve never seen nor met. In the joy of Christ’s love for us all, John

  18. Matheus says:

    I’ll pray for your father’s soul and for you and your family. Thanks for bothering to share the moment with us.

  19. Esther says:

    Dear Deb:
    I am so sorry to learn of your dear daddy’s passing. My sincerest condolences to you and your mom. I will be praying for the repose of his soul.
    hugs,

  20. Oh, Deb, I am so sorry. I have been praying for your dad and your family. What a happy death he must have had– with you and your mom there and holding his cross. And I remember his beautiful conversion story. How very happy it was. Just imagine his joy now. My dear mother passed away 6 years ago today. I hope my mother Helen can now meet Peter your father and marvel at how their daughters have an e-friendship in spite of an ocean in between. May your father rest in peace and may he even now be before the face of Jesus interceding for his beloved family. And may the Lord pour forth his grace upon you all and comfort you with His peace. Continued prayers for all of you!

  21. Renee says:

    I am sorry for your loss, and you and your mom, as well as your children will be in my thoughts and prayers. Of course, I will pray for the repose of your dad’s soul, in a place of rest, where there is no more sorrow, or tears. May his memory be eternal!

  22. Mimi says:

    Oh my dear friend, I am so sorry to hear of your Dad’s passing. May his Memory be Eternal. Prayers to you and your sweet mom as you deal with the difficult days ahead.
    My love from across the pond, and prayers. Hugs.

  23. Melanie says:

    I am so very sorry for your loss. You, your family, and your darling father are all in my prayers. God Bless You!

  24. Audrey says:

    I’m sorry for your loss, Deb. All of you are remembered in my prayers.

  25. Lesley says:

    Deb

    I am so sorry for your loss.

    Lesley

  26. alexa says:

    Dear Deb,

    I’m so glad you and your Mom were there with him when he passed away. And I am so very sorry for your loss. You have one fine soul up there praying for you now! Well, a few, actually – but what powerful prayers a father’s must be!
    My family keeps yours in our prayers as always.
    God bless you dear one,
    Alexa

  27. Autumn says:

    Praying for the repose of your Dad’s soul, and for comfort for all of you he has left behind. How wonderful that he found his faith late in life, that will be a great comfort already.
    My thoughts and prayers are with you, esp. as you deal with the praticalities.
    God bless, Autumn xx

  28. Paul says:

    My prayers for your Dad, you and you’re family…

    I am sorry for your loss, Deb. And I am glad that your father’s passing was a holy one. May it be a great consolation to you.

  29. Elena says:

    It’s so hard to lose a parent; I’m so sorry for your loss Deb. Sounds like he died a blessed and good death and I am grateful for that. You and your mom will be in my prayers.

  30. Sarah Oldham says:

    My sympathies and prayers. Your dad knows JOY eternal. Amen. Love to you and loads of Aloha.

  31. Suzanne says:

    Still thinking of you, dear and your sweet Momma. Look at all of your wonderful friends! :) Isn’t that nice. Hugs and kisses..and as always, prayers.

Leave a Reply

