Rest in Peace, Dearest Dad…

Many thanks to those of you who have kindly emailed, left comments and sent cards from around the world (particularly at this time i must mention special thanks to dear Mimi, Antonia, and Alexa!).

The burden of grief bears heavy upon us all who are mourning, but it is said for good reason that God never gives us more than we can bear, and we shall shoulder the loss of our dear departed loved one, somehow.

I would like to let you know, dear readers of this blog, friends and family, that Dad will be received into church at 6pm this evening, prior to the Ash Wednesday Mass which will take place at 7.30pm.

Tomorrow afternoon, the 10th March 2011, Dad’s Funeral Mass will take place at 1pm at Our Lady and St. Benedicts Catholic Church, and will be followed by his cremation at 2.30pm. A reception/wake to celebrate Dad’s life, will then follow.

The cause of Dad’s death is still being ascertained and a full and complete death certificate has not yet been issued, because it was necessary for Dad to have a post mortem despite having passed away in hospital after a very long illness. However, we are very grateful that we are now able to lay Dad to rest, despite the necessary investigations into the exact cause of Dad’s death.

We kindly ask that there will be no flowers at the funeral except for the large spray of red roses which will be from Dad’s immediate and closest family members. Instead, we ask  (this is for information purposes only, i am not requesting donations!!!) that if people feel so inclined, they would please make a donation (to be paid/given to the Funeral Directors or myself or Phil),so that we may fulfill our hope of purchasing breathing equipment (in the form of a nebuliser, possibly two) for Respiratory Ward 81 at the City General Hospital, where Dad was cared for, but sadly, later died.

Now, here is a request!

If you could, would you please offer up a prayer for the repose of Dad’s soul?

Thank you.

It may be of interest for you to read the online version of the obituary that we placed in the city newspaper last week.

Click here to read it.

This entry was posted in Home & Family. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rest in Peace, Dearest Dad…

  1. Owen says:

    Deb, I am heading out quite soon to the Ash Wednesday mass and will remember the repose of your dad’s soul then and also pray for you and your family.

  2. Renee says:

    The repose of the soul of your dear dad will be in my Lenten prayers daily. I am so sorry for your loss, and hope the Holy Spirit fills you with His gift of consolation.

  3. Mary Lou says:

    May the soul of Your beloved servant, Peter Kings, rest in Your light and love for eternity.

  4. terry nelson says:

    I’m so sorry for your loss. My prayers and condolences. God bless you.

  5. Mimi says:

    Continued prayers, my dear and love to you. I’m sending hugs across the pond.

  6. Sarah Oldham says:

    Continuing to keep you all in prayers . . . and in my daily DM chaplet. Much love and aloha to you, through Our Lady.

  7. Antonia says:

    God bless. I am still praying for your dad daily
    XXX

  8. Therese says:

    will most definitely pray for the repose of your dads soul Deb. Will also be praying for you and your family as you all mourn your loss.

  9. Suzanne says:

    So good to see you here for a moment..you are on my mind daily and prayers. I have offered a prayer for the repose of your dear father’s soul and comfort for your mother and you and the grandchildren. Hugs across the big pond, Deb.

  10. You have my prayers for the repose of his soul and for the comfort of all in your family and his circle of friends who mourn his passing, yet rejoice in the promises of heaven.

  11. mum6kids says:

    May he rest.
    May God comfort you and your mum and your daughter.
    God bless

  12. Matheus says:

    Will continue to pray for his soul and your family on my Lenten daily rosary.

    Also, I would like to share this short article which I came across today. I think it will be perhaps a spiritually fruitful reading in this time of sadness.

  13. Your dad and your whole family have been in my prayers!! Just sent off a card before I read this. (But I am also going to send a check, although I know you were not asking) May God console your entire family and may your dear Dad even now be before the throne of Jesus!! God bless, dear e-friend!

  14. I’m sorry to be away for so long. Your dad, you, and everyone in the family are in my prayers.

  15. Suzanne says:

    Will you ever come back to visit us, dear? We miss you!

  16. Dear Deb.
    I have a special devotion to the poor souls in Purgatory, and will add prayers for your Dad, for you and your family as you continue to grieve your loss.

    I’ve been out of the loop for writing and visiting blogs, due to my Severe Depressive Disorder over the past year, I began to write again late Summer, early Fall. I see your blog voice has been silenced while you grieve. I hope the silence is temporary, and that your creative juices will flow freely once again,
    May the Souls of the Faithful departed rest in Peace. Amen

Leave a Reply

