Catholic Prayers and Devotions

Catholic Prayers and Devotions

The following prayers are some of the most popular Catholic prayers in existance . They are prayed the world over, every minute of every day; in Churches, in homes, at work. At times of great joy and thanksgiving, and at times of incredible sadness and personal suffering.

It matters not so much, how often we pray them, but of whether we are genuine in heart, when we do so.

THE SIGN OF THE CROSS ~

In the name of the Father,and of the Son,and of the Holy spirit.
Amen

OUR FATHER ~

Our Father,who art in heaven,hallowed be thy name,thy kingdom comethy will be doneon earth,as it is in heaven.Give us this day,our daily bread, and forgive us our trespasses,as we forgive those that trespass against us;and lead us not into temptationbut deliver us from evil.
Amen

HAIL MARY ~

Hail Mary, full of grace,the Lord is with thee.Blessed art thou among women,and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.Holy Mary, Mother of God,Pray for us sinners, now,and at the hour of our death.
Amen.

GRACE BEFORE MEALS~
Bless us, O Lord,and these your gifts,which we are about to receive from your goodness,(bounty)through Christ, our Lord.
Amen

GRACE AFTER MEALS~
We give you thanks Almighty God,for these and all the gifts we have receivedfrom your goodness,through Christ our Lord.
Amen

GRACE AFTER MEALS~

We give thanks for all your benefits, Almighty God, who lives and reigns forever. May the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace.
Amen.

(THE) GLORY BE~

Glory be to the Fatherand to the Sonand to the Holy Spirit.As it was in the beginningis now and ever shall beworld without end.
Amen

Prayers ~

Memorare

Remember, O most gracious Virgin Mary, that never was it known that anyone who fled to your protection, implored your help, or sought your intercession was left unaided.

Inspired with this confidence, I fly to you, O Virgin of Virgins, my Mother. To you I come, before you I stand, sinful and sorrowful.

O Mother of the Word Incarnate, despise not my petitions, but in your mercy, hear and answer me.
Amen.

Act of Contrition ~

My God, I am sorry for my sins with all my heart.In choosing to do wrongAnd failing to do good,I have sinned against youWhom I should love above all things.I firmly intend, with your help,To do penance,To sin no moreAnd to avoid whatever leads me to sin.Our Saviour Jesus Christ suffered and died for us.In his name, my God,Have mercy.
Amen.

O my God, I am sorry for my sins because I have offended you and I know I should love you above all things..Help me to do penance,to do better and to avoid anything,that might lead me to sin.
Amen.

O my God, because you are so good, I am very sorry that I have sinned against you, and by the help of your grace, I will not sin again.
Amen.

Prayers for Children

O God the Father of mankind, who hast given unto me these my children, and committed them to my charge to bring them up for Thee, and to prepare them for eternal life:

help me with Thy heavenly grace, that I may be able to fulfil this most sacred duty and stewardship. Teach me both what to give and what to withhold; when to reprove and when to forbear; make me to be gentle, yet firm; considerate and watchful; and deliver me equally from the weakness of indulgence, and the excess of severity;

and grant that, both by word and example, I may be careful to lead them in the ways of wisdom and true piety, so that at last I may, with them, be admitted to the unspeakable joys of our true home in heaven, in the company of the blessed Angels and Saints.
Amen.

O Heavenly Father, I commend my children to Thy care. Be Thou their God and Father; and mercifully supply whatever is lacking in me through frailty or negligence. Strengthen them to overcome the corruptions of the world, whether from within or without; and deliver them from the secret snares of the enemy. Pour Thy grace into their hearts, and strengthen and multiply in them the gifts of Thy Holy Spirit, that they may daily grow in grace and in knowledge of our Lord Jesus Christ; and so, faithfully serving Thee here, may come to rejoice in Thy presence hereafter.
Amen

The Angelus

The angel spoke God’s message to Mary, and she conceived of the Holy Spirit.

Hail Mary …

“I am the lowly servant of the Lord: Let it be done to me according to your word.”

Hail Mary …

And the Word became flesh and lived among us.

Hail Mary …

Pray for us, holy Mother of God, that we may become worthy of the promises of Christ. Lord, fill our hearts with your grace: once, through the message of an angel you revealed to us the incarnation of your Son; now, through his suffering and death lead us to the glory of his resurrection. We ask this through Christ our Lord.
Amen.

THE JESUS PRAYER ~

Lord Jesus Christ, Son of God, have mercy on me, a sinner.
Amen

FREE THE SOULS IN PURGATORY ~

Eternal Father,I offer Thee the Most Precious Blood of the Divine Son, Jesus, in union with the Masses sadi throughout the world today.For all the Holy Souls in Purgatory, for sinners everywhere. For sinners in the Universal Church.those in my own home and within my family.
Amen

MORNING OFFERING~

O Jesus,I offer you all the prayers, thoughts, works,and sufferings of this day.Grant, O Lord,That no one may love you less this daybecause of me;That no word or action of minemay turn a soul from you;and that many soulswill love you more this daybecause of me.
Amen

Almighty God, I thank you for your past blessings. today I offer myself – whatever I do, say, or think – to your loving care.Continue to bless me, Lord. I make this morning offering in union with the divine intentions of Jesus Christ who offers Himself daily in the Holy Sacrifice of the mass, and in union with Mary,His Virgin Mother and our Mother, who was always the faithful handmaid of the Lord.
Amen.

GUARDIAN ANGEL ~

Angel of God,my guardian dear,to whom God’s lovecommits me here,ever this day be at my side,to light and guard,to rule and guide.
Amen

EVENING PRAYER~

Now I lay me down to sleep,I pray the Lord, my soul to keep.If I should die before I wake,I pray the Lord,my soul to take.
Amen

O my God, i thank you with all my heart, for all the graces and blessings you have bestowed on me, especially for having called me to the true faith, for having given me Jesus Christ as my Saviour, the Blessed Virgin Mary as my Mother, and for having preserved me this day.

O my God, I have repaid with ingratitude your many benefits. I detest my sins, because they displease you, who are deserving of all my love;I repent of them with my whole heart. Forgive me through the merits of Jesus Christ.Let me not die in my sins, as I deserve.O my God, because you are infinate Goodness and worthy of infinate love, I love you with my whole heart, above all things.I love my neighbour as myself and forgive, for your sake, all who have injured me.

Bless, O Lord, all my relations, benefactors, friends and enemies. Protect and bless our Holy Father, all the bishops and priests of your holy Church.Help the poor and all who are afflicted, prisoners and travellers, the sick and the dying.

O merciful God! Have pity also on the suffering souls in purgatory. Put an end to their sufferings and bring them to eternal rest.O my God, I beseech you to preserve me this night from all evil.O Mary, my dear Mother, bless and protect me under your mantle.All my patron saints, intercede for me.
Amen.

THE MYSTERIES OF THE HOLY ROSARY ~

The Joyful Mysteries:

( Monday and Saturday.)

1. Annunciation of the birth of Jesus to Mary by the angel Gabriel
2. Visitation of Mary to her cousin Elizabeth
3. Nativity of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ
4. Presentation of the infant Jesus in the Temple
5. Finding of the Child Jesus in the Temple by Mary and Joseph

The Luminous Mysteries :

( Thursday)
1. Christ’s baptism in the Jordan River
2. The self-revelation of Christ at the marriage of Cana
3. Christ’s announcement of the kingdom of God
4. The Transfiguration of Christ
5. The institution of the Eucharist at the Last Supper

The Sorrowful Mysteries~

( Tuesday and Friday)

1. Agony of Christ in the Garden
2. Scourging of Jesus at the Pillar
3. Placing of the crown of thorns on the head of Jesus
4. Carrying the Cross by Jesus
5. Crucifixion of our Lord Jesus Christ

The Glorious Mysteries ~

(Wednesday and Sunday)

1. Resurrection of our Lord from the dead
2. Ascension of our Lord into heaven
3. Descent of the Holy Spirit upon the apostles on Pentecost
4. Assumption of the Blessed Virgin Mary into heaven
5. Coronation of the Virgin Mary

PRAYERS OF THE HOLY ROSARY~
THE SIGN OF THE CROSS ~

In the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Spirit.
Amen.

APOSTLES CREED ~

I believe in God, the Father almighty, creator of heaven and earth. I believe in Jesus Christ, his only Son, our Lord. He was conceived by the power of the Holy Spirit and born of the Virgin Mary. He suffered under Pontius Pilate, was crucified, died, and was buried. He descended to the dead. On the third day he rose again. He ascended into heaven, and is seated at the right hand of the Father. He will come again to judge the living and the dead. I believe in the Holy Spirit, the holy Catholic Church, the communion of saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, and life everlasting.
Amen.

OUR FATHER ~

Our Father, who art in heaven, hallowed be thy name; thy kingdom come; thy will be done on earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread; and forgive us our trespasses as we forgive those who trespass against us; and lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil.
Amen.

HAIL MARY ~

Hail Mary, full of grace, the Lord is with thee; blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus. Holy Mary, Mother of God, pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death.
Amen.

GLORY BE TO THE FATHER ~

Glory be to the Father, and to the Son, and to the Holy Spirit. As it was in the beginning, is now, and ever shall be, world without end.
Amen.

FATIMA PRAYER~

O my Jesus, forgive us our sins, save us from the fires of hell; lead all souls to heaven especially those who are most in need of your mercy.
Amen

HAlL HOLY QUEEN ~

Hail, Holy Queen, Mother of Mercy, our life, our sweetness, and our hope. To you do we cry, poor banished children of Eve. To you do we send up our sighs, mourning and weeping in this valley of tears. Turn then, most gracious advocate, your eyes of mercy toward us, and after this our exile, show unto us the blessed fruit of your womb, Jesus. 0 clement, 0 loving, 0 sweet Virgin Mary! Pray for us, 0 holy Mother of God. That we may be made worthy of the promises of Christ.
Amen.

PRAYER AFTER THE ROSARY ~

O God, whose only-begotten Son, by his life, death, and resurrection, has purchased for us the rewards of eternal life; grant, we beseech you, that we who meditate upon these mysteries of the most holy rosary of the Blessed Virgin Mary, may imitate what they contain and obtain what they promise. We ask this through Christ our Lord.
Amen.

STATIONS OF THE CROSS:

These are the meditations on the sufferings and Death of Our Lord Jesus Christ,
first, say an introductory prayer, and then reflect/pray upon the Stations of the Cross:

1. Jesus is condemned to death on the cross.
2. Jesus accepts the cross
3.Jesus falls the first time
4. Jesus meet’s his sorrowful Mother.
5.Simon of Cyrene helps Jesus carry his cross.
6. Veronica wipes the face of Jesus
7. Jesus falls the second time.
8. Jesus meet’s and speaks to the women of Jerusalem.
9. Jesus falls the third time.
10. Jesus is stripped of his garments.
11. Jesus is nailed to the cross.
12. Jesus dies on the cross.
13. Jesus is taken down from the cross.
14.Jesus is placed in the tomb.

~ say a concluding prayer ~ recalling Jesus’ Resurrection.

God Bless.

This entry was posted in Daily Meditation Medication, Faith Matters, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Catholic Prayers and Devotions

  1. Sonyia Brake says:

    I am so excited about finding this site.
    Thank you so much for the Catholic stationary. I definitely will use it and pass on the site to others.

Leave a Reply

