Habemus Papam!

Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger…has been elected as the Pope of the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church!

He has taken the name Pope Benedict XVI

Long live the Holy Father!

God Bless.

Edited to add….just after we heard the news we rushed off to Mass, I was unexpectedly interviewed by a news reporter as we left Mass…I was bubbling with joy at the election of our new Pontiff…babbling away about how delighted I am…I’m praying that I don’t sound like a complete freak if/when it’s played on the radio!!! (not that I care really, because I love Pope Benedict XVI and I thank God that I am a Catholic!)

Apostolic Blessing “Urbi et Orbi”

Dear Brothers and Sisters,

After the great Pope John Paul II, the Cardinals have elected me, a simple and humble labourer in the vineyard of the Lord.

The fact that the Lord knows how to work and to act even with inadequate instruments comforts me, and above all I entrust myself to your prayers.

Let us move forward in the joy of the Risen Lord, confident of his unfailing help. The Lord will help us and Mary, his Most Holy Mother, will be on our side. Thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

