If this is what it’s like now…


…what is it going to feel like when she leaves home!

My daughter left home this morning. No, she’s not a teen rebel (yet. I’m praying she doesn’t turn out like I did as a teenager) and I haven’t nagged her into deserting me at the age of 13…she’s just gone on holiday with her grandparents for a week…and I’m already missing her.

Mum is going to take my ‘baby’ to Mass on Saturday night. I had already agreed to the holiday before it entered my head to think about her missing Mass! …and then I got palpitations, and contacted my folks to make sure that she wouldn’t miss her obligation.

My parents, as some of you aware, are not church goers, so this means a lot to me that they are prepared to take Primadonna to Mass when they aren’t even Catholic themselves (most likely Dad will just drop them off and then collect them later)

So, yesterday evening my daughter was pulling things out of the laundry and saying “shall I take this?”….she has known all week that she has been going, and now decides that she wants to take a variety of clothing that may or may not have even been washed yet!

Dad drove up from Wales this morning, had an hour here in England and then took my baby back with him.

I don’t know why I posted this picture, but I think that it was so that even when I’m on the computer, I can see her beautiful face all week long while she’s away. And I can’t wait to hear my mobile phone ringing because she has recorded her own voice as a ring tone for me so, she can still speak to me even though we’re 120 miles apart!

God bless.

p.s. If there is any further spam in my comments box I’m going to have to do that comment verification thing. Sorry, but I’m getting completely fed up of reading about microsoft, ceiling fans and agent orange.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to If this is what it’s like now…

  1. Suzanne says:

    Your daughter is beautiful! Are your parents from Wales? My maiden name is Morgan and we discovered that is where our “heritage” is on my dad’s side of the family.

    See! You are precious for your family..how else might they go to Mass or even near the church? Just keep asking…..:)
    God bless…Suzanne

  2. ukok says:

    Thanks for your kind comments Suzanne πŸ™‚

    My parents live here in Staffordshire, the same as I , but they have a permanent-vacation-static-caravan (kind of the equivalent of a trailer in the U.S, but one that’s worth in excess of $30,000 and situated on a very nice site near the sea) in North Wales.

    I’m glad to learn of your Welsh heritage, we’re even more closely linked than I suspected πŸ™‚

    You are so right about the parent thing too…you have a really uplifting perspective on this!

    Thankyou, and God Bless you and yours

  3. HeyJules says:

    What a beautiful young woman you have there! I am sure it will be heartwrenching to wait for her return so think about all the fun stuff you can do together when she gets back…not to mention all the fun stories she’ll have to tell you.

  4. Becky says:

    Just popping by to thank you for leaving your comment on my blog, The Faith Expedition. I love it when people comment because it leaves footprints that I can follow back to their blogs. Yours is lovely. I guess it’s safe to assume you’re Catholic? πŸ™‚ Blessings on you and yours. And I agree, your daughter is lovely.
    Becky

  5. ukok says:

    Jules, that’s a great idea and it will help to keep me focussed πŸ™‚

    The day after she arrives home, she has to return to school as the summer holidays finish then, so we won’t get to spend much time together next week, but I’m sure we’ll both enjoy spending time together the following weekend.

    Oh! She just sent me a message saying that she loves me! Bless her!

    God Bless.

  6. ukok says:

    Becky, thanks so much for stopping by.

    Youre right to assume that I’m Catholic, though I don’t know how you could have guessed…LOL! πŸ™‚

    God bless.

  7. Gayla says:

    ukok, when I read your posts/comments, I can just hear your British accent! πŸ™‚ Just love that accent, too.

    Sometime I’ll have to tell you of my short, but adventurous little tour I took while I was laid-over in London!

    Your daugher is a beauty. I know you’ll miss her. A week is LONG time! But I bet she’ll have a great visit with her grandparents.

  8. Paula says:

    Your daughter is beautiful. I let my daughter (a year older than yours)visit out of town this summer as well. She was only gone 5 days, but she looked so much older to me when I picked her up. Oh my. How does it happen??

  9. ukok says:

    gayla,

    It’s funny, because I like to hear the American accent just as much!

    And you just have to tell me about your London Experience sometime, it sounds very interesting!

    God Bless

  10. ukok says:

    Paula,

    I know what you mean. I sometimes think that my daughter grows an inch a day already, but when she’s away from home, she gorws two inches a day!

    She’s taller than me too. But I can still reach her butt to give it a slap when she’s acting up πŸ˜‰

    God Bless.

  11. ~m2~ says:

    uk – i don’t understand why you wouldn’t want to hear about ceiling fans every other comment? i am confused.

    πŸ™‚

    your daughter is a beauty, but i would gladly give, i mean loan my children out to my in-laws for a week! they spend a great deal of time with them in the summer and it’s such a special relationship — my mother, on the other hand, just can’t seem to be bothered.

    Lord, have mercy on me and bless her.

    peace.

  12. ukok says:

    Penni,

    I completely understand what you mean about the ‘specialness’ of a relationship between grandparents and grandchildren ~ Amy has never known her own Dad, so my Dad is like a Father to her, and my Mum is like another Mum to her…I dread to think of how she would be affected when they are no longer with us.

    I’m so very sorry to learn that your mother has so little time for your children, that must hurt you, and maybe even enrage you? I think it would me.

    What a waste it is to allow such possibilities to go unmissed in allowing relationships to slide away from us.

    I will remember this intention in my prayers.

    God Bless πŸ™‚

  13. John says:

    UkOk – thanks for visiting my blog and leaving a note! Your daughter is a beautiful young lady, I’m sure you’ll *both* have lots to share with each other when she returns!

    May God bless you and all those you hold dear in your heart!
    John

  14. ukok says:

    Thankyou John!

    May God bless you and your loved ones also πŸ™‚

  15. Audrey says:

    *LOL* Well Ukok, you’re a typical mom… just like my mom too. πŸ˜‰

  16. ukok says:

    Audrey, I’m glad I’m a typcal Mum…although last night, it meant that I was lying in bed crying because I miss her so!

    God Bless.

Leave a Reply

