And people do this for fun ?


I’m not around today, because I am here, well there actually. The land of puke inducing, electrifying, nappy filing rides. I have been forced to tag along with a group of ten year olds in my sons school class, to a day at Alton Towers.

When I say ‘forced’, that’s not to imply that anyone else had a hand in making me go. But here was the alternative…1 man supervising a heap of school children in a busy Theme park. Every mothers nightmare.

Wonderboy desperately wanted to be allowed to go rather than be excluded, but how much of an equation is it? I mean really…how long did you think it took me to say ,”NO WAY!”

Days of mental anguish followed as my son stropped around the house trying to make me feel like a bad Mum…I wanted to say ‘yes’, but I couldn’t help but stop my mind racing through possible scenarios of what could happen to him if I allowed him to go to England’s biggest Fright Park (practically unsupervised)..because if anyone could get lost trying to stay safe, it would be my boy.

Scenario’s;

1. He could be abducted by a psycho.

2. He could wander off at the first glimpse of a stick of candyfloss or a McDonalds sign.

3. He could get lost and not be missed

4. He could get lost, be missed, but not found.

5. He could get lost -and because I’ve told him not to talk to strangers – he might not tell anyone that he is lost and he might be stuck in the park until I rescue him…which conjures up mental images off him shivvering under a bush trying to stay warm and eating scraps from a park bin when evening falls and the park is empty..and when I finally get poast the security guards..he will have fallen to sleep, or worse, and then he won’t hear me…and the security guards will think i’m neurotic and dismiss me and throw me from the park.

6. He may be abducted by a psycho.

(yes, I already said that, I know)

I explained my concerns to Wonderboy (not the pshycho bit) and unspurpisingly he didn’t take it too well. So, I felt guilty for being a bundle of neuroses and I made a deal with him. I then telephoned the organiser of the trip and told him I’d be tagging along too if that was OK. He reassured me that he would be able to look after (there are about 23 in the class) the children. I said;

‘I’d like (small lie) to help you look after all those children anyway!’.

So that’s it. I’m going too.

But now I’m worried about other issues, like;

1. what if the safety bar won’t go over my enormous belly and I get booted off the rides and everyone laughs at me (10 year olds can be nasty y’know!) ?

2. what if I can’t squeeze through the turnstiles at the Theme Park entrance and my mother-master-plan is foiled?

3. what if I throw up while on some death-cheat rollercoaster and the kids laugh at me ?-That’s it…I’m not going on anything more hair raising than a kiddie tea cup ride!

I hope I get to go on the ‘bumping cars’ though…that’s how I learned to drive.

God Bless.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to And people do this for fun ?

  1. Julie D. says:

    Oh, oh, I thought of another “what if!”

    What if you have a blast and so does your son?

    Hate to bring that optimism crashing down on you … but I’m hoping you have a great time. 🙂

  2. Suzanne says:

    Me too, UKOK! I hate rides! I love to watch my kids get a chance to ride on MOST but not ALL of them, but I do go and watch because one day, they won’t even think to remember to say it is okay if I do go and like the former poster says, maybe, just maybe you’ll have blast!

    ENJOY!!! :O!

  3. onionboy says:

    What if you had and blast and your son didn’t {wink – always possible}
    Owen
    onionboy.ca ART
    luminousmiseries.ca FAITH

  4. alicia says:

    I’m sure that you both had a wonderful time, once you stopped worrying about the catechist course!

  5. ukok says:

    You are all quite correct, I did have a fantastic (if exhausting) time! Goodness, exciteable ten year old’s run so quickly…My chest felt like it was about to explode as I tried my best to keep up with them all.

    My son was braver than me, but I went on quite a few rides too. I definatley want to go again next year and try all the rides that we didn’t get around to. One of them only lasts for 2.5 seconds, because it travels at 100mile per hour!.

    Queuing wasn’t too bad, it can be up to 1.5 hours for each ride. Fortunatley the most we had to wait was about 20 minutes.

    Loved it!

    God Bless.

  6. Julie D. says:

    WOOHOO! Glad to hear it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

