Jesus in the Catholic Bible

Gayla asked me if I would provide the Catholic version of this post , so when I stumbled across this list earlier, I thought I’d post it here..

Old Testament

1 Genesis He is your Creator God
2 Exodus He is your Redeemer
3 Leviticus He is your Sanctifer
4 Numbers He is your Guide
5 Deuteronomy He is your Teacher
6 Joshua He is your Conqueror
7 Judges He gives you victory
8 Ruth He is your Kinsman
9 I Samuel He is the root of Jesse
10 2 Samuel He is the Son of David
11 1 Kings He is the King of Kings
12 2 Kings He is the Lord of Lords
13 1 Chronicles He is your Intercessor
14 2 Chronicles He is your High Priest
15 Ezra He is your temple
16 Nehemiah He is your mighty wall
17 Tobit He is your Healer
18 Judith He is your Just One
19 Esther He is your Deliverer
20 1 Maccabees He will raise you from the dead
21 2 Maccabees He is your Resurrection
22 Job He is your Arbitrator
23 Psalms He is your song
24 Proverbs He is your wisdom
25 Ecclesiastics He is your purpose
26 Song of Songs He is your Lover
27 Wisdom He is the God of Mercy
28 Sirach He is your Hero
29 Isaiah He is the Prince of Peace
30 Jeremiah He is the soothing Salve for your sin-sick soul
31 Lamentations He is the ever faithful One
32 Baruch He is your repentance
33 Ezekiel He assures you that dry, dead bones will come alive again
34 Daniel He is the Ancient of Days
35 Hosea He is your faithful Lover even when you have abandoned Him
36 Joel He will pour out the Spirit upon all humankind
37 Amos He is your Husbandman
38 Obadiah He is the Lord of the Kingdom
39 Jonah He will bring you back within His Will
40 Micah He wants you to love goodness and to walk humbly with your God
41 Nahum He is your jealous God
42 Habakkuk He is your Holy God
43 Zephaniah He is your Witness
44 Haggai He will overthrow your enemies
45 Zechariah He is the Lord of Hosts
46 Malachi He is your Messenger God

New Testament

1 Matthew He is the King of the Jews
2 Mark He is your Servant
3 Luke He is the Son of Man
4 John He is The Son of God
5 Acts He is the Savior of the World
6 Romans He is the Rightousness of God
7 1 Corinthians He is the Rock that followed Israel
8 2 Corinthians He is the Triumphant One
9 Galatians He is your Liberator
10 Ephesians He is the Head of the Church
11 Philippians He is your joy
12 Colossians He is your completeness
13 1 Thessalonians He is your hope
14 2 Thessalonians He is your patience
15 1 Timothy He is your faith
16 2 Timothy He is your stability
17 Titus He is the Truth
18 Philemon He is your Benefactor
19 Hebrews He is your perfection
20 James He is the power behind your faith
21 1 Peter He is your example
22 2 Peter He is your purity
23 1 John He is your life
24 2 John He is your pattern
25 3 John He is your Motivator
26 Jude He is the foundation of your faith
27 Revelation He is your coming King.

God Bless!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Jesus in the Catholic Bible

  1. Anna says:

    hi hukok,
    thanks for your visit and message on my blog!!

    Yesterday I read the Gayla’s post and I liked it a lot, but sure I prefer your catholic version…

  2. onionboy says:

    This is the great thing about the “extra” books; He has more places to be clearly seen.

  3. ukok says:

    Anna,

    you have such an advantage over me, you write excellent English and I write very bad italian!

    Owen,

    you’re ‘pip on’ matey, I don’t know how non-Catholics put up with having had books ripped out of there’s ๐Ÿ˜‰

    God Bless.

    p.s. sorry I didn’t get back to your email the other day, been rushed off my feet lately, I have lot’s of catching up to do!

  4. Julie D. says:

    I guess Gayla read my mind! I loved that post of hers and had it in mind to work on a Catholic version. Thank goodness you did it first so I can just shamelessly steal it … except perhaps that will ruin my “going to Purgatory” status. :-0

  5. Lorna says:

    eer

    wrote a comment and then it was zapped into cyberspace. Maybe it’s just as well

    be blessed ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Gayla says:

    Deb, that’s really beautiful. I think I’m going to copy it along with mine to keep in my Bible.

    And just as a disclaimer to the other commenters. I didn’t write the one on my blog!! Heavens, I’m not that creative. Deb, if you wrote this one, then I’m truly impressed, girl!! And that makes it even more imparative that I copy it!!

    Seriously, all this talk about the two Bibles has gotten me really thinking. In my read-the-Bible-in-one-year endeavor, I just today transitioned to the NT. I was reading all the history and multitude of information in my Bible, between the 2 Testaments. And I came away with some questions. Too tired tonight, so I will pose them tomorrow.

    It’s really fascinating to me.

    Again, this was so lovely! Jesus is indeed everywhere!

  7. Gayla says:

    OK, here’s me all embarrassed and everything.

    NOW I click on the link and see where you got it!

    Still beautiful!

  8. ukok says:

    Gayla, I’m glad you enjoyed it, I thought you would ๐Ÿ™‚

    I would have had to sit down for hours and hours to write a list that wouldn’t even come clkose to that standard….I’m pleased there was one already ‘out there’, of such a high standard!

    God bless.

    Lorna,

    you can comment here, even if the point that you are making is contrary to my viewpoint ๐Ÿ™‚

    God Bless!

  9. Lorna says:

    oh it wasn’t contrary to your viewpoint lol

    it was just about the apocrypha – there were a lot of books that didn’t make it into the RC canon for a whole variety of reasons but reading them adds a lot of wealth to our knowledge about the period between the OT and Christ and also early church practices.

    it seems to be a trend in protestant Bibles (here in Europe anyway) to include the non-canonical books you mention. While protestants may not consider them scripture, they are very important so it was interesting to see them included here.

    What I do find interesting though is that the scripture readings for Sunday mass (RC) are confined to what we would consisder the Bible and readings that come from the ‘disputed’ books are relegated to weekdays… which suggests that even within the RC these books are considered less important (if that’s the right word).what’s your take on that?

    (I’m rapidly becoming addicted to your site – like Penni’s – it’s fascinating to discuss with you. I in no way want to challenge or debate with you – but dialogue and find out what God has shown you ๐Ÿ™‚ it’s lovely and truly a blessing to visit here.

  10. ukok says:

    Lorna,

    I am greatly enjoying conversing with you in typeface and I hope that we get to know one another much better though interaction on both our blogs ๐Ÿ™‚

    You made a very interesting point about the Deuterocannononical readings at Sunday Mass, but they do occur and therefore are not relegated to a lesser place in the readings at Mass.

    For example in cycle A ~

    The Holy Family of Jesus, Mary and Joseph/ Christmas Day ~ the first reading is from the book of Ecclesiasticus 3:2-6 12-14

    Second Sunday after Christmas ~ the first reading is from the book of Ecclesiasticus 24:1-2. 8-12

    6th Sunday in Ordinary time ~ the first reading is from Ecclesiasticus 15:15 -20

    Easter Vigil: The sixth reading is from the book of Baruch ~ 3:9-15. 32-44

    16th Sunday in Ordinary Time ~ the first reading from Wisdom ~ 12:13, 16-19

    24th Sunday in Ordinary Time ~ the first reading is from Ecclesiasticus ~ 27:30-28:7

    32nd Sunday in Ordinary Time ~ the first reading is from Wisdom 6:12-16

    Using this as an example we can see that the deuterocanononical books have as much a place in the readings as any others. Noting particularly that the readings are read from them on Christmas Day and Easter Vigil.

    Hope this answers your question about their importance ๐Ÿ™‚
    I’m encouraged by your viewpoint regarding the ‘apocryphal books’, and I completely agree…it’s such a shame that some people won’t even read them.

    God Bless you!

  11. Moneybags says:

    This is very nice. Thanks a lot for sharing this.

  12. ukok says:

    Moneybags, it was my pleasure. Have a great weekend!

    God Bless.

  13. answer-man says:

    Just dropped in to read your blog. We are reading what others have to say and are introducing ourselves as well. We are intoducing The new Holy Bibles King James Versions and New Living Translations and especially The New Children’s Bibles on DVD and invite you to stop by and visit us at: **BibleMediaDvd.Com**

    We hope you don’t mind our comment on your site and do so repectfully.
    Thank you and God Bless.

Leave a Reply

