Absence


Sorry that I haven’t been around to blog today. I took the children to school , then did some shopping, then visited my parent’s to deliver some groceries to them and soon after I got there I received a phone call from my daughters school asking me to collect her. (this is very rare -the high school are notoriously lame at allowing children to leave the school early, even when they are really ill)

I took one look at her and knew that I had to take her to the doctors straight away. He (the doctor) was so thorough, I couldn’t believe it! We must have spent 40 minutes in his consulting room and we’d got in as an emergency after surgery had ended for the day (half day closing on thursdays)..he should have been in a rush to get home, but instead he meticulously checked Primadonna over..asking all sorts of questions….and would you believe (and I know they have to ask thuis, but it made me cringe)

“Does Primadonna have a boyfriend…is she sexually active?” (he was thinking pregnancy/possible miscarriage maybe)

….to which I responded.

Primadonna doesn’t even leave the house without me. I know where she is at all times”

So, that avenue was a dead end…and we got back on to that horrid word….

Meningitus

…as did being sent to the neurology department of the hospital.

She’s been sick for about 10 days now..intermittantly attending school on days when she has felt slightly better. It seems to have reached it’s peak now, whatever it is, but I have to take her back to the doctors on Monday if she’s no better and then we’ll go to visit a neurologist.

If you can spare a prayer, please pray for my baby….I know she’s nearly 14, but she’ll always be a baby to me, and I worry ever so much about her when she is sick.

There’s no way she’ll be at school tomorrow, so since I’ll be home, I need to be working on my assignment, and I might even run off a blog post or two!

God Bless you all!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Absence

  1. epiphany says:

    I will definitely keep her in my prayers.

  2. ukok says:

    Thanks,epiphany. Much appreciated!

    God Bless.

  3. Julie D. says:

    I’m on it for her, you, and the doctor. 🙂

  4. Jackie says:

    Hi, I just popped over here from HeyJules at Faith or Fiction, and I wanted to let you know that I sent up a prayer for you daughter.
    Also I had meningitis when I was younger, and I wanted to tell you two things. First, keep a very close eye on your daughter, if it turns out to be meningitis, the symptoms progress very quickly. Second, and this is a little more encouraging, I had it, and survived and am fine, absolutely no side effects, and therefore, if your daughter does have it, there is the possibility that things will turn out alright in the end.
    Once again, my prayers are with you and your family.
    Jackie

  5. Hector says:

    My dear ukok,
    has she ben officially diagnosed or is that what they are guessing so far?

    Either way, I just said a quick prayer for her now, but I’ll say a better one tonight when I pray before bedtime. Like Julie D. said, we’ll pray for you, for her, and for the doctors. God bless all of you!

  6. Philothea Rose says:

    Oh gosh! Prayers for her health!

  7. Pilot Mom says:

    ukok, I am so sorry to hear about your daughter being ill. No matter how old they get we will always be Mom for our kids. What a praise that the doctor took the time needed to thoroughly check over your daughter. I’m praying for her, you and wisdom for the doctor/doctors. May His peace envelope you and give you an assurance that comes only from Him! {{{hugs}}}

  8. ukok says:

    Thanks to all of you for your greatly appreciated prayers.

    Jackie, good to have you here, thanks for your encouraging words.

    All,

    I had suspected meningitus a few years ago, which I was treated for at the same time that I had pneumonia. I was kept in hopspirtal on an IV drip of antibiotics for a week…it took more than a year to recover. The doctors couldn’t give me an absolute, but said they were treating me for it anyway.

    This is why I have lifttle faith in getting a diagnosis.

    If it is, then I guess it won’t be long before we know about it.

    It is about a week ago since the purple rash appeared on her leg, and it has since disappeared…that wouldn’t happen if it was meningitus, would it?

    It came about the time that she started feeling ill, but a couple of days later it vanished.

    It’s times like this that I hate being a single parent. But you have gievn me such encouragement and the support of your prayers, that I know that whatever happens, whether this is ‘serious’ or ‘just a nasty virus’…Jesus is right here with me, and with my little family, always.

    God Bless and keep you all!

    (((hugs to all)))

  9. Barbara says:

    Praying madly for you all..

    I too had a strain of meningitus in my twenties…..

    I don’t think I was ever right after it…

    I hope to goodness that she improves rapidly and please keep us informed..

    God Bless

    B

  10. ukok says:

    Barbara, you’re prayers are sincerely appreciated!

    she isn’t too bad this morning, her head pain is is agony for her, and she looks yucky, her throat is hurting a lot, but otherwise, she’s not too bad.

    I was never the same after my pneumoniaand suspected meningitus. I had chest infection after chest infection for about 8 months after, and finaly I was diagnosed with chroinc asthma…I’d been previously fit and healthy, it wiped me out completely.

    I’m like a different person physically nowadays.

    In what way did it affect you after the illness?

    I’m always headachy, have an appalling memory now, get tired really easily, i’m more irritable…well, perhaps I was irritable anyway…so maybe I shouldn’t include that!

    God Bless you!

  11. Barbara says:

    Yes – you said it – always tired, irritable – awful memory – asthmatic – eyesight deteriorated – migraines – slightly deaf in one ear..shall I stop there!!!!!!!!

    I will keep praying – and I am glad there is an improvement. You make sure you get some rest too!!! (Mum Said OK!!)

  12. ukok says:

    Barbara,

    thankyou for responding.

    Isn’t it odd about these after effects…It’s a real struggle for me to accpet the body I have now! I thought it was yucky before, but now I realise that I had nothing to complain about!

    the High dose steriods for the asthma have increased my appetite enormously, so now I’m excessively overweight.

    I have to deal with that issue sometime too..but not just yet…methinks!

    My duaghter is feeling a little better still. The head aches have not subsided, but tshe has eaten reasonably well today and complained about going to bed at 8pm…she didn’t moan about it last night, so I take that as a sign of improvement too!

    I can’t tell you how much all of your prayers have meant to me. Thanks so much

    God Bless.

    p.s. Barbara…i’m having teouble accessing your site, keep getting a blogger error message, will try again tomorrow 🙂

Leave a Reply

