School Encourages our Children to Swear?

I was enjoying slobbing out on the sofa with my daughter last night, she might be almost 14 but she still likes her cuddles with Mummy! She was talking to me about her day and how she was unsure which piece of work to study for her Drama Class. She had been given a choice of 3 short pieces and she offered them to me to peruse and asked for my opinion.

I gave her my opinion alright!

2 of the 3 short dialogues were fine, as I read the third, alarm bells started to ring.

I was completely shocked.

The whole thing seemed to revlove around the word that describes poop and begins with ‘S’, moved on to the word that descibes an illegitimate baby and begins with ‘B’, and continued on about ‘turds’ and ‘tart’s’ (tarts as in slappers, loose women, not the jam variety).

WELL! Do you think I was fuming just a little?

I certainly was. I started on my moralistic rant. I asked my daughter how she felt about choosing that dialogue, she told me she would never choose it. I asked her if she thought it was right that children in Catholic a education system should be encouraged to use offensive language. She said that she didn’t think it was right. I told her that if she would have chosen that dialogue to recite in her Drama Class, that she would have had to confess it at her next confession…and asked her to consider the irony;

“Bless me Father, for I have sinned…I have used some really bad swear words” “Why did you do that, do you think” “Because they said it was ok” “Who said it was ok?” “My drama teacher at the Catholic School”

DUH!

I asked my daughter for the name of the drama teacher. She wouldn’t tell me for fear of incurring the teachers wrath. I told her, no name, no birthday sleepover with 5 (groan) friends, in a couple of weeks 🙂

She gave me the name.

I asked for her work so that I could take it to the headmaster the following morning. She reluctantly gave it to me.

So.

We got up, got through the morning chaos relatively unscathed (arguments first thing, aren’t they just a great way to start the day!), bundled into the car, collected my vicars wife-friends’ children, and zooomed off to High School. My son, who had yet to be driven to his school, moaned continually as we headed down the school drive (parent’s aren’t allowed in the driveway unless they are visiting the school to see a teacher or the Headteacher).

The girls evacuated the car in a hurry so that their other friends wouldn’t catch a whiff of what was going on (the horror of parents complaing!), and I asked my son to get out of the car.

He refused.

“GET OUT, NOW!” I demanded (and you thought I had a sweet voice :D)

He begrudgingly conceded.

We entered the school , spoke to the receptionist and waited. and waited. and waited. After various questions from different staff about the purpose of our visit, we eventually got to see the Head of the Arts Department.

She was lovely.

I already knew she was lovely, because my darling daughter got through to the School and Arts College on her Benson Test (aptitude Tes) as at the time, though we were in the process of converting to Catholicism, the school that she had formally attended was not a Catholic feeder school. The Head of Arts and Music was the same lady I was now in discussion with, very affabble and polite and genuine.

The Head of Arts explained that the drama teacher responsible for this ‘mess’ was apparantly new to teaching. She had never taught anywhere before, fresh out of college, and was not being porperly overseen by her superiors.

The drama teacher in question, was hoverring around and had spoken to the Head of Arts while I was waitng. She looked very young and inexperienced, nervous even. I could appreciate that this had been the root of the problem, and the school ensured me that this level of ‘study work’ was perhaps more suitable for A level students (about 3 or 4 years form my daughters current position in school).

The Head of Art’s assured me that she was aware of my daughter’s devout catholicity and even called another Drama teacher into the conversation, they both agreed that Primadonna would never say the dialogue in on the sheet and agreed with me that it was entirely innapropriate, not fitting in with the Catholic school ethos whatsoever.

It would be dealt with immediately.

Hoorah!

Moral of this little story, always keep an eye on your children’s school work! Often my daughter asks me for help and I don’t understand it and can be of no assistance at all. This is not an excuse to ‘let the school do the teaching’…when we need to keep an eye on what it is they teach!

God Bless!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to School Encourages our Children to Swear?

  1. Moneybags says:

    I’m glad the reason was due to inexperience instead of the school endorsing the dialogue. I’m glad it worked out.

  2. My Kid's Mom says:

    Unfortunately, I’ve had the same issue with the Catholic schools my kids have attended. One of the reasons I took my youngest out of her middle school is because the 8th grade teacher didn’t see what was wrong with allowing the kids to see “The Spy Who Shagged Me”. This same daughter is now in drama class, at a high school where she is a freshman. One of her recent assignments was to go and see a play, and then critique it. The play recommended was “Proof”, and while it was a very good play, every other word was the “f” word. I told my daughter that she needed to address that in her critique – as in, why do people find it necessary to express themselves in that manner? I’ve often told my kids that swear words show how ignorant people are because their vocabulary isn’t sufficient enough for them to use other descriptive words. You’re lucky that your school responded so well to your concerns – there are a lot of administrators who turn a deaf ear on them.

  3. Suzanne says:

    You go, Mom! Listen..we HAVE to hold our Catholic schools accountable! This is ridiculous!
    Now you know why I did not send my children to a Catholic school. In my humble opinion, in some ways they can be more dangerous to our children’s spirituality than a public school. We almost EXPECT the public school to make mistakes, but NOT our Catholic schools…even the kids know in their heart that the Catholic school is SUPPOSED to give and have the example of the Faith! The kids are not foolish, ya know?
    Anyway, your did so great, DEB!
    Yeah! GOD BLESS YOU for your witness!

  4. Suzanne says:

    I just want to add that not ALL Catholic schools are that way by any means…I have just ran into problems with ours a few years ago and yet it is getting better…we’ve been praying and working hard..just wanted to clear that up, because there are many good ones and wonderful teachers…truly there are! 🙂
    PEACE!

  5. ukok says:

    Moneybags, I concur, and that is exactly why I had to go to school first thing this morning, I needed to know if the school authorised this dialogue material, fortunatley, it was not the case and I was thanked most heartily for having bought this to the attention of the staff.

    Valerie,

    It’s horrendous that your daughter was exposed to such vulgar viewing material. I find that thoroughly objectionable too. I think it especially good that you managed to turn the whole thing around by nudging your daughter to critique the foul language in the play too!

    Well done to you and your daughter for that!

    Suzanne,

    From what I have been led to understand, Catholic Schools are more hard line over here than in America. As Valerie has mentioned and you yourself allude to on your comment.

    What I don’t understand is that you may get an inferior service (though I expect it varies enormously) but you have to pay for Catholic schooling in America, where over her, it is funded by the annual parish levy (parish funds subsidise), and we as parents of the pupils are asked to consider making small ‘voluntary payments’ each term.

    Fascinating!

    Fortunately, my daughter’s school has always responded well to my concerns, I wish that this were so for all schools!

    God Bless 🙂

  6. Dak-Ind says:

    my two cents isnt about accountability for the school and teachers, its about you. You being involved in your childs education will ensure that these things get spotted and stopped. you being involved in your childs education will ensure they dont get behind, that they suceed. being involved shows you care. there are too many parents with children in public, private, catcholic, etc schools who just dont care. the problems are in all schools. i applaud you for standing up for your children. one day they will look back and know you loved them enough to get involved! if they were more parents like you there would be less troubled children, and less problem teachers. i think you are doing wonderful! keep it up!

  7. ukok says:

    Dak-Ind,

    thanks so much for your words of encouragement! Much appreciated, seriously 🙂

    God Bless.

  8. Anonymous says:

    Firstly, while the teacher in question obviously erred
    with the material given to your daughter, you must realise that teachers are human too – much like yourself and your
    daughter – they make mistakes like anyone.
    Secondly, Teachers have a stressful load and are required to be educators, counsellers and mentors. there is numerous swear words, common profanities and bawdy comments in many great literary works from the ancient Greeks to Shakesepeare to even dare I say it, Tennese Williams.
    When it gets to the point of whiting out inappropriate words from great works – where and when do we stop? Are we taking censorship too far? Or should we be explaining these words to our children as parents and educators – there context to the narrative, society and the people that they represent?

Leave a Reply

