My Week and ¾’s…in brief.

Since I last blogged, life has been manic.

Almost got killed, how about that for dramatic!

Remember I told you that everyone in my locality seems to have turned into maniac drivers on the run up to Christmas? Well, I was inches away from death this time last week. I had dropped my son off at his Dad’s, I was quite cross about that, but that’s another story. I was trying to hurry up after I’d dropped him off because my brother was visiting for the weekend and I didn’t want to be late for his arrival. So, I was making my way over to my parent’s place and I pulled out into a side street as I started out on my return journey, edging out gradually because of all the parked cars obscuring my view…a sporty little car travelling at about 50mph came zooming down the road towards my left side (where one of my kids usually is passenger), I didn’t have time to reverse and was stuck almost in the middle of the road, as it zoomed toward me, I thought, “Okay, that’s it”…there was no time to say “Into your hands Lord I commend my spirit!!!!” (Like I secretly hope I will have time to do before I dieJ)

Anyway, it all happened in seconds, but the driver saw me, stopped smirking and swerved to miss me…as he did so, he ploughed into a parked car just inches away from us both.. I was absolutely mortified.

I was stuck in the middle of the road and other cars were behind me. I drove off so that other cars could move freely without me blocking the road. Parked cars lined the streets and I had to drive around the whole of the block before I could find a parking space. I got out to check on the driver and the passenger in the wrecked car, fearing the worse because the impact had been just incredible….but they had already got out of the car, the girl was actually laughing and walking quickly away from the scene and the boy was walking down the street in the opposite direction. Neither looked in need of medical attention (though of course they should have sought it just to be on the safe side) and this was a MIRACLE considering the damage to the parked car. It was a right-off! I didn’t know what the heck to do. If they weren’t hanging around, what good would it do if I did?

I got back in my car and drove over to Mum and Dad’s, my brother had already arrived, my family knew instantly that something was wrong, I explained what had happened. Fortunately Phil is a police inspector so he advised me that I hadn’t done anything illegal by leaving the scene (I was more worried that leaving was immoral though, if truth be told). I was so relieved that the occupants of the car were okay, that I wanted to cry. But I was also angry that they had jeopardised not only their own lives, but mine too, by driving so erratically and with such speed in a tiny little back street…

Anyway, that was Saturday. I was pretty grouchy and irritable all day, I think it was shock.

Sunday. Glorious Mass.Wonderboy

was an altar server for the first time ever. I was so proud of him. He forgot to genuflect towards the altar on only one occasion, hoorah!

Monday, at my uncles. Did some work from home for Fr. P.

Tuesday. Went to work for Fr. P. Lot’s of clerical based tasks, also designing a website for our parish RCIA programme. In the evening, took Mum and daughter to RCIA. Great turn out, we’re averaging about 28-30 each week and the weather conditions were atrocious so we did really well. Being a Catechist is gooooood.

Weather still hazardous. But beautiful.

Wednesday – Fraught day. Best left unsaid and then I’ll have less to confess to my priest.

Thursday – As above. BUT. Finished my Catechetical exercises and sent them off to be marked. Hoo-bloomin-rah. I have a reprieve now until January 7th when we have the next study day and are assigned our next two modules. Groan.

Friday – back at the presbytery to work for Fr. P Had an enjoyable lunch meeting with a fellow Catechist and with Fr.~P and his wife. Life is chaos. Driving all over the City for one reason or another, went to bed early, felt ill. Woke up next morning and still felt ill.

Saturday – Loads of running around. Son had an altar server meeting, which made the contact with his dad awkward as it impinged upon his time with his father. Tried to catch up with chores. Got loads done, but still feel overwhelmed with this ‘going up a gear semi-working lifestyle’. A husband would be really useful… needed a cuddle and the dog objected too strenuously to being hugged!

Sunday- Glorious Mass. Son serves the Altar again… Mum comes along (please continue to pray for her – she’s really trying to discern if God wants her to be Catholic, she loving Mass and has begun to go up to the priest for a blessing each Sunday)

Monday- Visited uncle…said (or should that be ‘sad’) uncle has decided that he doesn’t want to celebrate Christmas. Baa- bloomin’ humbug. Told me to take his Christmas tree away and give it to somebody else. It’s still in the boot of my car –have asked Fr. to but it in the bulletin; ‘6.5 ft Christmas Tree with decorations, lights etc, free to good home’!

Sold our first item on e-bay, from the parish. Trouble is, I put on it a reserve of £50.00, and p&p of £12…and I think it’s going to cost more than that to send a flamin’ framed original watercolour to Ireland, don’t you?

Took mum out for a few hours. Had lunch together, bought a GORGEOUS handbag.

Tuesday –back working for Fr. P.

Had many admiring handbag glances….not from the priest, I must stress.

Designed booklets and brochures for pilgrimages and concerts and lot’s of other uninteresting stuff like that, that I get a kick out of!

Busy, busy day. Wondering if my children will ever eat home cooked food again.

RCIA, excellent turnout once more. We’re building up quite a guest list. All good.

Wednesday. Drove all over the place trying to find a special something for someone special. Talked to myself incessantly in the car as I drove. Most of the one sided conversation was exasperated. Nowhere had what I wanted or needed. Eventually I had a little success.

Turned up to much loathed dental appointment, only to be told that the dentist was in dire straits with another patient and could I re-schedule?. Crud. It took me months to summon the courage to show up for that appointment.

Get this. A sign I saw on the waiting room wall.

“For every tern minutes that you are late after you appointment time, we will charge you ten pounds”

So. If I accidentally missed my appointment by 24 hours, I would owe them £1440

That’s a joke. Got to be. I don’t ever want to find out.

Anyway. I then rushed off to my hairdressers’ appointment. Fortunately I was attended to straight away.

This appointment was looooooong overdue and only the day before, my son had said matter of factly,

“Wow, Mum, how much grey you have! – you need your roots done”.

Brat.

No pocket money for him this week. Actually we have banned pocket money altogether. That’s another story.

Anyhow, guess what the Holy Spirit led me to in the bible tonight? After having my hair done….

Proverbs 16:31 “A grey head is a crown of glory; It is found in the way of righteousness.”

Could have saved myself 30 quid and given myself a big pat on the back…. but instead i’m feeling unholy and out of pocket!

Delivered the Christmas cards to our neighbours.

Thursday – Feast of Our Lady’s Immaculate Conception.

Shopping for bubble wrap and brown paper to package the large framed pic we sold on e-bay. Shopping for more headache tablets. Bought bottled water in store so that I could take the tablets when I got back to the car…realised in car that I had left the water at the checkout….went home and ran the tap instead. DOH!

Realised it’s Thursday and that being in a really weird part of the city, all our post offices close at lunch time today and do not open until the next morning…all .except one. Mad dash across the city to air mail of a little something to a not so little someone (no, it isn’t any of my visitors!)…can’t miss that last post deadline for U.S mail!

Ate a box of choccies with the kids. Well, it is nearly Christmas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Week and ¾’s…in brief.

  1. My Kid's Mom says:

    Busy doesn’t even describe your life!!! It was so good to hear from you again – you were missed, Ukok!

    Now, about that sign in the dentist’s office – I take that to mean that if YOU have to wait for the dentist for your appointment, that the dentist will be willing to take 10 pounds off your bill for every 10 minutes s/he is late???

    God’s blessing to you and yours during this Advent season.

  2. Gayla says:

    I’m exhausted! 🙂

    I’m certainly glad you’re ok, though. Driving can be hazardous to your health!

    Glad you got the cross ornament. I was hoping it would indeed arrive before Christmas. How about that book? E-mail me!!! I’m loving all the lovely cards you sent!!!!

    (((hugs)))

  3. Suzanne says:

    So glad you are okay!
    Oh, those Guardian Angels!
    I think God has way too much
    for you to do these days on earth. 🙂 I’ll be keeping your
    mom in my prayers. Isn’t this
    just wonderful? Give your
    uncle a Christmas hug anyway! 🙂

  4. Lisa says:

    Busy, busy, busy, but it sounds like most of it is busy work for Christ. I’d love to have a job with the Church. I’m sure you have a lot of fun along with the busy work.

    SO GLAD you weren’t hurt in the wreck.

    Love and Blessing!

  5. Mary Poppins NOT says:

    The courage to go to the dentist thing? That’s me. When I grow up, maybe then I won’t be afraid of the dentist. Good to hear what’s up with you, and that you are being watched over so well. Blessings!

  6. Lori says:

    Wow! So glad no one got hurt. Scarey though, so scarey.

  7. see-through faith says:

    phew!!!missed your God stories here Deb 😦 this was liek a whirlwind!!!

    what about the parked car … do you know if they were able to get damages from the reckless driver

    praise God no-one was hurt

  8. Audrey says:

    Ukok,
    Am glad you’re safe and sound!

    Proverbs 16:31 “A grey head is a crown of glory; It is found in the way of righteousness.” –> Hehe, thanks for this. Now I have a reason to keep my grey hair! (My mom sometimes likes to pull off my grey hair when she sees one, and that really annoys me). For me, grey hair = wisdom hair. 😉

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

