O.T.T

Phew!

I’ve finally finished reading the whole of the Old Testament at last!

Truth be told, I never thought I’d get this far. I’m one of the least disciplined people I know so I certainly never envisaged that I would stick it out from start to finish, and while I’m not quite finished yet (I still have the N.T to read) I feel as relieved as though I’ve just finished wandering through the desert with Moses for the past 40 years and finally caught sight of the promised land!

It’s had its ups and downs, to be sure.

Some times I was just plain fed up and I either failed to stick to the 12 page a day theme or I simply didn’t bother to read Scripture at all. Throughout the whole thing, apart from the day of it’s beginning, I was never aware of what days reading I should have been on and had the nagging feeling that I was probably lagging behind everyone else. However, my philosophy was to simply read lots when I felt inspired to, and read little when it felt dry and boring. It seemed to work for me. I’ve just finished reading page 1073 and it feels gooooooood! I knew that it would, now….I feel good (I love those James Brown moments, they don’t happen as much now I’m knocking on in years!).

My O.T is now filled with pencil marks, highlighter pen and mini sticky post-it labels – I didn’t have the time to ponder in my heart the parts that I felt drawn to meditate upon further, but I now know that I can find these with ease and I actually look forward to the fruits of my Bible reading being an ongoing source of enrichment for me, as I peruse the parts that I have referenced for future contemplation.

I certainly don’t regret attempting the 3 month Bible Reading Plan and having come this far I can honestly say that I feel a considerable sense of achievement for having done so.

I would recommend to anyone interested in deepening their knowledge of their historical Christian heritage, that they undertake a Bible reading plan of some sort…and do it with someone else so you that there is someone there to encourage you when you feel like giving up!

You might not want to do it in three months as I am doing, but certainly there are some great 12 month plans available online. If you’re going to be reading the complete canon of Scripture; ie, the Catholic Bible, your going to have far more required reading than those who chose to read a non Catholic Bible, but I have to tell you that Protestantism’s loss is Catholicism’s gain…books such as Sirach, Maccabbes and Tobit are simply chock full of inspiration…so take heart, while there may be more reading, it’s certainly worth it..

New Testament here we come!

Be Blessed!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to O.T.T

  1. Alexa says:

    I just might do that, Ukok! You’ve inspired me. Hmmmmm. Tonight. I’ll start tonight.

  2. mis_nomer says:

    Congrats! The old testament is the larger half 🙂

  3. ukok says:

    Alexa, here’s the link for the Bible plan I ‘loosely’ adhered to

    http://www.biblein90days.com/

    ms anthrope,

    thanks!

    ..to be sure, I am done with the hard slog. Hoorah!

  4. Mimi says:

    I’m just finishing up Sirach myself, and about to embark on Isiah.

    Congratulations!

  5. Lorna says:

    lovely that we start the NT together too. I read Tobit and Maccabes but left Siriah for later. And I will read it Deb, I expect you to hold me accountable. 🙂

    blessings to you all esp those who’ve just started the programme, or like Mimi are somewhere along the road.

    It IS worth it -like Deb said somedays it just flew and other days it was tougher. I found he minor prophets the hardest.though I’m not sure why

  6. ukok says:

    Mimi, Sirach is just absolutely beautiful! Have you been reading through the bible in sequence, as part of a reading plan, perhaps the 90 day reading plan that we have been undertaking?

    Lorna, I agree, it seems fitting that since we started out reading on the same day (was it Jan 6th? I seem to recall that date for some reason), we should come to the last leg of our journey together too. You’ve been a tremendous encouragement to me Lorna.
    Thanks so much!
    God Bless

  7. eija says:

    Me too… Always been bad at fullfilling committments like this one. So I very much share your feelings about coming this far!

    About the canonic books… When I was a teenager and still searching, I remember borrowing the books from the library, and reading the sirach – and liking it. Lately I’ve wanted to go back to those books, but they’re out of print in Finnish, and a new translation is under work. In these liberal days I just wonder what that will be like… So maybe I should hunt for a used copy of the old translation…

Leave a Reply

