Call the engines

Really upset tonight. This evening there was an immensity of ants pouring out from behind the fireplace and I sprayed some stuff on them and even though the fire was OFF, the butane propellant in the can made the whole firplace catch fire…we had the emergency services at the house, the fire engine, paramedics, the works…I managed to get Wonderboy and the dog out of the house, and really now it’s only the chimney breast that has sustained any damage but the flames just flew right out of the fire..we’re okay, just a bit shook up, I have to sort stuff out with my landlord tomorrow…I am so depressed about living in this bloody horrible house. Please pray for us. I’m thinking about looking into moving but my options are extremely limited.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Call the engines

  1. Suzanne says:

    Oh my Lord! I am so thankful that you are all okay though! I’m sorry this happened to you. It will be okay…:)

  2. cheated are the clouds says:

    Your fine is the main concern, I trust with a little searching you will find a much better place,

  3. My Kid's Mom says:

    Oh, dear. Wow. I’m grateful that all of you are okay. I’ll keep you in my prayers.

  4. Catholic Fire says:

    Deb,

    I am so sorry this happened and I will keep you all in my prayers for this special intention. Thank God you’re all ok.

    God bless and keep you always in His loving care.

    Jean

  5. Melanie says:

    What excitment! Ok, probably excitement you didn’t want! I’m glad that nobody was injured and the damage wasn’t great. Prayers being offered! I just asked my boys to pray and they want to know if you had any pictures of the fire engine — LOL — that’s what happens when you mention a fire to young boys, I guess.

  6. Rosemary Bogdan says:

    Oh my goodness! A day from Hell. Thanks be to God no one was injured. May your serenity not be stolen. You are in my prayers

  7. ukok says:

    Your kind words mean a lot to me and especially your prayers. It was so frightening. One minute I was spraying around the fireplace (not directly onto the fire, and the fire was off anyway) the next there was a huge bang and the whole fireplace was surrounded by flames…now we only have a smll lounge and it was just totally scary. I told Joe to go out with the dog and I flapped about rushing into the kitchen to get bowls of water to throw over the fire…when it didn’t work I phoned 999 and left a hurried message. I didn’t even stay on to talk to the operator because I was still trying to put the fire out.

    Just as the fire engine pulled up (sorry melanie, no pics for your boys) I had just finished putting the fire out. But I was wheezing like anything and my chest was killing me, with my asthma being bad they asked me if I needed some oxygen and if I wanted to go to hospital but I said no.

    Anyway, you’d think after all that the bloody ants had been cremated, but ther little sods are still alive and crawiling around the lounge. I’m about ready to tear my hair out.

    Next Wednesday someone is coming to temporarily remove the fire so that on Thursday someone else can come opuit and spray ant killer behind it…and then the fire will be put back…but I don’t know when.

    What a pain.

    Once again, thanks so much for your prayers and your concern, it means a lot to me to know that you’re rooting for me. with my daughter on holiday at my parents, when the shock of the incident hit me I was a crying wreck. It’s good to know that Joe and I have had a place in your hearts and minds.

    Thanks folks!

  8. Lori says:

    Oh my!! Big (((HUGS)))

  9. St. Cecilia says:

    Sorry you had to go through all of that!!!!! I’m so glad that you are ok.

  10. Mimi says:

    Yikes! What a mess. Thanks be to God you are ok.

  11. ukok says:

    Lori, St. C and Mimi,

    Once again, thanks so very much, we still have fire damage and I think it’s affected my asthma somewhat, but the Angles and Saints were really rooting for us, thanks be to God.

    …ooops, just splatted another ant…it’s hell waiting for another week to get this problem (hopefully) sorted..but I have to be grateful that we have a house to live in at all I suppose.

    God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

