Ding Dong Merrily on High

Before Communion
the sacred bread does not look
as if Christ is present in it.
After Communion
we Christians do not always look
as if Christ is present in us.

— Frank Sheed (adapted)

There are times when I would like to think that I am becoming more like Christ…a split second later I fall metaphorically flat on my face. It’s like the moment I say…”Oh, I think we got rid of the ant colony behind the fire”…that’s about the time that they start pouring out by their thousands (though guess what…we just might have gotten rid of the ant colony behind the fire….DOH! what am I saying!!!).

Let’s play catch up. My wonderful son and daughter are back at school, and so far, so good. Wonderboy got swore at by a teenage girl on his very first day, and he also got lost and came close to tears, but despite the settling in problems it looks like it might work out okay if these first indications are anything to go by.

The children are due home shortly and I’ve been rather efficient today, I sorted out about 75% of my bedroom clutter and it only took about 4 hours…. Problem is, when one room looked cleaner and de-cluttered I walked into all the other rooms of the house and felt overwhelmed by the untidyness and massively sprawled paraphanalia. Oh well, Rome wasn’t built in a day…

So. I’m thinking a bit far ahead here (Lorna take note) I’ve started getting a few bargains in the sales…I actually started getting a few sale bargains in January and have done so periodically throughout the year, so as to spread out the cost of…..wait for it…..Christmas!

Yes, I’m mentally skipping Autumn, (which I do very much enjoy) but hey, a girl can never be too prepared. Especially a girl on an exceedingly tight budget. Do you plan ahead for Christmas or don’t you want to know about it until Christmas Eve? (or other)

Of course, Jesus is the reason for the season, but let’s be practical, there’s still a lot of preparation to be done and when you’re as disorganised as me, you need to start the Christmas shopping early! So I might look like a badly dressed, perspiringly crazed shopper but somewhere, deep within me, I am turning into Jesus, very, very, very, slowly.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Ding Dong Merrily on High

  1. Mimi says:

    I’m kind of inbetween – I get ready about the first week of December.

    Although, I’ve already picked up the kids’ St. Nicholas Day gifts. Help me remember, ok?

  2. ukok says:

    I’ll help you remember, no problem, Mimi! In fact, you might get sick of hearing me harp on about it, I love Christmas both liturgically and also the social element of families gathering 🙂

  3. Lorna says:

    Lorna sitting up and taking note 🙂

    and I love the opening quote too. I want to be more Christlike – but if I could do it alone, I wouldn’t need Him. Catch 22! (and more!)

    blessings

  4. ukok says:

    Lorna,

    Thanks be to God that we DO need Him!

    God Bless you!

  5. see-through faith says:

    Advent is probably my favourite season. Traditionally it’s a time of fasting (like lent) but you don’t hear much about that.

    PS no idea what’s wrong with the stf site.Haven’t been able to get in all day .

  6. ukok says:

    Lorna, that a very pertanent point! Advent is a time of peparation (and fasting) that has fallen by the waysid for many (me included to some extent).

    I tend to think that the preparation of the mind is more spiritually important than the preparation of the body. For those reasons, Advent reflections and meditations, the Liturgy of the Church etc, are especially enriching and essential to me in ensuring ‘right thinking’ and getting (or keeping) me on track, particularly amidst the shopping, the family celebrations, the present buying and giving etc.

    Great observation, Lorna!

    p.s. hope you are back in to stf now!

  7. Tim says:

    Before Communion
    the sacred bread does not look
    as if Christ is present in it.
    After Communion
    we Christians do not always look
    as if Christ is present in us.

    I really, really like that quote.

  8. ukok says:

    Tim,

    Glad you like it so much, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

