Stuff about all sorts of stuff.

Last night was wonderful,well, it was a fantastic day really….first the car passed the MOT, then I had the pleasure of watching my daughter receive public recognition for all her hard work over the past 6 months or so, at the Presentation Evening. It was well attended, Mum and Dad came to support Primadonna (Wonderboy didn’t want to go so went to stay with his dad – the evening lasted for 3 and a half hours and he most certainly made the right choice, he would have been terribly bored).

I sat next to my anglican friends Rev. Richard and Gill and my parents and when I looked down Fr. P and his wife (my other friends) were sitting just below us on the balcony. It was an enjoyable evening, there were various performances from the drama and dance departments and the music, second to none. My favourite composer would have to be Bach, but the Mozart sounded so very good last night. We didn’t get home to late and PrimaDonna was shattered this morning but still had to go to school of course and so we went to pick up Gill’s girls and headed off for school. When we got there Wonderboy and his Dad pulled up behind me and I even managed to get Wonderboy to give me a kiss before he headed into school! something he had warned me off doing within school grounds…he must have missed me 🙂

Tonight I feel pleasantly exhausted after spending the whole day cleaning. I steamed the kitchen floor, did a couple of loads of laundry, shredded about half a tonne of bills (not money) bank statements, credit card demands and receipts etc….though I did manage to make the shredder stop functioning while shoving more papers in than it would feasably take and had to go out and buy a new one, luckily it was dramatically reduced in price. ….yes, Lorna, I cut up all my credit and store cards! This was bought with cash 😉 That paper stuff with a streak of silvery thread running through it…who’d have thunk it.

I now also have a huge pile of goods to give to charity, sitting in the front porch. Anyone want a picnic hamper complete with tableware, none of it has ever been used ? I suppose it is a bit large to send to any of you, but I’m sure it’ll make some money at our parish jumble sale.

I always used to give our good quality second hand goods to Oxfam or another charity, but ever since I discovered how much money it could all make for the church, I donated it to the parish instead. The parish I worship at and work for owns a whole ‘block’, with many buildings that either are in need of repair or have been repaired out of necessity but not perhaps paid for in full, so it’s not like it’s rolling in money, not by any means.

What do you do with the stuff you don’t want, don’t need, don’t like….but is too good to throw away?

Do you recycle? After shredding all the paper I put it together with all our newspapers and junk mail and put it in bags to either be collected once a fortnight by a recycling team of council workers, or I take it to the tip. Do you have recycling facilities in your local area and do you take advantage of them? We also recycle glass in the same way.

It’s a great feeling not to be contributing to landfill sites that will erupt or cause toxic envionmental leakage in years to come when my great grandchildren are walking the earth (should I be so fortunate). Perhaps though, you don’t agree with recycling, perhaps you don’t see the connection between environmental issues and the throw away mentality of the modern world? I’d like to hear from you too.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Stuff about all sorts of stuff.

  1. Mimi says:

    Absolutely, I recycle, reuse, give to charity and try to eliminate as much waste as I can.

    Congratulations to your daughter. An honor well earned.

  2. Jennifer says:

    I also recycle. We have to pay for our garbage so it is cheaper to recycle. Besides it is better for the environment. That’s why I compost too.

  3. Lorna says:

    Finns are high up on recyling and I love it.

    Better still every bottle and can of pop, beer, wine has a deposit on it – so people return those to be reused by the manufacturers. (The cans are aluminium so melted down I guess)

    Milk, yougurt and cream cartons can be returned to skips at the supermarkets – and they are used by the energy company in the incinerator (new fangled thing, no quite zero emissions but very close)

    paper and card, tins, glass are recycled too, only difference is no-one collects it from your house – you WALK to the nearest collection point … and we have a compost too which means our household rubbish is collected only once a month so much lower costs for us too. (We also have a smaller sized wheelie bin 120 l instead of 200-240 which is normal) so that saves our costs too which is brilliant.

    Proud of you deb for cutting those cards in half. Not sure of the need for a shredder personally I just rip documents into pieces and place them in two separate recyling piles – so the chances of identity theft is quite low.

    Here we need ot keep bills and invoices for several years though – and that’s where I struggle most – the filing. I let it pile up and have to invest several hours in getting it done and ordered again.

    blessed weekend!

  4. St. Cecilia says:

    Ukok,
    I’m proud of you for cutting up your cards! My husband and I live humbly, but have been able to save more easily than some because we do not use our credit cards… only on vacation and EMERGENCIES. We are a little old fashioned that way.
    I actually just donated a bunch of clothes to a school’s rummage sale. Sadly, they didn’t fit and I don’t wear them. i could part with more but cannot seem to bring myself to do it.
    Right now our kitchen does not allow for space to recycle like my husband and I would like, but we very much intend to in our new home and actually having a compost pile in the yard so we have even less trash.
    Congrats to your daughter. I, on the other hand, would choose Mozart over Bach any day. :o)

  5. ukok says:

    Mimi, I figured you for a recycler!

    Jennifer, I compost too! You pay to have your waste disposed of? We pay in our general rates (Council tax etc).

    Lorna, I remember there used to be a return given on all our pop bottles when I was a kid. There wouldn’t be anywhere near as much waste if that was still in practice. I think we are a loooooooooooooong way behind Finland on tasckling environmental issues!

    Aboiut the shredder, I’m neorotic enough to think that if anyone is going to get done over with credit card fraud it’s going to be me, hence the shredder 😉

    Lovely to read your comment as always.

    St. C,

    I wish I had been a little more ‘old fashioned’ and not got myself into such an awful mess with money, I admire you and your husband for living humbly in a materialistic world.

    Mozart over Bach? Get the to confession gal! 😉

Leave a Reply

