WHAT WOULD THE SOUNDTRACK TO YOUR LIFE BE?

Guess what, there’s only 61 days to Christmas! I bought the Santa Clause movie on DVD yesterday because it’s my daughter, PrimaDonna’s favourite Christmas movie…mine is Muppets Christmas Carol, followed by a close second of ‘White Christmas’ Ho ho ho. Anyway, that was just me rambling, what I really wanted to show you is the meme below which I pilferred from marvellous Mimi’s blog ~

Here’s how it works:
1. Open your library (iTunes, Winamp, Media Player, iPod, etc)
2. Put it on shuffle
3. Press play
4. For every question, type the song that’s playing
5. When you go to a new question, press the next button
6. Don’t Lie….. unless you really really hate the song (in which case why is it in your library eh), listen to each one all the way thru as it plays.

Okay, well I had a few surprises along the way…one moment I was listening to gentle soothing music and then BAM! Big powerful music. whoopee!

Opening Credits: Overture from Phantom of the Opera by Andrew Lloyd Webber

Waking Up: Man on the Moon by REM

First Day At School: The Music of the Night by Andrew Lloyd Webber (what an opener!!! School was actualy a very depressing experience for me, very dark and sombre and gloomy)

Falling In Love: Big Shot by Billy Joel (Been in love with a few ‘big shots in my time…nowadays I call them big sh*ts)

Fight Song: Flowers in the Window by Travis (I wouldn’t mind fighting like this)

Breaking Up: I Have Dreamed by Frank Sinatra (gut wrenching…I hate dreaming sometimes…does anyone else do that listening to sad songs thing when single and prayerfully -and sometimes impatiently- waiting to see if God intends them to share their lives with a special someone?)

Prom: Fat Bottomed Girls by Queen (hahahahahaha….too true)

Life: Canzoni Stonate by Andrea Bocelli (swoon)

Career: All the Right Friends by REM (I’ve had crappy work colleagues in the past, but now I have a priest for a colleague things are certainly looking up)

Mental Breakdown: You’re a Star by Lighthouse Family (this is exactly what I needed to hear this morning when I’m feeling a bit overwhelmed)

Driving: Hook me up by Bon Jovi (hmm…. see ‘breaking up’)

Flashback: Low by Coldplay (oh yeah, too right, looking back does make me feel that way)

Getting back together: Fly me to the Moon by Frank Sinatra (If I was planning on getting back with my ex, the moon is exactly where I should be asking to be flown to because there’s no way I’d have all my faculties working correctly)

Wedding: Simple Together by Alanis Morissette (that’s why I’m doomed to be single forever)

Birth of Child: Everybody Hurts by REM (oh my, was this appropriate or what! I was in labour for 19 hours+ with my daughter!)

Midlife Crisis: Say it Again by Don Williams (I hope this doesn’t mean I’m going through my mid life crisis…what does ‘say it again’ mean exactly!!! c’mon, I want answers! Someone is foolin’ with me here. Got to be)

Final Battle: Somewhere over the rainbow by Eva Cassidy (it was Badlands by Bruce Springsteen but I don’t like it much so I went to the next song…I was too lazy to delete the song when I originally ripped the CD…Eva is sooooo much better to listen to and how much better suited to a final battle lyrically but also because of the suffering she endured as she fought against cancer and lost her own battle)

Death Scene: Flying High Again by Ozzy Osbourne (tee hee, I might just be on so much medication that I do feel like I’m flying, sure as hell hope so.)

Funeral Song: Wait for the Lord ~ Taize My Soul is at Rest (Need I say more?)

End Credits: All I ask of You by Andrew Lloyd Webber from Phantom of the Opera (I just hope I’ve done all that the Lord asked of me when it’s my time to go. Just WOW)

I really enjoyed this, I got to catch up on my blog visiting while this wonderful selection of music was playing in the background (on headphones though because the kids have the TV playing in the same room at the moment). I know, we’re contributing to the Ozone layer big time 😉

If you’d like to do this meme, I’d love to read it, so let me know in the com box and then I’ll hop on over and read your music list 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to WHAT WOULD THE SOUNDTRACK TO YOUR LIFE BE?

  1. Mimi says:

    I LOVE this! So many of the songs are so appropriate, it’s kind of eerie, isn’t it?

    Your comments are so well done too. I love Everybody Hurts as a birth song, yep.

    And, Fat Bottomed Girls I have tears from laughting. Giggle.

  2. Esther says:

    What a fun meme! I’m going to have to give a shot.

  3. Lorna says:

    glad you had some time to blog check… but now girl, stop counting the days until Advent and get back to those books (grin)

  4. Suzanne says:

    Funny..I did it. Didn’t have a music library of my own and it came out so crazy.

  5. St. Cecilia says:

    I need to post mine. That was fun!

  6. My Kid's Mom says:

    My favorite Christmas movie is the Muppet Christmas Carol, too – I keep telling you how much alike we are!!!

  7. St. Cecilia says:

    Ok, mine is posted now. :o)

  8. ukok says:

    Mimi,

    was that wierd or what that so many songs were really ‘appropriate’!!!

    Esther,

    Great, I’ll have to come on over and read your response 🙂

    Lorna, what’d I do without you to encourage me. Thanks my friend (((hug)))

    Suz,

    Crazy or not, I’m sure I’ll enjoy reading it a lot!

    St. C

    Glad you enjoyed it 🙂

    Valerie,

    We are very alike, in many ways, and thsat’s how I know I’m not ALL bad 🙂

Leave a Reply

