Happy Christmas STILL!


Hey there folks and how you doing?

Just a little update about Wonderboy, both his Dad and I joined forces (a rare thing indeed) and took our son to the doctor together yesterday. His fourth appointment in less than a month saw a prescribed change in his inhalers, in the way in which he uses them and yet another course of antibiotics. He’s having pretty bad asthma attacks every day at the moment, sometimes 3 or 4 a day/night. Please God let this course of medicine do the trick and clear up this nasty brut of a chest infection. The good news is that I have moved Wonderboy back into his own bed as he’s been sleeping with me for weeks so that I could tend to him in the night….it is so horrendous hearing him gasping for breath after an attack in the middle of the night and racing to his room to see if he was breathing. I don’t care if he’s 11 or 37, I can’t stop being his mum and doing what I think is right for him. It’s been a pretty scary time for Wonderboy and it’s given him comfort knowing I was close at hand to calm him down.

Last night then, I finally moved him back into his own room, raised his mattress at the head end so that he could breathe more easily and his chest would be better supported…and I lay awake until 2am just wondering if he would have an attack…then just as I started falling asleep, the dog, who at night sleeps on an old armchair in the corner of my room started throwing up! So at 3am I was mopping up dog vomit and wondering if I would ever get any sleep! By 4am Wonderboy had awoken with a coughing fit and I went in to give  him a sip of water and calm him…then I went back to bed. I did get a couple of hours sleep in the end but man, I hate my alarm clock SO much!

Lately I’m also keeping myself awake at night listening to the inescapable sounds of my breathing which is especially wheezy and annoying at the moment -yes, I’ve picked up Wonderboy’s nasty infection…. thing is I only just recently finished antibiotics for that mouth absess I had a week before Christmas so I’m hoping that the over the counter cough medicine I bought myself and increased steroid inhaler doses will prevent it turning nasty. Hope so. Christmas has been lovely, but it has been awful to see Wonderboy suffering so much throughout all this past month. I am hoping that we can start this year off not bogged down with illness, but I know there’s a lot of bad weather coming over here in the next 2-3 months, and with it a lot of infection and virus, so it’s hard not to have health issues upper most on my mind when we’re both susceptible to just about everything. Fortunately though Primadonna has a sore throat she doesn’t seem to have picked up this infection, I pray it stays that way. Y’know part of me is just used to coping alone with my own illness and with my son’s, but the other part of me get’s really tired every once in a while.

Still, can’t be pessimistic about things, there’s a whole new year to leap into….a year in which I hope to get to know God better and to give him greater precidence in my life, a year in which I will hopefully make wiser choices, a year in which I hope to shelve all those half baked daydreams and just accept that where I am really isn’t that bad a place to be.

(Oh dear, Wonderboy is out of bed again – with a temperature that’s making him uncomfortable-I tried to settle him off but it’s 11.30pm, he must be exhausted, he hasn’t slept properly for weeks)

So where I am now is in a place where I’m recognising some subtle and somewhat indescipherable noises in my head..and no, it’s not scizophrenia….these noises are kind of like grumblings urging me to re-evalute what I’m doing with my life or more specifically with my day to day life…. I need to make some changes, but these changes aren’t necessarily only going to affect me and I’m not best sure how to approach certain individuals about the changes I need to be making.

I can’t really go into it here, this blog isn’t anonymous and therefore I can’t really go blabbing about certain things that I would otherwise have been able to, had it allowed me anonymity. To some extent I really do regret that I have lost an outlet for my frustrations and annoyances with friends, family, work colleagues and even employers!

Rightio, I’m planning on doing some blog visiting in the next 24 hours, I know, I know, it’s long overdue, but please know that I mean it when I say you’ve all been in my thoughts and prayers. and you know what?

It’s STILL Christmas!!!!!

So Happy Christmas!

I’ve taken down all the decorations except for the Christmas tree and the decorations on that and the Nativity Scene they stay up until twelfth night….it would take hours to do it all on Saturday otherwise and I’m supposed to be going on another study day then, though whether I’ll feel up to it is anybody’s guess so I’ll have to wait and see.

Hapy Christmas and a Contented New Year to one and all..

P.S While on the subject of breathing difficulties and lung problems I must implore you dear readers to pray for Patricia, mother of our dear blog friend, Penni over at Martha, Martha. Patricia is hospitalised at the moment and is suffering considerably, please let your prayers ascend for her and for those treating her and also for the family who are most anxious for her well-being. Thank you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Christmas STILL!

  1. Anonymous says:

    Deb, I went to find the Patron Saint for lung problems. You probably already know…St. Bernardine of Siena.
    Anyway, I just made up in my heart a little prayer to St. Bernardine for Joseph. Lord, I hope this helps! Poor little feller. 😦 My heart just goes out to him. My nephew had this growing up…maybe Joseph will somehow outgrow it like Mark did. Mark mostly has to take care of himself and relax when he has a bad bronchitis or whatever come up nowadays and he had a bad attack back when Mt. St. Helens blew a few years ago because of the fall out that covered Spokane…he didn’t wear the protective mask that they were telling people with lung problems to do. Anyway, that was years ago…Mark is now
    almost 46 years old and mostly had this as a boy and a teenager. So, St. Bernardine, please pray for young Joseph to heal…to get all well soon!
    Thank you dear saint and thank you Lord!
    Amen Suzanne

  2. Rosemary Bogdan says:

    Dog vomit. It’s one thing cleaning up after one’s own children. When it’s the dog in the middle of the night I find it very easy to get real grumbly.

    Saint Joseph, please intercede for you namesake Joseph. Oh Lord, please heal this young boy of this stubborn infection. And may his mother be filled with strength and peace.

  3. AutumnRose says:

    I am praying for your son to recover completely, Ukok, and also for your own health. May Blssed Mary, ever virgin, wrap her arms around you both and shelter you under Her mantle xx

  4. Barb, sfo says:

    I will add my prayers to St. Bernardine and St. Anthony for healing for you and your son. May you both receive the blessing of good health in the New Year.

  5. Mary Poppins NOT says:

    Deb, Did you see the finished icon over at my place? It’s the Good Shepherd, just like the one you had spoken of before. I will add more prayers for the health of your household.

    Blessings!

  6. EVE says:

    Could there be a Christmas tree allergy? Is yours real? Did the lung issues begin with your tree being put up in the house? I myself am allergic to fir trees which cause me to have terrible asthmatic attacks and at one time there followed an awful lung infection. Just a thought.

  7. Mimi says:

    Lord have Mercy, prayers for Patricia and for your dear Joe and for you as well.

  8. Gabrielle says:

    It’s so frightening and tiring, ukok. My son has some asthma, and we’ve had a few frights, but not as consistently as with your Joseph. I will be praying.

  9. ukok says:

    Suzanne, thanks so much for mentioning St. Bernadine of Siena, I forgot about this great Saint! I usually pray to my own patron, St. Bernadette Soubirous as she suffered with chronic asthma too, but it’s always great to have another Saint to call on 😉

    I was sad to learn that your nephew failed to take the health advice about wearing the protective mask..though if I’m honest, I would imagine that my son wouldn’t have heeded the advice either…what are boys like!

    Love to you Suz (((hug)))

    Rosemary,

    I know. I know. It’s yucky stuff :bleugh:

    Your prayers are very much appreciated my friend 🙂

    AR,

    Oh, you really are very sweet indeed. God Bless you for your continued encouragement.

    Barb,

    Ah, St Anthony too…wonderful! Many thanks my dear 🙂

    Renee my friend,

    I did indeed see your beautiful icon through my bloglines but haven’t had chance to visit yet and praise Gods handiwork through you….I intend to rectify that now 🙂

    Eve,

    Alas I can not blame the tree as it is artificial and Joe’s attacks started before we put it up as it’s artificial 😦 I never knew that it was possible to have a reaction to a real tree…I was thinking about one for next year but I think I’ll shelve that idea. Thanks for making me aware of that!

    Mimi,

    I got your beautiful family collage today, it’s just awesome. Thanks so much!

    Gabrielle,

    It really is tiring isn’t it? It seems like I’m always moaning, but there hasn’t been any good news to report yet so it’s just the way it is. Sincere thanks for your much covetted prayers.

    God bless you one and all!

  10. March Hare says:

    Hi Deb,

    I’m a bit late, but Happy Christmas and a Merry New Year!

    DD#1 and DS#2 have asthma and it does seem to get worse when they are ill. This may sound strange, but have you had Joseph’s tonsils and adenoids checked out? DD#2 had sleep apnea (she would stop breathing while asleep), which cleared up once she had her tonsils & adenoids removed. Besides obstructing breathing, all kinds of nasties can hide in enlarged tonsils, including signs of infection. So you think you’ve got the infection cleared, but it’s still lurking…

    My prayers for your family: Mary and Joseph, of course, and Luke, the patron saint of doctors.

  11. ukok says:

    March Hare, that’s a very interesting point! My son did have his adenoids and tonsils out when he was 3 years old after having repeated tonsillitis.

    Wow, that sleep apnea must have been so frightening for your family, so glad that it has been resolved since the op.

    Many thanks for your prayers 🙂

    Happy New Year to you!

Leave a Reply

