Thoughts, prayer requests and evening prayers


I was unable to post yesterday because it was downright hectic and when I did finally get a chance to do so I was seriously tired and the inclination was waning considerably. After I finished work I went out to buy a gift for the son of one of our UCM ladies. This ladies son, Liam is 4 years old and is having open heart surgery on Monday at a childrens hospital some way away. Liam has Down’s Syndrome and this is not his first operation, please remember him in your prayers, especially on Monday.

Also, when I was in ToysRus on last night, buying prezzies from the church for Liam, I got talking to the cashier and asked if she thought the toys were a good choice . I know that children with Down’s Syndrome generally enjoy toys that stimulate them and I’d tried to make the right decision. I explained about Liam and she said she’d just had news that one of her teenage friends, Hailey has just been diagnosed with lung cancer and that she couldn’t believe it because her friend, like herself, was a dancer.

I said I’d ask my friends to pray for Hailey, so please remember both Liam and Hailey in your prayers if you will be so kind.

And ….we’re on the cusp of another prayer request. Today I had the pleasure of preparing a little boy named Callum, for his First Holy Communion. He’s such a lovely young boy and meeting with only him and his mother today was actually a very rewarding experience for us all. At one point this little boy bought tears to both his mothers eyes and mine and it was because he just said something really beautiful and unexpected. We were discussing Glorious happenings and how all good things come from God. I asked Callum to recall a time when he was most happy, a time when he felt ‘glorious’, and he said, quite excitedly, “In church!”.

Wow. This kid is only 7 years old and after only two meetings with him I’ve seen such a love for the Lord in Him. Please remember him in your prayers.

Afterwards I came home and avoided the housework with rather a lot of skill. Then I went to Mass this evening because I wanted the children to go and make their confession before we go away next week and there is no opportunity to confess at tomorrows Mass that we would normally attend.

While listening to, or rather, soaking in the readings, I felt particularly ‘spoken to’ when I heard/read – from the first reading from Isaiah:

“No need to recall the past, no need to think about what was done before.
See, I am doing a new deed,
even now it comes to light; can you not see it?”


Lately I have been remembering some of those dark sins of my past. I know I am forgiven, yet sometimes I forget to let go. This was precisely what I needed to hear today.

And now for a change to our scheduled programming…an alternative to our regular evening prayer~

Evening prayer

O my God, at the end of this day I thank you most heartily for all the graces I have received from you. I am sorry that I have not made a better use of them. I am sorry for all the sins I have committed against you. Forgive me, O my God, and graciously protect me this night. Blessed Virgin Mary, my dear heavenly mother, take me under your protection. St. Joseph, my dear guardian angel, and all you saints of God, pray for me. Sweet Jesus, have pity on all poor sinners, and save them from hell. Have mercy on the suffering souls in purgatory.
Amen

To be followed by an Act of Contrition

Act of Contrition
O my God, I am heartily sorry for having offended thee and I detest all my sins, because I dread the loss of heaven and the pains of hell, but most of all because they offend thee, my God, who are all good and deserving of all my love. I firmly resolve, with the help of thy grace, to confess my sins, to do penance, and to amend my life. Amen

Hope you’re having a fabulously enriching weekend! If you’re in the UK don’t forget to put your clock’s and watches forward an hour tonight/tomorrow morning. We gain an hours daylight as of midnight. Hoorah! ….though I’m not so happy about losing an hours sleep tonight 😦

I hope to feel less melancholic in the forthcoming lighter seasons, I can’t wait to shake off the cloak of doom that I feel has been blanketting me somewhat through the winter time.

Spring has sprung at last!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Thoughts, prayer requests and evening prayers

  1. Charlotte says:

    The sins of my past oftentimes haunt me as well, even though I’ve gone to Confession with them…

    I will try to keep your friends in my prayers this evening….

    God bless you.

  2. Lorna says:

    we changed our clocks too. We dont actually get more day light – but we do get longer evenings – which is wonderful. Ilove it – but like you am not keen on the lack of sleep – it takes my body a while to adjust too.

    I loved what you wrote here Deb “Lately I have been remembering some of those dark sins of my past. I know I am forgiven, yet sometimes I forget to let go. This was precisely what I needed to hear today.” I needed that too. That said sometimes although we’re forgiven by God (and even have forgiven ourselves) we still need to make recompense to the person we’ve sinned against. Sometimes God reminds me of that – because I’m forgiven and my very own slate wiped clean, does not mean that there are no consequences. That’s hard teaching isn’t it!

    bless your Sunday – I love what you write. And I’m really hoping to meet you in person soon if it works out.

  3. Anonymous says:

    Deb,
    Prayers continue for little Abbie, and will now be said for Liam and Hailey. Please update when you can about Abbie’s condition.

    I know too what you mean about thinking about sins in your past that have already been forgiven in confession. Adorotedevote wrote about this weeks ago in describing a dream she had about spiders. It is a beautiful essay about letting go of your sins.

    Judy M.

  4. ukok says:

    Charlotte,

    Thanks for your prayers and thanks for stopping by. I’ve just been over to your blog and enjoyed my visit.

    Lorna,

    I’m really hoping we can meet up to 🙂

    Judy,

    Thanks so much for your continued prayers. I will update when possible.

    I’ll have to head over to Adorotedevote to read what was posted!

    God Bless

Leave a Reply

