Birthday Girl

Happy Birthday to me, I’m a 103, Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday to me!

So then, it’s my birthday 🙂

I was working today so yesterday I took the children out for ice cream, which they enjoyed a lot – though Wonderboy regretted he’d chosen a tub of chocolate ice cream when he saw the size of his sisters Cadwaladers Glory!

kids-eating-ice-cream.jpg

I woke up this morning to breakfast in bed and a nice mug of steaming earl grey.

breakfast-in-bed.jpg

Our family pet got in on the act too,

silly-bella.jpg

Bleary eyed I opened my pressies and gulped down the hot tea. Primadonna had made me a magnificent collage with a picture of us all together. She had also bought me a David Gray cd, that I’d been wanting for a while, and a new mug.

collage.jpg

Wonderboy bought me a beautiful ornament with his pocket money, it’s entitled ‘Sister and Brother’ and I love it because my daughter is older than her brother and whenever I look at the ornament I know I’ll always think of my babies.

sister-and-brother.jpg

When I got to the presbytery Fr. Peter started singing ‘Happy Birthday’ as I walked through the door. I was later to discover that he had bought me a fabulous present, Pope Benedict’s new book! Which can be seen in the picture below.

pressies1.jpg

Shirley, my friend, and Fr. P’s dear wife made a real fuss of me! I had a lovely boquet of flowers from the Union of Catholic Mothers, and Shirl bought me a lovely cake, Fenjal bath creme and body moisturiser, alcohol free wine (cos I don’t drink alcohol) and a box of Fairtrade belgian chocolates. I had lot’s of other pressies too, one of which was a fabulous new camera bag for my Nikon. they were so expensive that I couldn’t afford to buy one when I got the camera, so my folks bought me one instead for my birthday 🙂

choccies.jpg

When I finished work I headed over to my folks and Mum cooked me a beautiful meal of fresh salmon fillet with organic potatoes, sweetcorn and peas and parsley sauce. Yummy! After which I was presented with the following cake! Appropriately I received a mug today from my daughter, entitled ‘Diet, what diet?’

birthday-cake.jpg

Here’s a pic of me below, hiding behind lot’s of goodies, amongst which there is a card from my dear friend Alexa who was so thoughtful in letting me know she was thinking of me today 🙂

moi.jpg

Well, I want to write more but my daughter is now going to give me a facial before we sit down with the choccies, to watch Ugly Betty. So, gotta go!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Birthday Girl

  1. Lorna says:

    happy birthday -sounds like you had a terrific day!

  2. Melanie says:

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Sounds like you enjoyed a wonderful day!

  3. What a wonderful birthday! I’m glad it was a happy day full of great things to remember later.

    Happy birthday and may you be blessed with much good health and happiness in the coming year.

  4. Mimi says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday! Many Years, my friend! Treat yourself on this special day!

  5. Suzanne says:

    I am mad mad mad at myself! You had mentioned your birthday a long time ago…I wrote it down…I lost where I wrote it down. I asked Alexa to let me know when she found out about when your birthday was and she forgot…certainly not her fault nor her responsibility, but I did and when I didn’t hear back, I forgot myself to ask again. I wanted to surprise you. :(!!! Dingy me! Well, Happy Birthday and it looks like you are well loved by all in your circle of life!

  6. Christine M says:

    Happy Birthday to you – It sounds like you had a very nice day.

  7. Owen says:

    Belated greetings.

  8. HAPPY,HAPPY BIRTHDAY, dear friend Deb!! I wish I could share a cup of Earl Grey with you and bring you something special. Hope you’ve had a wonderful day. It sounds like it was lovely. So happy your family clearly loves and appreciates you. God is good.

  9. Valerie says:

    Happy, happy birthday, my friend!!!!!! Wish I could have been there to give you a huge hug!

  10. Alexa says:

    Hey there GURLFRIEND! Wow. You’re going into your 40th year tomorrow – wow. How’s it feel? (you sure you don’t want to moderate the comments here?)
    Listen dearie, I don’t know why, but 40 is a great age. Most people will say that to you. So much happens – so, I say that because you should 1) enjoy the last year of being called “39” and 2) look forward to what’s ahead.
    I have a feeling you’re in for some great things….
    Why the heck not afterall?????
    And, btw, I LOVE that last picture – of you behind the cards! You look so coy.
    I dedicate a song to you from my new playlist on my blog – “Smile” by Nat King Cole. How’s that?

    Hope it was a good day.
    I’m working on my fifth alcoholic beverage and I’m still feeling fine – darnit – and about to go to bed soon.
    God bless.
    And happy happy happy days ahead.

  11. Fleur says:

    Belated happy birthday, and many blessings for the year ahead!

  12. Pingback: Birthday Boy! « … Ukok’s Place …

  13. Renee says:

    Sorry I missed it. I do wish for you many years in peace, health and happiness.

    You have some really thoughtful children, I must say.

  14. TO says:

    Happy birthday! I’m glad that you had such a special day.

  15. ukok says:

    Thanks all, for your kind thoughts and well wishes, I really enjoyed reading all these fabulous comments. You have to know that my birthday was genuinely enriched by your kindness.

    (((hugs to everyone)))

  16. Antonia says:

    Happy Birthday!! (sorry am a bit late due to revision-induced lack of blog surfing!)
    Sounds like you had a great day!

Leave a Reply

