Supersoaker not so Super!

When your son calls you outside on a hot summers day, it could be because he wants to show you how many legs he’s pulled of a garden spider….or how he didn’t look where he was going and trod in something unpleasant….or then again, he might just want to take you by surprise so that he can completely and utterly saturate you…

image removed

Believe me, I didn’t have time to gasp! Being taller than dear son, it was the lower two thirds of me that got drenched first. But not to be the only one soaked to the skin, I sent Primadonna upstairs with a jug of water…I then dove into the house, distracted Wonderboy and drew him near to the back door…and then, just when he was least expecting it…Primadonna poured water over him from her bedroom window….dear son wasn’t a happy bunny.

I braved it outside once more -Wonderboy did say he would submit- but when I told him to put the gun down he started squirting it at me again…..I wrangled the supersoaker from dear son…. ‘ha-ha-ha’, thought I….

image removed

(yes, I am aware that I look like a complete and utter moron in the pic, but dear son was shaking his wet head defiantly in an attempt to splatter me even without the water gun in his grubby little hands)

But…and now let this be a lesson to all adults who dare to become embroiled in such a game of treachery and deceit… any success by the adult, in obtaining toy weapon from small, stubborn children will be shortlived.

Sure enough, the frustrated child will discover – via fair means or foul – a method of taking said item from your posession.

Beware too of over-enthusiastic children who may bop you accidentally on the forehead with said gun, forcing you to wobble indoors clutching head and groaning…while he, the victor, shrieks victoriously.


What are little boys made of? Snips and snails and puppy dogs tails, THAT’s what little boys are made of! Humph!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Supersoaker not so Super!

  1. Suzanne says:

    Oh how funny! You guys! LOL!
    Yesterday, Shane squirted me in the back and quickly had the back side of my t-shirt wet…I turned like a wild woman and screeched “Shane! What are you doin? Cut it out!” He looked entirely disappointed. He thought…”Hey, Jesus tossed water on Mary in that Passion movie and she didn’t get all upset!”
    Guess he had a point there…aw….anyway, they are
    mean as stinks, but they just think its all about fun…which they have a hard time holding back from
    carrying out…even on their mums!!!
    Cute story…you and the daughter got em though! 🙂

  2. RobK says:

    Great story! It is good to start my day with a smile.

  3. twithhoney says:

    Gotta love that summertime family fun! Next time let him keep the Supersoaker and go for the garden hose instead.

  4. Audrey says:

    Hi Deb,

    Wow, lucky you for being able to play with your kids this way! I don’t even remember if we ever had a family fun time like that… water guns were ‘prohibited’ by my parents. I’m sure, Deb, this fun time will be forever remembered by your children.

    Stay blessed!

  5. Renee says:

    Isn’t playing fun? That’s what keeps moms young. Why else would we play?

  6. Hi – This is off topic, but – I just recently came across your blog. Noticed that the page name is “catholic convert.” Are you a convert, and have you written you conversion story here somewhere? I’d be interested to read it. Enjoy your blog.

    Thanks!

  7. ukok says:

    Aimee,

    Thank you for your interest in my story 🙂

    The short version of my conversion story can be read at the following link (there is a longer one somewhere I think but I seem to have lost it)

    https://catholicconvert.wordpress.com/2004/07/16/why-i-converted-in-brief/

    The story of my reception into the Catholic church can be read here

    https://catholicconvert.wordpress.com/2005/01/21/my-reception-into-the-catholic-church/

    After I converted, my mum started coming to Mass, in 2006 she became Catholic. In 2007 my Dad started to coming to Mass and was baptised Catholic!

    God Bless you

  8. Mimi says:

    I love the action shot of you, dear friend! Enjoy!

  9. ukok says:

    Oh, boys! Can’t live with ’em, can’t live without ’em eh?

    …both the small kids and male adults!

  10. Thanks! That’s great, just what I wanted. Beautiful story. I’ve listed your blog under my “Some Interesting Converts” blogroll. I’m also a convert, entered the Church in 1999. You can read parts of my story under “featured posts” on my blog if you want.

    In the meantime, nice to meet another family member! I like your blog. Will be back.

  11. ukok says:

    Aimee, thanks for listing my blog. I need to update my blogroll too and when I do, you’ll be added to it.

    It’s always great to meet another convert to the Catholic Faith!

  12. Aimee says:

    Thanks! Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

