Scripture – Picture 5

debbiesforblog2.jpg

Isn’t this a lovely passage of scripture to accompany the above image? I think it befitting for this post to also include a recent meme tag from Jean, because it’s not just any old meme, but one that asks for a response of my heart in writing about 5 things I love about Jesus.

RULES

Those tagged will share 5 things they “love” about Jesus. I am supposed to tag 5 others, but will just open this up to anyone who wants to do it – just let me know in the com box so I can take a read of your responses, okay?

My responses:

  1. I love Jesus for loving me so much that he endured torture and ridicule, carried the weight of my sin, died for me and rose again so that I might have eternal life.
  2. I love that Jesus rescued me from the pit of hell that was my life before I allowed him a place in my heart.
  3. I love that time after time Jesus forgives my sins and makes me as spotless as the snow.
  4. I love that right at this moment he is here beside me, so that even when I am alone I am not lonely.
  5. I love that Jesus and I are wholly one through my participation in the Sacramental life.

Feel free to play along!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Scripture – Picture 5

  1. Lorna says:

    love what you write … especially # 4 though they are all great but to be bluntly honest the photo does nothing for me at all.

  2. ukok says:

    Glad you like the post, if not the picture. The photo is of a statue, and as you know, Catholics don’t believe statues do anything for us themselves, they only help to fascilitate meditation upon whom is depicted. I know a lot of non-Catholics who love religious statues for that very reason, but it’s okay for you not to get anything from it 🙂

  3. I have to finish this meme also, and I hope you don’t mind if I use your beautiful image.

    Debbie, I love the eyes in that statue that seem to look right at you but GENTLY. They go perfectly with the quote “for I am meek and humble of heart.”

  4. Lorna says:

    I think I reacted mostly to that white, blond-hair blue eyed thing (Jesus most certainly didn’t look european because he was semite!) though that statue doesn’t look like it has blond hair … and if it helps someone meditate hey why not? but for me a HUGE distraction I fear.

    hugs xx

  5. ukok says:

    Barb,

    I’m looking into purchasing a programme to embedd a copyright text on to the photo’s, but I’m not doing that because I don’t want to share the images, but rather, because I don’t want them to be misused as they otherwise could be online. I’m happy for you to use this image to accompany your meme post about Our Lord and I appreciate you asking if it’s okay to do so 🙂

    Lorna,

    I concur. I think that art generally reflects the artists social situation, colour, background, aspirations etc…. so we tend to find that a lot of art depicting Christ has us viewing a pale skinned, blue eyed, blonde Jesus. Alas, I’ve also seen some terrible ‘realistic -style’ art that depicts Jesus in such a way that the only thing missing is a ghettoblaster beneath an arm!

    FWIW , when I look on the statues, my prayer is not focussed on the image itself or otherwise it would become distracting for me and not at all efficacious.

    🙂

  6. Nice post, Deb. Great answers. If you find out about copyrighting your pictures could you let us know about it? I would like to restrict people from using images I’ve posted of my children, you know. It’s a big bad world out there. Still, I like to share family pictures with blogging friends.

  7. I’m doing the meme too over at my blog.

  8. ukok says:

    Rosemary,

    I think it’s a great idea to © family photo’s displayed online also. There are 2 companies in particular that I am researching. The first is Digimarc, which has the drawback of our being limited in number to how many images can be embedded with copyright info…and the other is Watermark Factory that has a free 15 day trial. The only thing is that I just spent an hour downloading it only to find that WordPress won’t accept/display copywritten images. I’m hoping I’m doing something wrong though, because it’s a one off payment and would be ideal for the purpose I need it for. perhaps you’d like to get the free trial and see how it works for yourself? IF you do, let me know how you get on with it, okay?

    Edited to add: After spending a total of 3.5 hours examining different downloadable copyright software I have had the best results with one company in particular. The positive is that they don’t charge a penny, the negative is that you don’t get to see a before and after shot of your photo and once processed you’re stuck with it, even if the embedded watermark is too pale or too dark. You can see this quite clearly in all the Scripture Pictures on the main page. I’ve edited them all and the dark ones especially, my watermark is hardly noticeable..still, it is free and it only took the best part of 2 hours to get the gist of what to do!

    Groan!

  9. Suzanne says:

    The love and inspiration that is put into any piece of art of Christ is beautiful because it comes from the heart.
    The eyes on this piece seem to reveal that the person feels the love of Christ from expression in the eyes…probably among other things that the artist was thinking or feeling while working on it.

  10. Jean says:

    Excellent responses, Deb! Just reading these made me feel like I need to love Jesus more. He has done so much for me – all that you say I can relate to so well.

    God bless you!

  11. ukok says:

    Suzanne, that’s a good point and I thank you for making it, my friend 🙂

    Jean, what a lovely thing to say, thank you!

Leave a Reply

