Scripture – Picture 10

peace-encouragement.jpg

– click to enlarge-

Taken at Wales 2007

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Scripture – Picture 10

  1. Searching says:

    Dear Ukok, I love to read your posts when they explore the spiritual walk of life, on the other hand, as I am not a Catholic, the Catholic #1 mentality writings only cause me not to come back for a while. I still explore your site occassionally because the bible verses, struggles and triumphs that you share are your greatest inspirations for those of us who read such things. They encourage me so much. I hope you keep writing more of these!

  2. ukok says:

    Searching,

    I appreciate the honesty of your comment. The reason that I sometimes post Catholic faith-defence style posts is because I am provoked by individuals, or requested/prompted via email, to do so. For example; Elmantheman is currently telling me in the comments box that I belong to a church that is a whore.

    What do I do? do I ignore him and delete his 4 or 5 anti-catholic comments (in a row!) or do I seek to respond to him?

    On the one hand there is scripture telling us to give an explanation of what we believe (1 Peter 3:15-16)….on the other hand, isn’t apologetics served best on catholic.com or over at Jimmy Akin’s blog or Dave Armstrong’s Blog? That’s the business they’re in. I’m just a mum and parish secretary with a little bit of free time to go online each day…and truth be told, even that time would be better served elsewhere for the most part.

    I conclude that there will indeed be more posts of this type that I hope will prove spiritually uplifting to all who visit, but I can’t ignore ignorance about Catholicism when it embraces hatred. For the most part, people who raise objections to Catholic Teaching/practices are just poorly catechised or have no proper understanding of Catholicism. But every now and then there is vileness that seeps into the comments box or my email inbox, and I believe if not corrected, then by silence it can be perceived to be condoned.

    God Bless you!

  3. Suzanne says:

    You have that very right, UKOK…we need to stand up for comments that are wrong about our Catholic Faith.
    I love the quote with the picture, so PEACE BE UNTO YOU across the pond! God bless! 🙂

  4. Deb, what a beautiful picture and quote. Amen. As to Searching’s comments about “Catholic #1 comments” I assume he is referring to the Catholic belief that the original church of Jesus contains the fullness of the faith. Naturally your posts would sometimes reflect such a belief, as everyone’s blogs reflect their beliefs. I don’t understand why Protestants are sometimes offended by that. Don’t they believe that their denomination contains the fullness of the faith. Don’t we each choose our beliefs on the basis of where we believe the truth lies?

  5. ukok says:

    Suzanne, peace be unto you my dear!!! You always put a smile right on my face y’know 🙂

    Rosemary,

    I’m so glad you like the photo, it’s one of my favourites and rather a fluke that it turned out so well!

    Great comment about the One True Church posting and other faith defence posts.

    :thumbsup:

  6. Jenny says:

    What a treasure! I can’t wait to come back and explore. I’ve recently begun the conversion to RC. I’m so excited to come back for a visit!

  7. Esther says:

    Beautiful Deb!

  8. ukok says:

    Jenny,

    Thanks for stopping by. I look forward to getting to know you better and to learning about your journey to Catholicism.

    Esther,

    I’m so glad you like it!

Leave a Reply

