Union of Catholic Mothers Retreat

Edited to add:

Please see THIS other post my response to a very dramatic and most bizarre reaction to the post below!

______________________________________________________________________________________________

Thanks so much for your prayers for me and mine yesterday as we went on Retreat to Colwich Abbey. I am pleased to report that it was a very rewarding experience. I don’t remember a retreat experience that I’ve not liked though, if truth be told (and why shouldn’t it be told?).

The only thing that cast a dampner over the day was that I got car sick! (I didn’t throw up, thank goodness). I drive with no problem (other than a tendency to road rage and a fear of motorways) and yet if I travel as a passenger at the back of a car, I get sick. Does anyone else get that or am I the only wierd one who gets that?

None the less, it wasn’t as bad at the start of the day as when I got home, I felt quite ill for a few hours on my return, but nothing could take away from me the wonderful time I’d had with the other 70 or 80 or so ladies on retreat.

Pictured above is a snap I took of the Chapel where Bishop McGough said Mass and where we later heard him speak on the subject of LOVE…(it was fabulous- more about that in another post) …where we prayed the Divine Office, where there was Adoration, where we sang hymns and had silent prayer and Benediction.

The only thing I would have liked to have been a part of the day, that wasn’t, would have been the opportunity for Confession, but I don’t think there’d have been enough time anyway.

Now sometimes I really struggle with Adoration. ( just last week I wrote a post onsimilar lines and Iwas going to post it this week – I still may, because it’s still pertinent).

I can have a lot of difficulty in switching off from random thoughts in my head, the buzz of the outside world, the distraction of the traffic congesting the city’s busy roads outside the Church. Usually I’m sitting (or kneeling) in the pew for about 10 or 15 minutes or more before suddenly it’s like God slams me upside the head and I go “OH! Jesus, I’m sorry, where were we?”.

Maybe it was the preparation of having already been to Mass and having received my Lord in the Eucharist, spent time in prayer and contemplation….but I just talked to Jesus in my thoughts yesterday during Adoration, just as easily as I’m writing this now.

During my time before the Blessed Sacrament I prayed for all who I have come to know during my time of blogging. I believe that God has bought you all into my life for a reason and I am grateful for the opportunity of knowing you in some small way, through the means that cyberspace affords us.

Yes, indeed, a good day. Now I just have to try to hold on to some of that inner peace that I experienced yesterday… and that’s the hard part. It never lasts. That’s my fault, not His.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Union of Catholic Mothers Retreat

  1. Sarah says:

    Delurking to say:
    I’m delurking,
    I get carsick like that too, and am also fine if I’m driving,
    and your retreat sounds wonderful!

  2. Mimi says:

    Wow, it does sound good.

    And, yes – there’s no way I can sit in the back seat. The passenger seat is rocky, driving is best.

  3. Lorna says:

    Most car-sickness is not when you yourself drive, but when in the back of someone else’s car … I think because you can’t focus on the road ahead. Take some anti-sickness pills an hour before you leave next time – they really help

    We’ve just installed a new hard disk on my laptop and it still isn’t working. It’s looking desperate here. Prayer appreciated.

  4. So glad you had a lovely retreat. I’m a great day-dreamer during adoration too. I try so hard but the mind just takes off sometimes. I’m sure Jesus understands. Thank you for the prayers.

  5. Scott says:

    retreats are just awsome arent they? I cannot wait until this weekend for mine!

    I love the abbey, looks really nifty!

  6. Antonia says:

    aw! God Bless
    xx

  7. noviceship says:

    I’m so glad you enjoyed your retreat in our monastery, we enjoyed having you too – it was beautiful the way you all responded at mid day office too. Check us out at http://colwichnov.wordpress.com ( or go to colwich abbey site) and see what goes on behind the scenes. Pax Adele, Colwich Abbey Postulant.

  8. ukok says:

    Thank you so much for taking the trouble to leave a comment here!

    It was a wonderful retreat, we had been the year before also, but it just keeps getting better. I will visit your wordpress site… how wonderful to find that you are blogging behind the scenes at Colwich!

    How is Chelsea, may I ask?

  9. Mary says:

    I’m confused. I thought the chapel in the picture was only for the nuns. Are the public/retreatants allowed in this chapel? Aren’t they enclosed?

  10. ukok says:

    Mary, we were retreatants and yes we were certainly permitted to attend the Mass in the above chapel and in fact hear a ‘talk’ given by the Abbot in the chapel the year before.

    For more info go to the source

    http://colwichnov.wordpress.com/

    Thanks for stopping by

  11. noviceship says:

    Hi from Colwich, we are enclosed and don’t mix with guests ( othere than our own ) or retreatants at all. However our extern chapel is tiny so we allow occasional large groups into choir to pray and join us for midday office though they don’t sit beside us. Guests staying at the monastery sit on a few benches at the back but not in choir itself. As our building is very old and listed we can’t change it so we do this to allow guests to come – which is part of our Rule of life as Benedictines. It’s not ideal but the only other option would be turn guests away and that is something we wouldn’t do – remember the fact that we are a praying community is why they come, and our vocation is to pray for the world.
    I hope that helps, sr marie-therese.

  12. ukok says:

    Please see the following post for a very dramatic and bizarre reaction to my innocently posting about my retreat days at Colwich Abbey:

    CLICK THIS

Comments are closed.