St. Teresa of Avila

teresa.jpg

Today is St. Teresa of Avila’s feast day, unbeknownst to me until now was the fact that she is the Patron Saint of headache sufferers ! As a chronic daily headache sufferer (and with regular migraines thrown in for good measure) I’m wondering how I could have overlooked this. Henceforth, I must ask frequently, that she intercede for me….and I also think I need to pay more attention to the rich history of Saints of the Church.  St. Teresa is a Doctor of the Church, and this just has to be one of my all time favourite quotes of hers because so often I look back at my life thus far and sigh at the many mistakes I have made and just how far I have wandered from God over the years ~

“To reach something good it is very useful to have gone astray, and thus acquire experience.”

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to St. Teresa of Avila

  1. i will pray your head-aches go…God bless

  2. ukok says:

    Jackie, that is very kind of you indeed, I am so grateful.

    God Bless you!

  3. barbszy says:

    Really? I had no idea that she was the patroness of headache sufferers. I’ll be calling upon her soon during my regularly-scheduled migraine. (And I’ll include you in my prayers. I can’t imagine dealing with them more frequently than I do! YIKES!)

  4. BF says:

    I’ve been to Avila (and Santiago de Compostella) on a pilgrimage/vacation to Spain. I can tell you that it is a beautiful and tranquil place. Being the patron saint of headache sufferers (and probably was prone to them herself) I certainly can see why she lived there for a time.

  5. ukok says:

    Barb,

    I’ll remember you on my ‘headache/migraine’ list of blog friends…. there’s me and you and Barbara in Wales and Lorna in Finland….and probably lot’s of others too!

    BF,

    Thanks for sharing about your pilgrimage. It sounds like just the kind of place where I would be tremendously at peace.

  6. Lou says:

    My dd (13) went into the hospital for migraines on St. Teresa’s feast day this week. She was there 3 days, but not much better now. I was just googling for who was the patron St of headache sufferers. What a wonderful “Godincidence” We will certainly be praying for her intercession. She is one of my favorite saints. God bless you!

  7. ukok says:

    Lou, thanks for stopping by and I will remember your daughter in my prayers.

Leave a Reply

