St. Gerard Majella

Well, y’know, years ago I used to post on the Saints daily, and while I’m inclined to do so, looks like I’m going to be doing so again, if for no other reason than to acquaint others who visit Ukok’s Place (specifically non Catholics and non Christians) with the wonderful Saints of the Church!

st-gerard-majella.jpg

Today is the feast day of St. Gerard Majella. You can more about him here.

Prayer for St. Gerard’s intercession

Great St. Gerard,
beloved servant of Jesus Christ,
perfect imitator of Jesus,
and devoted child of the Mother of God,
enkindle within my heart one spark
of that Heavenly fire of charity which glowed in yours.
Because you bore,
without murmur or complaint,
the calumnies of wicked men
when falsely accused of crime,
you have been raised up by God
as the patron and protector of expectant mothers.
Preserve all mothers in the dangers of motherhood,
and shield the child that they bear,
that they may be brought safely to the light of day,
and receive the sacrament of baptism.

Amen.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to St. Gerard Majella

  1. Antonia says:

    For so many reasons THANK YOU for posting this!!!!!!!!!!

    ps- I am very sad to have missed your card competition! I have been in Italy for the half a week at a cousin’s wedding so I havent checked blogs since last week

  2. Steve says:

    As the token ‘former catholic,’ I’ll go out on a limb and stir the pot.

    1 Timothy 2:5 says, “For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;”

    That is all…

    Oh, and I moved Careful Thought blog to http://www.carefulthought.com.

  3. Libbie says:

    Isn’t he going to be patron sanit of the unborn at some point? I’m sure I read that somewhere.

  4. ukok says:

    Antonia,

    The Christmas Card competition is open 🙂 just click on the tab at the top of the page and leave a comment on that thread!

    Steve,

    How lovely it is when you come on over and sit ‘tother end of the pew with me a while .

    The short answer is that ->

    Catholics pray withSaints and not to them 🙂

    The long answer is ->

    Well, perhaps it would help you to read this short ‘ish piece on this topic.

    http://www.cin.org/users/james/files/praying.htm

    Libbie,

    yes, that’s right, St. Gerard is popularly referred to as being the patron saint of the unborn 🙂

    http://www.catholic-forum.com/saints/saintg06.htm

    God bless you all!

  5. Steve says:

    The short answer is that ->

    Catholics pray withSaints and not to them

    The long answer is ->

    Well, perhaps it would help you to read this short ‘ish piece on this topic.

    http://www.cin.org/users/james/files/praying.htm

    I’ve often heard Catholics discuss ‘praying to’ a particular saint. I’m not keen on the whole idea of Saints, either. All believers are numbered among the saints, and that is the useage in Scripture. I think this is definitely another catholic-ism that seeks to elevate humanity to near-deity. In the context of intercessory prayer, I may as well ask my dear departed Aunt Sally to intercede.

    The article you reference confuses/conflates Paul’s desire for intercessory prayer from living believers with prayers to (and by) the dead. I think you’re on shaky ground here…

  6. ukok says:

    No, I’m on solid ground here Steve. The Saints in Heaven are amongst the body of believers, they are alive.

    “[An] angel came and stood at the altar [in heaven] with a golden censer; and he was given much incense to mingle with the prayers of all the saints upon the golden altar before the throne; and the smoke of the incense rose with the prayers of the saints from the hand of the angel before God” (Rev. 8:3-4).

    and

    “And those in heaven who offer to God our prayers aren’t just angels, but humans as well. John sees that “the twenty-four elders [the leaders of the people of God in heaven] fell down before the Lamb, each holding a harp, and with golden bowls full of incense, which are the prayers of the saints” (Rev. 5:8).

    The saints in heaven offer prayer, on our behalf, to God.

  7. Libbie says:

    I think the section in Revelation where the martyrs talk to Almighty God is an interesting scripture on this topic. I’m still not sure what I think. I don’t think it’s clear in scripture, but I do know that when I’m with the Lord, should it be before my children, for example, I can’t imagine that my desire to pray for them would cease.

  8. Joyce says:

    Steve does like to play devil’s advocate, huh?

  9. Steve says:

    Joyce,
    Hopefully not just for the sake of stirring the pot. These are important issues, and I appreciate that we can discuss them in a reasonably civil fashion! 😉

  10. ukok says:

    Steve,

    I don’t think you intentionally stir the pot at all 🙂

    I believe that you are a very intelligent person, if your posts are anything to go by…..but you ain’t done with the learning yet …. particularly with that which pertains to Catholicism I hope 😉

Leave a Reply

