St. Ignatius of Antioch

 st-ignatius-of-antioch.jpg

Today we observe the feast day of St. Ignatius of Antioch.

St. Ignatius, whose greek name, Theophorus, means ‘God-Bearer’, suffered a martyr’s death when after 40 years of pastoring his flock, he was taken to the ampitheatre in Rome where he was devoured by 2 ferocious lions.

A part of me is in awe of such faith that he would, up to the end, even facing the most grizliest of deaths, not deny his Christian Faith….and another part of me say’s ‘Silly man, that had to have hurt!!!!’.

Oh, for such a heart of faith that I would so staunchly defend my Lord and Saviour!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to St. Ignatius of Antioch

  1. Libbie says:

    I always find the stories of the earliest martyrs tremendously inspiring and convicting. They help clear away some of the ‘fog’ of doubt, tbh. They were so close to the actual time of the incarnation, and they faced such astonishing persecution, their faith is a helpful bolster to my own, and I face no persecution at all.

  2. ukok says:

    Libbie,

    I love the way that you express yourself – it’s sometimes like you write what I think or feel about something myself, but you do it in such a way that eludes me.

    God Bless!

  3. Have you ever read his letters? They are as thrilling as Braveheaart and the Gladiator and Ben Hur all rolled up into one! I wanted to write a novel about him and visited the church in Rome where his relics are – San Clemente- and had all kinds of adventures there. Underneath the church is an early “house church” where early Christians worshipped.

  4. Libbie says:

    ukok, that’s very kind of you, thankyou +

Leave a Reply

