Happy Birthday Sweet 16! ~ Friday 2nd November

I’m really busy this week and don’t know when I’ll have chance to blog a post other than this. There’s lot’s going on. Sick kid’s…..personal difficulties and pressures (you know how it is, you have similar things to deal with I’m sure) …. birthday baking…. prezzies to buy…. migraines to enslave me…. but just wanted to mention my beautiful daughter’s 16th birthday today. Sadly she has to go to school today, but we’re all going out for a meal this evening and then we’re going to shop till we drop tomorrow (Saturday)!

Isn’t she just the sweetest girl?

Steve took the photo below, just minutes after her birth. It had been an excruciatingly long labour and I had somehow forgotten amidst all the pain and worry, what it was all about….and then my baby girl was born…the look on my face says it all…if heaven were a feeling, it would be holding your newborn baby in your arms for the very first time….


Just a few hours later, my girl was striking a pose for the hospital photographer…


The first couple of years were hard going. Losing Steve… learning to make sense of a family that was just the two of us when there should have been three…my Primadonna gave me the strength to keep getting up in the mornings, her smile was the greatest blessing, knowing that through her beautiful, fragile body, Steve was still alive to me…

garden-girl.jpg

We learned to play together…and developed the strongest bond known between people, the bond of eternal love…

im-floored-by-love.jpg

I have often looked at you, my Primadonna, and wondered if someone like me could really have given birth to someone like you… why would God ever give me someone so wonderful to love?

horsey-fun.jpg

And then there were three of us, just as it always should have been… a brother for you to love…

my-little-ones.jpg

And then you started to show an interest in fashion and mirrors….and you never looked back! I had to hide my make up and high heels!

birday-girl-10.jpg

But you don’t need make up, my lovely, because you just keep on getting more and more beautiful, more intelligent, more loving every day…

amelia.jpg

and you’ll always be my baby…

Happy Birthday my darling Primadonna!

As well as being my baby girl’s birthday, today is All Soul’s Day – a day when we especially remember our departed loved ones. Today I especially think of Steve, Primadonna’s Dad. He died before our girl had even celebrated her first birthday ….. but all 16 of her birthdays so far, I’ve looked at her with a tear in my eye and an ache in my heart and a sure knowledge that Steve loved our darling girl so very much and that he would be so very proud of the beautiful young lady she has become. Steve was such a gentle soul, and although not especially religious, I do believe that the Lord looked kindly upon him when he left this world and I have the hope that he has been able to look at his beautiful brown eyed girl and that he has silently stood by me, watching with me, crying with me, laughing with me as the years of our daughters life have unfolded…. just as I know he would have done if he had not passed away.

Merciful Father,
hear our prayer and console us.
As we renew our faith in Your Son,
whom You raised from the dead,
strengthen our hope that all our departed brothers and sisters
will share in His resurrection,
who lives and reigns with You and the Holy Spirit,
one God, for ever and ever. Amen

Okay, that’s enough with the melancholy, we got us some partying to do!

Happy Birthday my darling Primadonna!

I Love You

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Happy Birthday Sweet 16! ~ Friday 2nd November

  1. Alexa says:

    Happy Birthday Amy! What lovely pictures! I especially like the one of her on the steps outside. SO cute! I’m going to try to go to Mass tomorrow (it’s still Thursday night here) and I’ll try to remember Steve along with my other intentions!
    God bless you all.

    Ya’ll look so BRITISH too! Why’s that???

  2. Esther says:

    How lovely!
    Happy Birthday Amy!

  3. warren says:

    How sweet! God bless you both! The photos are lovely. Thank you so much for sharing this with us! Isn’t God wonderful to bless us with these little people? I can’t imagine life without my little buddies. May God protect, and bless yours, today and always!

    Warren

  4. of course she goes to school on her birthday : she wants to celebrate with friends too 🙂

    btw I came across this article (more than a year old) but I found it interesting

    http://www.telegraph.co.uk/opinion/main.jhtml?xml=/opinion/2006/08/12/do1204.xml

    what I was actually looking for though (for a research paper) is how many RC in England and Wales typically attend mass any given Sunday. do you know . or can you point me in the right direction?

    I was also thinking about the comment in the article about incorporating traditional feastdays into the Sunday service … I suppose I’m thinking a lot about that now.Again our pastor apparently doesn’t really want to bother having a service on Christmas Day – apparently we’ll have one on the Sunday before (23rd) and that’s enough. For him maybe – not for me … I’m really struggling with this again.

    sorry for blurting it out here.

  5. oh and happy 16th Amy. Hope you have (had ) a great day.

  6. Wonderful post & beautiful girl..God bless you both..

  7. grandma and grandad says:

    a very happy birthday to a beautiful young lady AMY on her 16th birthday. we are so proud and blessed to call you our Granddaughter. with loads of love always Grandma and Grandad and loads of big kisses from Mollie and Hollie.God Bless xxx

  8. Jean says:

    Happy Birthday, Beautiful Amy!

    Praying for special birthday blessings for you!

  9. Happy Birthday to your beautiful, beautiful daughter Amy!!!!

  10. OK, Deb – next time you need to post a handkerchief alert before you post something like this!!!!! That was utterly beautiful – as both you and Amy are. What a lovely name you gave her – it means “friend.”

  11. Renee says:

    May God grant her many years in peace, health, and happiness!!

    The photo of you right after birth is a beauty! And her sitting on the steps, straight from a book. Lovely!

    Happy Birthday to you both~

  12. ukok says:

    You’re all a bunch of sweethearts, thank you so much for your lovely comments, Amy is delighted that you took the time to wish her a Happy Birthday.

    God Bless your kindness!

  13. Scott says:

    happy sweet 16 from across the pond in Ohio, USA! beautiful prayer, beautiful kid! yay!

  14. Mimi says:

    Happy, Happy Birthday and Many Years to your beautiful daughter!

  15. Many many happy years to your Amy!

  16. Antonia says:

    aw! What a beautiful collection of pictures!
    Happy birthday to Amy!

    -x-

Leave a Reply

