Practising the Presence of God with Brother Lawrence

Brother Lawrence was a 17th Century French Carmelite who spent most of his time working in the kitchen of a monastery in Paris. I first came across his writings a few months ago, and despite struggling with the preface and ‘conversations’ of the first part of his book, ‘The Practice of the Presence of God’, the letters, especially, have impacted me more than I could have imagined.

I believe that the messages of Brother Lawrence are as pertinant to todays Christian pilgrims as ever they were to those gone before us. For this reason, I’d like to share with you excerpts from the collection of fifteen letters that Brother Lawrence wrote to those who lived with him and around him during his lifetime.

Though his writings need no accompaniement, I shall, write a very little about each excerpt that I share with you, and about the stirrings of self examination and of relfection that they have invoked within me.

I hope that food for thought is gained by all who read Brother Lawrence’s writings, because they are certainly inspirational lessons to live by. The excerpts are perhaps especially encouraging for those of us who also work in kitchens and wash rooms, taking on the care of our loved ones.

Whoever we are and whatever we do, the messages of Brother Lawrence reaches into the hearts of all who would hear them…because whatever is good about them, they were God’s words first. Brother Lawrence was merely a servant, and in that too, we have much to learn from his example.

I hope you will enjoy reading the forthcomingposts pertaining to this great model of Christian discipleship and servitude.

I hope too that you are having a muich blessed Advent…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Practising the Presence of God with Brother Lawrence

  1. John Bowden says:

    Looking forward to your posts. Br Lawrence is so down to earth and humble it’s hard not to like him and even harder not to be inspired by what he has left us.

  2. O says:

    One of the first Christian books I ever read. I was 19 and a brand new born-again Christian. I had no idea Br. Lawrence was a priest and if I thought about it at all it would not have meant much too me except that God places his true Christians whereever he pleases. Even then God was drawing me home to his Catholic Church, a journey that would not come to fruition for 26 years.

  3. Yes i like this spirituality…

  4. ukok says:

    John,

    you are so right about him being down to earth. When I first started to read him, I had to double check in which year his letters because they are just as pertinent today as ever they were, and his language and manner of conveying the content of what he wished to express, just as though it were in these times he were speaking.

    Owen,

    Reading your comment gave me the chills! WOW! How awesome was that for a God-incidence!

    Jackie,

    me too!

Leave a Reply

