Unhinged and anxious

So the door came off in my daughters hands…it literally came off it’s hinges….and could I find a decent screwdriver anywhere?

Nope.

I found a broken screwdriver, some glue that had hardened in the tube and 3 wonky nails….I did the best I could though, and with the aid of a piece of cutlery, a lot of huffing and puffing later, in my own cack-handed way I actually managed to get the door back on…and it now actually opens and closes. Hoorah!
Who needs a man around the house to do these things? My house may be stuck together with spit and wonky nails, but at least it’s still standing. Just about.

baby-bella.jpg

On another note, I just found out my baby Bella (to those unacquainted with Bella, she is my yorkshire terrier) has a lump growing beneath the skin of her abdomen. I’m going to try to get her an appointment at the vets tomorrow. I know some people berate crazy animal lovers like me (and do you think I care?), but she is like another child to me and I’m extremely concerned about her.

The good news is that she is the same grumpy, off the wall, wacky mutt as ever, but this hard round lump that moves about under her skin when I have examined it, is about the size of a grape and it has me worried. Especially as it appeared so suddenly. It could be a cyst or something, but as I’m prone to thinking pesimistically about anything vaguely serious and possibly life threatening, I’m thinking this could be the last Christmas I have with my Bella. I know. I know. I could never be a nurse, I’d be measuring people up for their coffins at the merest sniffle…

I’m asking St. Francis’ intercession on this one and if you too could spare a prayer to ask his intercession for Bella, I’d very much appreciate it. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Unhinged and anxious

  1. If you had a man around the house, your house would not be stuck together with spit and wonky nails. It would be stuck together with duct tape. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Duct_tape in case duct tape is a purely American experience.

    Just said a prayer for Bella.

  2. Saint Francis, please pray that lump will be nothing. I had a dog with a lump under the skin like that and it turned out to be nothing– a cyst thing or something. And I think if it moves around, that’s good. She’s probably fine. I hope you can get her in though, so you don’t have to worry.

  3. TO says:

    Just like what Rosemary said – one of those moveable cysts showed up on my cat’s hindleg a while ago. We took her to the vet and it turned out to be a reaction to the needles she had had at her annual checkup. It went away but it took almost 6 mos to do so.

    I hope that Bella’s okay. Keep us posted.

  4. ukok says:

    Update:

    Took Bella to Vet. Vet is concerned that the lump is near her breast tissue and so I’m taking her back on Monday morning and then she will stay in and have an operation to remove the lump. The lump will then be sent off and for an extra £40 it will be examined. There’s no way I could afford the surgery or the test on the lump and so I am very fortunate to have very caring and generous parents who love Bella too and are prepared to help us out financially on this occassion.

    I will continue to update you as an when we know more, thanks for your support folks!

  5. Antonia says:

    The lump may well just be a cyst or a lipoma.

    Does it feel nice and smooth? If it’s also easily mobile then it’s probably not cancer. Cancer invades and is usually hard and immobile

    Hope she is okay!

    xxx

  6. Antonia says:

    ps- I think you did a brilliant job with the door!
    and the duct tape comment above is very true…!

  7. Pingback: Ho ….Ho ….Choo! « … Ukok’s Place …

Leave a Reply

