Happy 43rd Wedding Anniversary!

ma-n-pa-2007.jpg

Mum’s Birthday in Wales 6th August 2007

Today my parents celebrate their 43rd Wedding Anniversary. At almost 40 years of age myself, and unmarried, I’ll never experience being married to someone for such an incredibly long time, but I do content myself in the knowledge that if it be the Lord’s will that I marry, that it will be the quality of the relationship that matters most, and not the amount of time we would spend together. But y’know, it just has to be said that if I can ever experience anything like the love that my parents have had for one another all these years, then how could I consider myself anything other than most greatly blessed.

These two, well you just have to know them and be around them to realise how much they compliment one another, I believe they really were made for one another and destined to be together from the moment God bought them into being. And just as God destined them for one another, He knew that they were the best parents for me….I suspect He knew that no-one else would be prepared to put up with me!

I think it’s true to say that I haven’t always appreciated my parents or respected them and that it is only as I have had children of my own that I came to more fully comprehend the sacrifices that they had made for me, the depth of love and forgiveness they have poured out on me, the love and nurturing they have given me.

I know that the gift of faith comes from God and not from me, but I am happy to know that God used me to reach out to my parents, and it’s such a delight to me that  since Mum and Dad’s conversion to Catholicism, we can now all share a pew at Mass and that we can now talk freely about faith matters with one another. I know that this has been a particular blessing to Mum and Dad as a couple as well as individually, as for many, many years, they could not hold a conversation with one another about God without it escalating into an emotional battle of wills, Mum battling for the existance of God and Dad seeking to disprove her! Well, thanks be to God those days are gone and I pray that the Lord will continue to bless my parents as they journey on in faith, together.

Happy Anniversary Mum and Dad, and may there be many more joy filled years to come!

I Love you both,

Deb’s X

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Happy 43rd Wedding Anniversary!

  1. O says:

    Congrats to your Mum and Dad and God bless them as they experience a new depth in their faith and with you, their much loved daughter.

  2. mimima says:

    Happy Anniversary to your parents, and Many Years! They look so in love, and you look like your mom.

  3. Joe says:

    Deb,

    Congratulations to your parents! My parents also made it till death parted them (about 60 years), and now they are both gone. Marriage is a wonderful sacrament, and the backbone of civilization. It is not always an easy walk, but what is? I applaud your parents for finding God’s love for one another within themselves. A good job and a great example. It is right to honor them and their commitment.

    I don’t know, but I guess that the bad boy who whacked your son across the eye has no such example of love in his life. The 3 day suspension is unlikely to cure what is ailing him, too. He will likely be in a prison gang someday, unless God intervenes. For the boys sake, I hope so.

  4. Esther says:

    Happy anniversary to your dear mom and dad Deb. They are a lovely couple who raised a very lovely daughter! May God bless you all abundantly.
    Nice to see you blogging again. I have sure missed you.

  5. Gabrielle says:

    Congratulations to your parents, Deb. A beautiful post by a loving daughter!

  6. ukok says:

    Bless your kind hearts. Mum and Dad have asked me to pass on their thanks to everyone who was so kind to leave comments here and for wishing them a happy anniversary.

    You made their happy day even happier, thanks for that!

    God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

