Bubblegum for the brain

Am I the only one who views the Spice Girls return with scathing scepticism?

I think not.

What is it with all these old groups attempting to make a come back all of a sudden? I don’t mind talented bands once more jumping into the pop or rock foray, but when it comes to talentless acts who only winged it through the charts on the pester power of tweenyboppers the first time around, who are they trying to fool on their rancid return?

I’m all for a bit of nostalgia,really, but not when the public is being ripped off. I remember taking Primadonna to the Spice Girls movie, ‘Spice World’ when she was a tweeny (pre-teen) and I bore the agony (do I get less time in purgatory now?) because it made my little one happy…but I don’t think even I knew back then what ‘zig-a-zig-ah’ really meant…. and if I had, I would never have sung it on the karaoke with my then 7 year old daughter!

The Spice Girls truly are bubblegum for the brain though aren’t they? None of them have made it as successful solo artists, and it would seem that they can only achieve any kind of credibility (if that isn’t too strong a word to use) as singers, when they’re all together stabbing one another in the back backstage.

Having said that, don’t be too harsh on me when I confess that I actually do know almost all the the words to ‘Stop’…and I can hum ‘Spice up your life’ almost all the way through from beginning to the end….but I do NOT NOT NOT NOT NOT like them, okay?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bubblegum for the brain

  1. AutumnRose says:

    On the other hand, Take That on tv on New Year’s Eve were totally fabulous! 😀

  2. ukok says:

    Absolutely, my sentiments exactly!!!

  3. Jennifer says:

    Bubblegum is right…although I do like finding about about Posh, especially seeing pics of her. How I wish I looked like her. But I guess God wanted me to be me…not some phony plastic made up fantasy woman. 😉

Leave a Reply

