Brother Lawrence’s Second Letter

An excerpt from Brother Lawrence’s Second Letter:

I consider myself the most wretched of men, full of sores and corruption, and who has committed all sorts of crimes against His King; touched with a sensible regret, I confess to Him all my wickedness, I ask His forgiveness, I abandon myself in His hands that He may do what He pleases with me. The King, full of mercy and goodness, very far from chastising me, embraces me with love, makes me eat at His table, serves me with His own hands, gives me the key of His treasures”

Oh my, don’t Brother Lawrence’s writings have such an eloquence about them? How often do we pilgrims think ourselves so wretched and how we are tempted to fall into the sin of despair….and yet, all the while it is not God who condemns us, but we that condemn ourselves! While we pile on the hot coals of self loathing, God desires only to gather us to Himself, to embrace us and forgive us (Reconciliation) to feed us (Eucharist) and to offer us the key to living our lives fully in Him, while we reside here on earth, and for evermore.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

