Sobernuggets anniversary of sobriety!

I sometimes think that we become so desensitised to addiction that it really doesn’t touch us like it should when we hear of this person or that person fighting a battle with crack cocaine or alcohol etc.

We need to remember that people are struggling daily with self abuse and that for them it’s just a fine line that separates them from the one too many hits or one too many drinks that will be the final hit, the final drink, the final nail in their coffin.

So many of us abuse ourselves through alcohol or drug addiction, food disorders, smoking, or any other means of self harm. It’s important, I feel, to not just have the attitude that addiction is rife and only happens to weak people. Addiction is rife but it doesn’t minimise the damage, and it doesn’t only happen to weak people. When an alcoholic takes their first drink too many, it’s not like a neon light flashes before them blaring warning signals.

If you ask me, we’re a needier people than we ever were and the ease with which ilegal substances have become available to us has contributed to the prevalence of drug abuse particularly. Drinking of course, well, you only have to put a bottle of the hard stuff in your supermarket trolley and no one would even blink an eye.

It’s all too easy to escape to a place, even fleetingly, where our senses are heightened and the weighty concerns of our every day lives disappear, for just a little while. But of course, the ‘high’ never lasts and one needs more and more drugs, drink etc, to get that ‘kick’….the self abuser in turn may even become the abuser of not only their own lives, but potentially of their families too.

Yes. It takes courage to quit an addiction. Particularly of drugs or drink.
Every now and then though, there’s a story of woe that turns into a story of celebration…that’s what happened for Scott of Sobernuggets who celebrates 12 years of sobriety this very day.

I would like to ask you to stop by his blog and congratulate him and ask God to continue to bless him and bestow upon him the necessary graces to continue his journey of sobriety! Well done Scott!

Useful links

Alcoholics Anonymous UK

AA Portal

Alcoholcs Anonymous Prayers

Serenity Prayer

Alcoholics Anonymous version
God grant me serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

Reinholt Niebuhr’s original version
God, give us grace to accept with serenity the things that cannot be changed,
Courage to change the things which should be changed,
And the wisdom to distinguish the one from the other.

Christian version
Almighty God, our Heavenly Father,
Give us serenity to accept what cannot be changed,
Courage to change what should be changed,
And wisdom to know the one from the other;
Through Jesus Christ, our Lord. Amen

As with all prayers, the exact wording is less important than what is in your heart when you say it.

After the prayer became popular, Niebuhr issued an expanded version.

Niebuhr’s expanded version:
God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change;
The courage to change the things I can,
And the wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardship as a pathway to peace,
Taking this sinful world as it is,
Not as I would have it;
Trusting that you will make all things right if I surrender to your will,
So that I may be reasonably happy in this life,
And supremely happy with you forever in the next. Amen

Irish version of Niebuhr’s expansion:
God take and receive my liberty, my memory, my understanding and will.
All that I am and have He has given me.

God grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change,
Courage to change the things I can,
And wisdom to know the difference.

Living one day at a time,
Enjoying one moment at a time,
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace,
Taking, as He did, this sinful world as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right if I surrender to his will,
That I may be reasonably happy in this life,
And supremely happy in the next. Amen

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sobernuggets anniversary of sobriety!

  1. Scott says:

    sniff…. geeze, how sweet is all that?? Thanks, what a wonderful post… Thanks for coming by my bloggage, thanks for the wonderful words, thanks for sharing yourself with us and thanks for being my friend 🙂

  2. ukok says:

    You’re welcome!

Leave a Reply

