Ignore me, I’m just having a (almost dyed) blonde moment….

I stared aghast at my reflection in the  mirror….a rash seemed to have emerged rather suddenly and was spread splatter-style across my face in little dark purple dots.  Having had scepticemia previously and also having had suspected meningitis, I’m pretty hot on and perhaps even alarmist, when it comes to rashes.

Within the time it took for me to say ‘Oh God – as in, a plea to the Lord, not a swear word –  I’ve got meningitis’ , I had mentally arranged that I would drop my kids off at their grandparents, not tell them anything untoward was happening, then make my way to A & E as quickly as possible.

And then I looked a bit closer, and a bit closer still….and I rubbed at one of the splatters of dark purple stained rash…and it seemed to disappear, so I dampened some cotton wool and wiped it over my face and what do you know….I remembered that earlier in the day I had eaten a big, juicy pomegranate that had sprayed my face as I had cut into it…thank goodness I didn’t go to A & E, can you imagine it…..

DOH!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Ignore me, I’m just having a (almost dyed) blonde moment….

  1. Valerie says:

    Well, I’m certainly relieved it was just the juice and not meningitis!!!!!

  2. Jennifer says:

    I would have had a great laugh if I was the nurse and you were the patient. 😉

    But on the serious side, I’m glad you were not ill.

  3. Alexa says:

    Too funny!

    Once, Rob bought some cheap brand of Q-tips (cotton swabs for the ears here in N.America) and one broke off IN his ear as he was cleaning them after a shower. He was so embarrassed as he had to go to the emergency room to have it removed – with the admonition from the nurse to not stick anything in his ear that is smaller than his elbow.

    What’s A and E? I am guessing it’s a medical clinic of some sort?

  4. Maggieclitheroe says:

    Accident and Emergency, Alexa. I spent 3 hours there last week with my son who thought he’d broken his toe – one hour to get to see the doctor, one minute for doctor to look at it and say it ought to be x-rayed, one hour wait for the x-ray, and another hour wait for the result (doctor again spends 2 minutes telling us everything is fine go and rest for a week). God bless our doctors and nurses, they have to cope with a lot, and people who are really unwell do have to be patient patients when they go to A and E. The whole thing made me count my blessings.

  5. Mimi says:

    Whew.

    I once took my oldest to the doctor where he was diagnosed with freckles. Bwahahahahahah.

  6. AutumnRose says:

    Thanks for making me laugh…and for your lovely comment on my blog yesterday. It’s comforting to have friends in the blogosphere, especially when you’ve had a horrid day irl!

    Thanks!
    🙂

  7. ukok says:

    Alexa, OUCH! That had to have been so dangerous for Rob to have the Q tip stuck in his ear (over here we call them cotton buds).

    A distant relative of mine stuck a pen in her ear to scratch her ear and she ended up in intensive care!

    It’s scary really to think about the near misses we have in our homes, and we tend think the danger is outside the home.

    Gosh!

    Maggieclitheroe,

    You sound like a UCM gal to me!

    Mimi,

    Now I know you must have been terribly anxious at the time, but that is absolutely hysterically funny!!!

    AR, you’re welcome chuck!

  8. antoniasworld says:

    haha! The doctors in A&E need something amusing to brighten their day!

  9. ukok says:

    I’m sure they do Antonia, I’m sure they do. Thank goodness for their dedication to their work. I’m just glad I’m not the one who gave them a chuckle that day!

    Sweetie, would you be so kind as to email me your blog info again. Stupid me I have your old blog subscribed in bloglines and I’ve only just realised why you aren’t putting up any new posts….because I have the wrong bloomin’ blog!

  10. really good one and thanks for it.

    http://www.indiamatrimony.com for indian matrimonials

Leave a Reply

