Rite of Election – St. Chad’s Cathedral

dad-baptism.jpg

It’s a special day for Dad today as he and the other adults from our parish waiting to recieve the Sacraments of Initiation this Easter, will travel to St. Chad’s in Birmingham this afternoon for the Rite of Election.

Sadly, my children and I are unable to join him as we are still unwell and as Dad has such chronic lung problems we didn’t think it fair to expose him to all of us sick people all afternoon! (not that we really feel up to being there anyway)

I’m extremely dissapointed, but I know it will be a wonderful occassion for Dad and quite emotional I expect!  Mum will be with him, who just 2 years ago was travelling there for her own participation in the Rite of Election ceremony.

Please do remember my Dad, Peter, in your prayers and all who will be taking part in the Rite of Election this day.

We’re all so proud of you Dad! Love you,

Deb’s X

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Rite of Election – St. Chad’s Cathedral

  1. Scott says:

    awww, prayers for dad indeed! Just last year I attended the Rite of Election as a Catechumen, anxiously awaiting my Baptism, Confirmation and first Holy Eucharist at Easter Vigil. It’s a beautiful experience, going through the various preparations in becoming a Catholic Christian.

    I’ll try to remember to have a thought for your dad this morning at Mass…

    I hope all you sickos get feeling better soon! lol

  2. Congratulations to your dad! I will keep him in prayers today at Mass.

  3. I will pray for him at Mass this morning!

  4. Tom says:

    Congratulations to your dad. And, yes, I will definitely pray for him.

    Tom

  5. ukok says:

    Thanks folks for all your prayers and well wishes for Dad and also for mine and my childrens health! Dad had a wonderful time (though I haven’t sen him yet, Mum phoned to tell me all about it and Fr. P emailed me from the cathedral and even emailed me images of Dad!) …. and I’m feeling much better too!

    God is good!

  6. Rita says:

    Great news, praise God! And it gives me renewed hope for my own parents…

  7. ukok says:

    Rita, I would gladly pray for your parents, may I ask their names? If not, God knows who they are so no probs!

  8. Alexa says:

    What a GREAT name too! “Peter”!

    Wonderful!

    Prayers throughout Lent and beyond!

  9. Mimi says:

    Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy!

    What a lovely photo.

  10. ukok says:

    Thanks Alexa and Mimi!

  11. A big Congrats to Dad! My heart is full of joy to see another middle aged person cross the Tiber!

  12. Hidden One says:

    Congratulations to your dad!

    (Hmmm… this weekend was popular for the Rite of Election – I went through mine on Saturday.)

  13. Suzanne says:

    So happy! So proud! 🙂
    me

  14. ukok says:

    Hidden One, congratulations!

    Suz, thank you so much for stoppng by!

  15. Suzanne says:

    Deb, I stop by ALOT…I just don’t comment much. I have some buddies that I just can’t let go of…you’re one of em…
    love you, dear and have a very special Valentine’s Day!
    Big big huge HUG! XXX000!!!! Your friend from US Indiana…across the big big pond.

  16. Antonia says:

    Ahh! My dad is converting this year also so he went to our local Rite of Election at our Cathedral! I am his sponsor!!
    I will be thinking of you & your dad this Easter Vigil!

  17. ukok says:

    Suz,

    Thank you for your continued support, encouragement and wisdom. I really miss that you don’t blog anymore, but I understand why that is.

    (((big hugs back to you my dear))))

    Antonia,

    I will be thinking of you and your Dad too! I don’t know why, but I thought that your Dad was Catholic already, perhaps because I thought I read somewhere that you are an italian family. All the very best to your Dad! You must be so happy, as I am about my own Dad 🙂

Leave a Reply

