Brother Lawrence’s Sixth Letter

An excerpt from Brother Lawrence’s Sixth Letter :

” We must serve God in a holy freedom, we must do our business faithfully; without trouble or disquiet, recalling our mind to God mildly, and with tranquility, as often as we find it wandering from Him”.

So often  I allow myself to become distanced from God. My heart is a bubbling cauldron of pride, jealousy, anger, resentment and selfishness. There is so little selflessness and genuine piety to be found therein that there is scarcely a sliver of my heart in which God can reside.

Yet, here in Brother Lawrence’s letter I read  that even here in the very quagmire of my blackened heart….so full of love of self and lacking in charity…. the Lord perseveres to calm this raging torrent  that unrelenting strives to separate me from my God.  If only I will co-operate with Him my heart can be a place of love, of charity, of hope, of selflesness, of meekness, of benevolence.

O, Lord. Heal me. Give me a heart of love.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Brother Lawrence’s Sixth Letter

  1. Amen. And I echo your prayer for myself. So well said.

  2. ukok says:

    Thank you Rosemary!

Leave a Reply

