I’m at a loss….

… in a good way!

I wouldn’t ordinarily write here about my weight loss journey, I’d save it for my ‘weight loss’ blog, but since my new healthy eating endeavour is inextricably linked with my lenten penance, I thought I would share with you the good news that last week I lost 6lbs and this week I lost 2lbs. I know you can do the maths but I just have to write this and say it out loud….I’ve lost over half a stone in weight in 14 days and am delighted that I have managed to introduce a more ordered approach to eating into my lifestyle. It hasn’t been a walk in the park, but then I wouldn’t have chosen this particular Lenten penance if it was going to be easy. I’ve done that before, given up the cushy stuff I didn’t much like anyway….I suppose because at the time I didn’t believe that I would be strong enough to handle giving up the ‘tough stuff’. Of course, the truth is, I can’t handle the tough stuff, but God can. I think perhaps it means that now I trust in the Lord more than I did…

Anyway, less about me, how are you all getting on with you choice of Lenten penance?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I’m at a loss….

  1. Mimi says:

    Congratulations! I know how good it feels!

  2. Alexa says:

    I love that! “…less about me….” You’re funny and you don’t even know it!

    Less about you….

    LOLOL!

    congratulations Deb! You inspire me –

  3. Moni says:

    That is wonderful, well done!!
    My ‘penance’ is daily readings and discussions, going very well so far and an enrichment rather than a ‘loss’.

  4. Owen says:

    I have drawn each day but two, one of which I was doing something art related. I have journaled in my Lenten gratitude journal each day but one. I just got several canvases which I will be painting for a prayer corner I am making in our bedroom (I had a friend make me an old fashioned kneeler and the painting will be on the walls near it).

    Good on you per your eating victories.

    P.S. Thank you for the wonderful card which arrived today, well ahead of Easter.

  5. Valerie says:

    Yay! Congratulations!!!

  6. ukok says:

    Mimi,

    Thanks so much, it was so good to see your comment here because weight loss, especially for those who suffer with a complusion to eat and are living a life in an obese body, is really something to rejoice in!

    Alexa,

    I love that you even picked up on that….that is how dense I am see…

    (((hugs)))

    Moni,

    I’m delighted that so far your daily readings and discussions are going well. Enrichment rather than loss, I like that! ‘Loss’ is such a negative word, and losing weight and coming to grips with overeating is such a positive thing!

    Valerie,

    (((hugs to you sis)

    Owen,

    I’m so glad that you are drawing fairly regularly, if you are happy/content/unperturbed to be doing so. I was thinking about the need to endeavour to keep a gratitude journal, I may yet do this online, since I seem happier with this medium than pen and ink! You on the other hand are excellent in both fields, pen and ink and blogging!

    I would absolutely love a kneeler. It’s one of those things that I have always wanted but have never been able to afford. I’m so glad that you had your friend make you one, will you take a picture when your prayer corner is set up, or would that be an invasion of your private space….I know people feel differently about such things. I’m big into voyeurism aren’t I ? I’m big in everything! (But I’m diminishing slowly)

    So glad you got the card okay.

  7. Elena says:

    I was just about to blow off my workout, and then I read this!

    Good job Deb!

  8. ukok says:

    Elena, I am ashamed to say this, but about the time you were posting your comment I was raiding the chocolate Easter egg stash …..I only ate half of one of the Easter eggs though and when I realised how stupid I was being to throw away my hard effort, I threw the other hal of it in the bin.

    I feel like such a failure 😦

    But I’m not going to change the habits of a lifetime in just a few short weeks I guess…

Leave a Reply

