How to knock a guy out ….

I had to smile when I read in the comments box of my spouse journal post, a comment that Maggie Clitheroe had left (no not the actual Saint, but a saint in the making I don’t doubt). Well if ever there was a bizarre means of getting a guy, this has to rank somewhere near the top…and there I was thinking St. Joseph was all meek and mild!

For your amusement and encouragement:

“Have you heard the one about a girl who kept praying to St Joseph for a spouse? She prayed for many years to St. Joseph, then at last she got fed up with waiting so long, so she picked up the statue she had in her upstairs room, and chucked it out the window. A young man was passing by, and it fell on him. He gathered it up, and knocked on the door to return it to the owner. From thence a relationship blossomed, and they soon got married!

You could try throwing a statue or two around, must beat dating!
(This tale was related to me as a true story, anyone know if it is?)

I waited a long time for my husband, and when he first came along I didn’t look twice at him – he was 7 yrs younger than me – (I was busy chasing someone who eventually went off to be a priest, at the time – that was the story of my life then). Still, he was very persistent, and God let us know that we were meant to marry in so many ways, that after going out together for about 4 months we got engaged for 6 weeks, and got married on 25th March – Lady Day, and that’s coming up for 13 years ago.
If the Lord wants it to happen, I’m sure he’ll guide the right chap to you!
God Bless. “

I love love stories!

Feel free to share your love story in the comments box!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to How to knock a guy out ….

  1. Suzanne says:

    Make sure its a very soft statue, Deb! ;0!!! Suz

  2. Lori says:

    You have a very nice blog! I really
    enjoyed reading it.

    Take Care!

  3. Jenny says:

    Okay, I have quite the interesting love story to share. 🙂 When I was young – very young – I gave my heart to the Lord and told him that if He wanted me to marry He would have to bring the guy to me, because I refused to date like all my friends were. There was no way I was going to have my heart broken like them. Well, low and behold, one day a young man who was the leader of a youth revival team (we were Southern Baptist then – long journey from there to the Catholic Church, but we took it together) was dropped off at our house. (He had recently “surrendered his heart” in the area of relationships as well.) The team members were sent to different families for the week they were going to be in town, and he ended up in my house. I didn’t see a lot of him that week because he was really busy with the youth – and even though I was young, I wasn’t allowed to be part of the group because I was already finished with high school (I graduated early). Anyway, by the end of the week we knew that we wanted to get to know each other better so after he left he wrote me (yes, real mail – 🙂 this was before email – I have all his letters tied up with a ribbon in a special box). We mailed letters, cookies, audio cassette tapes so we could hear each other’s voices, and then he invited me to go visit his family. So, I flew to the other side of the country to meet his family, and a few months later he flew back out to see us all again, and asked me to marry him on New Year’s Eve. 🙂 (When he went home we began racking up a huge phone bill.) 🙂 A year to the day we met at 2:00 in the afternoon (the same time he was dropped off on my doorstep) we were married — and that was 12 years ago this coming June. 🙂 During the year we were getting to know each other – we were actually only physically in the same state for about 4 weeks total – but we knew God wanted us together, and we knew it from that first week – even if it seemed crazy. 🙂

    Just thought I’d share since you mentioned it! 🙂

    ~Jenny

  4. BJ Buracker says:

    Jenny, great story! Thanks for sharing that. I think the good, ole Baptist, “Good is good all the time, and all the time, God is good!” is well deserved here. 🙂

    BJ
    Stupid Scholar

  5. ukok says:

    Suz,

    That was funny! :-

    Lori,

    you have a nice blog too!

    Jenny,

    What a beautiful love story that clearly shows that God honoured your commitment in giving your heart to him! How romantic. Many congratulations to you on your upcoming wedding anniversary.

    Thanks so much for sharing

    God Bless!

    BJ,

    I concur!

  6. Antonia says:

    I prayed to St. Raphael the Arcangel for many months for ‘my future husband’s wellbeing’.
    St. Raphael is the patron Saint of good encounters.

    God Bless
    xxxx

  7. Ukok says:

    Antonia, I have asked St. Raphael’s interecession too 🙂

  8. Maggieclitheroe says:

    I suppose if you throw a few statues out – St Joseph, Raphael, Jude, etc one of them’s bound to hit someone!! hee hee!
    Isn’t that wee fella singing the Tantum Ergo gorgeous. Ah, if only they stayed like that for ever!!!!!!

  9. ukok says:

    Ha! Ha!

    Oh isn’t the little one absolutely adorable!

Leave a Reply

