I could never live in San Francisco

My children have gone to school thinking that they have even more reason to believe that I am mentally disturbed. Why? Well at a little after 1am, I jumped out of bed like a thing posessed and started screaming.

“my babies, where are my babies”

Now, it has to be said that I did this on a milder scale a few weeks ago and it was without explanation at that time, but THIS time, there is a reason!

I have just discovered that we had an earthquake right underneath where I live and that it was so close to the surface of the earth that it woke many in the city in the wee small hours and started a panic! Now this particular report claims the epicentre was beneath Stoke-on-Trent, but later reports have stated that the epicentre was in Lincoln and that rather than our comparitively paltry 2.6, they had 5.2 on the richter scale.

So when my children come home I can tell them that what likely happened is that I was sleeping and was woken quite suddenly by the house shaking and thought something dreadful was happening and that we were all about to die and that’s why I looked like a fruit loop when I ran crazed into my kids bedroom nursing a semi-cardiac and screaming at the top of my voice,

“Where are my BABIES!!!!”

I’m sure my kid’s will be greatly relieved to know that the onset of muddle age dementure is not progressing quite so rapidly as they had concluded at the breakfast table this morning.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I could never live in San Francisco

  1. Mimi says:

    I’m glad you are ok! I saw that on the news.

  2. JustMe says:

    How frightening. Indeed, that’s the first reaction to anything that threatens –where are the children?? I’m glad you’re all ok, too.

  3. mum6kids says:

    I woke up too-no one else noticed! Last time it was stronger near us.
    Some poor lad had a chimney fall in his lap.

  4. Moni says:

    Just heard it on the news, glad you are okay!!!

  5. ukok says:

    Thanks all! God Bless you for your kind thoughts!

    Mum6Kids,

    I think it’s like Just Me said, it’s a mother thing! We hear our baby’s cry before they cry! We sense threat before it happens in some cases too!

    My kids would have slept through it all but they said I was a nutcase running around waking them up and screaming “where are my babies!”

    Glad you and yours are okay.

    Not everyone was as fortunate as we were. This could have been so much worse than it was.

    Thanks be to God that it wasn’t worse!

  6. Cathy Keller says:

    Lived near San Francisco and Monterey, CA. Lived on a military base and could not tell the earth quake from the mortar rounds. I lived in Denver when it had earthquakes, and we even had one here in Indiana a few years back. Guess it makes no difference where you live. They will happen. Hope you are well!!!

  7. Valerie says:

    I was wondering if that was anywhere near you!

    We had an earthquake here in Ohio when we first moved here about 25 years ago. My husband was in the laundry room working on the electrical power box, and I was actually in the bathroom (too much information, I know). When the rumbling started, I honestly thought he had done something horribly wrong and had electrocuted himself – so I came running out the bathroom screaming. Of course, he hadn’t felt or heard a thing – and the look on his face probably mirrored the way your kids looked at you this morning!

Leave a Reply

