Happy Mothers Day Mum!

dsc_1121.jpg
Pictured above are my lovely Mum and beautiful daughter outside the entrance to Colwich Abbey in 2007

A Mother’s Love

There are times when only a Mother’s love
Can understand our tears,
Can soothe our disappoints
And calm all of our fears.

There are times when only a Mother’s love
Can share the joy we feel
When something we’ve dreamed about
Quite suddenly is real.

There are times when only a Mother’s faith
Can help us on life’s way
And inspire in us the confidence
We need from day to day.

For a Mother’s heart and a Mother’s faith
And a Mother’s steadfast love
Were fashioned by the Angels
And sent from God above…

– Author Unknown.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Happy Mothers Day Mum!

  1. JustMe says:

    A very Happy Mother’s Day to you, Deb
    🙂 (and to your mom..and to any readers in the UK)

  2. Esther says:

    Happy Mother’s Day Deb, your dear mom and like Just Me said, to all the moms in the UK.
    God bless,

  3. Valerie says:

    Happy Mother’s day to you and your mum! I loved the poem you posted, too. I hope you have a wonderful day today, and that you are pampered by your family! God bless you!

  4. Cathy Keller says:

    I understand Mothering Day has a wonderful tradition and history. Unlike Mother’s Day in the US, you all have a church connection as well. I only know this as my daughter, Laura, told me she had sent her cards to friends in England this week and the 4th Sunday of Lent has been designated so for some time. (She, Roy, Kellie and Neil lived in Mundesley for a a year in 2205-2006 while he was there with his company). God bless you all and have a GRAND Day with your mother!!

  5. Rosemary says:

    Happy Mothers Day, Deb. What a lovely picture. I love the abbey as backdrop. Thanks for sharing.

  6. Maggieclitheroe says:

    Happy Mothering Sunday to you and your mum! I’ve just posted on Mother’s Day too!
    God bless!

  7. mum6kids says:

    Happy Mother’s Day to you.
    I enjoyed chocolate today!

  8. AutumnRose says:

    Hope you had a lovely Mother’s Day, Ukok 🙂 xx

  9. Mimi says:

    Gorgeous photo! Happy Mothering Day to both you and your dear mother, I thought of you this morning when I noted the calendar.

  10. ukok says:

    Bless you all for your kindness. I had a lovely day. I’ve had a hellish migraine to contend with but it’s still been salvageable!

    My daughter made me a fruit salad and cup of tea for breakfast and it was bought to me in bed. My son and daughter bought me a box set of Marilyn Monroe DVD’s ans my daughter, who claims to hate crafting, made me a lovely little flip card book of famous quotes aboiut mothers…she also made me a beautiful decoupaged card and my son had bought me a lovely card.

    We went to Mass and thn I dashed home to get the Sunday lunch in the oven as Mum and Dad were coming over for lunch.

    I had a wonderful day and I hope all who celebrated today, did too!

    Thanks and God Bless!

  11. Suzanne says:

    Deb, Happy Mothering Day and what a lovely
    picture of your Mother and your precious daughter! The poem is so inspirational too!

  12. I’m glad you had a wonderful Mother’s Day with your family! Hope you are feeling better. Thank you for sharing the beautiful poem and photo of your mom and daughter.

  13. Tom says:

    Happy Mother’s day to you, and the mom! For us in the U.S. is not until May but that doesn’t matter. ALWAYS celebrate your mum (as you Brits say) everyday of the year:0)

    God Bless you both!!
    Tom

  14. Mary says:

    Deb,

    Hi, my name is Mary and I just read your post on Colwich Blog about your vocation, being a single mom and having kids. I am in the same boat as you just about. I am 48, my kids are 22 and 25 and I was called when they were 10 and 7! But God let me know it would be awhile before I could go and He has been working on me and preparing me to enter as His spouse in a major way all these years.

    I have been discerning with Colwich, Wolverhampton Carmek, Sheffield Carmel, some Carmels and a Visitation Order here in the states – as I am from Texas. I am the “Mary” on the Colwich blog who often asks lots of questions! I have been emailing Sr. Anne of Colwich and would love to visit them and the Sheffield Carmel maybe in May.

    If you ever want to talk/email, my email address jmjtcarmelite@gmail.com. I already have 2 other friends discerning vocations and one is a Deb and the other is a Deborah! God calls lots of Debs! But if you want to talk to someone who’s gone thru probably alot like you, please write. Though I don’t have a special needs child, I am a mom, with a vocation and a nurse and maybe can be a listening ear or maybe have some suggestions or advice for you, you never know!

    I didn’t want to email you on the Colwich blog and turn into something it is not, so I clicked on the “UKOK” on your post and came to your blog.

    God bless,

    Mary Lombardi

  15. ukok says:

    Mary, thanks so much for your comment. It would be so good to be in touch with someone else who feels similarly. I have no idea of the plans God has for my life….whether I will marry (though that seems unlikely) or whether the spouse the Lord is really calling me to, is himself.

    It’s certainly something I look forward to discussing with you further. Thanks again for passing by my blog. If you like you can email me too at dashere4u (@) yahoo.co.uk.

    God Bless you!

Leave a Reply

