Mamma Meo

The most unexpected thing happened yesterday morning (Thursday).  My son’s asthma had been ‘off’ for a few days and I had had to keep him off school.  I was concerned that he seemed to have developed an infection  (which he has – he’s now on antibiotics) so I made an emergency appointment and took him to the doctors.  We had to go to a surgery we don’t usually attend, because the surgeries in the area have merged and so we have to take appointments wherever we can get them.

Fastforward. I went to the reception desk to let them know we had arrived and when I started to move away from the desk to find a seat, someone called my name.  At first it didn’t register who was calling me, a man in his forties was sitting on the end of a long seat and looking right at me. It didn’t click for about two or three seconds and then I said ‘ Ohhhhh Hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii!’

It was my ex brother in law who I haven’t seen in about 9 years or so.  He was  ,and I presume still is, the very nicest of the four brothers, one of whom I had married (now annulled).

Now bear in mind, I left his brother because he was violent and I had absolutely no idea how he would think of me after hearing only his brothers version of why I left, for the last 9 years.

I then looked to his left and who was sitting next to him but his mother! My ex- mother in law!

Now no offence to any italian readers or their mothers, but ours was a stereotypical relationship…italian mother in law and english woman in a ridiculous power struggle over the same man…her son, my husband…yes, in truth…it took me a year to tolerate her,  another two to like her and to get her to like me, and the other three remaining years of the marriage I completely adored her!   It was so hard to leave her son without saying goodbye to her.

Without thinking, I did what came naturally to me, not knowing if I would be rebuked, I smiled at them both and then I walked over to my ex mother in law and kissed her, and she moved along the seat to make room for me and my son.

As we both waited for our appointments, she took my hand in hers and she told me that I was the daughter she never had, that she loved me, that just because I had divorced her son, didn’t mean we couldn’t be friends…it was so good for me to hear her say that.  She was teary and quite overwhelmed I think at seeing me after so many years.

We used to have such a laugh together, she has an exellent sense of humour…she  still has…

As we sat together , we talked of many things.  She asked,

‘Why you no come up see me?’

I said, ‘Antonietta, getting divorced from your son made things a little bit difficult, (we all laughed at that)…and anyway, I wasn’t sure I would be welcome’

‘But me and you, we go so well together’, she said.

‘Yeah, I know” I said, ‘I missed you more than I missed your son after I left him!”

We laughed.  As much as we could. Our discourse certainly provided some entertainment for the many sick patients waiting in the surgery alongside us!

I promised I’d go see her soon, and you know what?  As bizarre as it might be, I do believe I will.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Mamma Meo

  1. John says:

    believe it or not I don’t think that’s bizarre at all! I think that’s wonderful! ‘But me and you, we go so well together’ – THAT is truly a compliment that, given the background, simply can’t be beat.

  2. JustMe says:

    Sounds a Providential meeting, but why, I wonder.. Is she one of your kids’ grandmothers?

  3. That’s great. I think it will be a good thing for both of you–and for your son.
    Hope he’s feeling better now that he has some antibiotics to do the job.

  4. Mimi says:

    I agree with the “it’ll be wonderful” comments. And, God works in mysterious ways.

    On another note, I hope your son is feeling better. prayers.

  5. Valerie says:

    What a neat story! I do hope you are able to visit her again.

  6. ukok says:

    Thanks friends! I have a good feeling about this, I do have my concerns however about her son being a piece of the picture. He is at his mothers most days and although we are civil, I do not want to have any more to do with him in the future than I do now.

    I have even spoken to our son so that he knows not to have any ideas about the two of us *seeing* one another, just because I may visit his grandma.

    (JustME: I meant to leave this on another com box, but can’t remember where…you asked, I think, about this – my daughter was born out of love of a previous relationship in which her Daddy died, when she was a little baby) I met my now-ex- husband a few years after that and alas, it was a sorry match.

  7. TO says:

    What a beautiful chance encounter! Perhaps you could arrange to meet her on neutral territory?

  8. ukok says:

    TO, I don’t know if all older generaton italian mammas are the same, but the lady won’t budge from her house unless she’s ill usually. She’s kinda like ‘the Don’. y’know, you go visit her, she don’t come to you!

Leave a Reply

