Brother Lawrence’s Eighth Letter

” When the mind, for want of being sufficiently reduced by recollection at our first engaging in devotion, has contracted certain bad habits of wandering and dissipation, they are difficult to overcome, and commonly draw us, even against our wills, to the things of the earth. I believe the remedy for this is to confess our faults and to humble ourselves before God.”

I concur with Brother Lawrence (I’m sure he’s unimpressed) when he writes that we have a tendency to become ever more distracted when we give ourselves the freedom to focus on that which distracts us. The further we stray, the more challenging it becomes to pull ourselves back to God, to put aside self recrimination, or to keep from wilfully entertaining distraction in favour of placing ourselves in His Presence once more.

“I do not advise you to use multiplicity of words in prayer; many words and long discourses being often the occasions of wandering. Hold yourself in prayer before God, like a dumb or paralytic beggar at a rich man’s gate. Let it be your business to keep your mind in the presence of the Lord. If it sometimes wanders and withdraws itself from Him, do not much disquiet yourself for that: trouble and disquiet serve rather to distract the mind than to re-collect it: the will must bring it back in tranquility. If you persevere in this manner, God will have pity on you”

How many times have I tried to hoodwink God with mock piety, babbling on in prayer like a baby before it’s doting parent, who listens intently all the while knowing that not one dicernable word is spoken!

As one who is prone to lengthy posts and just as lengthy responses outside the realm of cyberspace, it is a novel concept to grasp, that if 10 words can adequately express a thought, then the other 100 may just possibly be superflous. Oh yes, I need the Lord to take pity on me, but I also need to guard myself against my wordy, prideful, too highly considered, ‘prayerful’ outpourings. With God, words aren’t even necessary and yet time and again, I have deliberated over which words to use to express a thought or feeling, all the while ignoring the fact that God knows everything anyway and that He isn’t at all impressed with my multiplicity of words, though my attempts at prayerful grandeur may indeed cause Him some amusement!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Brother Lawrence’s Eighth Letter

  1. Maryellen says:

    Thanks, Deb
    I like Brother Lawrence so much. Your post today was perfect for this very distractable mind of mine. Loved your comments on his writing.

    God bless you
    Maryellen at Grandma’s Musings

  2. Tom says:

    I’m guilty of the same thing!

    I try and remember this:

    “A strong and heavy wind was rending the mountains and crushing rocks before the LORD, but the LORD was not in the wind. After the wind there was an earthquake, but the LORD was not in the earthquake. After the earthquake there was fire, but the LORD was not in the fire. After the fire there was a tiny whispering sound. When he heard this, Elijah hid his face in his cloak and went and stood at the entrance of the cave.” – 1 Kings 19 11-13

  3. ukok says:

    Maryellen,

    I’m pleased that you are enjoying my comments on Brother Lawrence’s writing, I know that they are stand-alone quotes really, but I just wanted to share how they impact my own life 🙂

    Thanks for your encouragement!

    Tom,

    YES! That is how it should be. God, who hears the unspoken word, the quietest of our innermost voice, the silence within, that speaks yet. Thanks for sharing the passage of Scripture, I shall think on that the next time I stumble over my multiplicity of words! (probably tonight! LOL)

    🙂

Leave a Reply

