I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it!

laptop-pic.jpg

It’s not my 40th birthday for another 10 weeks or so but I got an early birthday present today. A brand spanking new laptop! Mum and Dad said I should have an extra special gift for my fortieth, and they certainly weren’t joking. Thank goodness you couldn’t see me excitedly dancing around the lounge after the postman had delivered it to my door this afternoon (and that in itself is quite an accomplishment – both the Royal Mail delivery AND my dancing!). I’ve spent most of the evening connecting it to the internet and uploading Microsoft Office and Publisher etc. I love the ease of use that can be had with a laptop and I’ll be glad to kiss my crunchy desktop computer goodbye – though I’m keeping it as a backup, I’m sure it won’t be getting much use from now on and trust me, with how slow it is, that’s a good thing.

The great thing is that I didn’t see this laptop in real time, just a pic of it online, but if I could have chosen a laptop for myself, I would have chosen this very one. It’s so well suited to me, I just love it!

Thanks Mum and Dad! You’re the best!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to I’m so excited, and I just can’t hide it!

  1. Adrienne says:

    Would your Mum and Dad like to have another daughter?? So happy for you and your wonderful gift.

  2. Easter A. says:

    Yayyyyy!!!! Hey, me too, I dance when I am happy, even in front of other people…. he he he… at home when I do that, the kids just laugh, but outside of the home, they get pretty quiet (ha ha ha… I guess it’s that bad! Ha ha ha…)

    Debbie, I am sooooo happy for you!!! Congratulations! 🙂

  3. Mimi says:

    Whohooooooo! congratulations and Happy Birthday (early)

  4. lovely

    sorry I’ve been incommunicado (i.e. busy!)

    I ran across this http://www.peterrussell.com/Odds/WorldClock.php today and the figure on the bottom left is really really scary!

  5. barbszy says:

    What? No pictures of dancing?
    Happy birthday “in advance” and enjoy your wonderful gift!

  6. Rachel says:

    Happy early Birthday to you! My birthday is coming up in about 6 ish weeks. April 29. I will be 42 UGH! I, too, got a cool laptop for my 40th. It has be requisitioned by my husband, because he had to turn in his when he left his old job, so I now have an iMac (my brother works for Apple so we were bound to end up with one eventually). Which, after being a PC girl for a long time, took some getting used to…but darn, it *is* quite cool! I do miss carrying around my laptop to where ever I wanted to be. Have Fun!!!

    Peace,

    P.S. This is very naughty of me, but we had very, very mean neighbors once, and whenever their pool filled with mud because of too much rain (and a badly landscaped yard) I would dance all over my house. I called it the ‘neighbors being smite-ed dance!” I know, very bad form for a Catholic girl. But they did mean things.

  7. John says:

    How nice! Kudos to Mom and Dad and happy birthday to you while we’re talking about it!

  8. ukok says:

    Adrienne, I would love to have had a sister!

    I think I kinda spoilt it for your adoption though cos I was a real brat girl as a kid, don’t know if they could handle anymore girls!

    Mimi and Barb,

    thanks! (Barb believe me, yu wouldn’t want to see this big ole girl wobbling aorund the kitchen!)

    Lorna,

    those statistics are hair raising, thank you for bringing that site to my attention. You have been on my mind and I have been praying for you!

    Rachel,

    I can understand your ‘rain dance ‘ of happiness…mean neighbours can be a real burden!

    All the best on your upcoming birthday too!

    John,

    I have the BEST parents! (but then I guess most of us think that about our own folks!)

  9. Gabrielle says:

    That’s a great gift, Deb. I’m very happy to have my laptop. I wander from room to room with it, searching for silence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

