A glum start to Holy Week.

Dissapointed. That’s how I’m feeling. We didn’t get to Mass this morning because my daughter was feeling ill and I didn’t want to leave her on her own for the couple of hours I would be away from the house, if I went. As the day went on she was feeling a bit better and so my son and I prepared to go to Palm Sunday Mass at a parish that has evening Mass. I double checked online that there was an evening Mass, I even tried phoning, but there was no answer. So we parked up outside the Church only to discover that the gates were locked. A few minutes later a man came and looked in my car window and asked if there was a Mass. ….then another man came and offered to go to the presbytery to find out if there was a Mass. No one answered at the presbytery. There were only 5 of us in the end, so obviously the rest of the regular congregation members were aware that there was no evening Mass this week. I’m sad to say that I was unable to begin Holy Week as I had hoped. Sickness really wears my family down. I couldn’t attend the Ash Wednesday Mass due to the sickness of my children. I know my place is with the children when they are ill, and I know that I can make an act of spiritual communion, but I need Jesus! D’you ever just feel like that? I do. Everyday. I really need His sustainance right now and I could cry not to have been able to receive communion today.

*posted after midnight so I’m going to bed and hope to wake up feeling les grumpy!*

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A glum start to Holy Week.

  1. Mimi says:

    Oh hugs, I know how difficult missing church on Palm Sunday is. Hugs and love.

    May it be a blessed Holy Week, and I hope your daughter feels better.

  2. 😦

    you did the right thing staying at home – and Jesus will compensate you and meet you where you are (not where you wanted to be)

    weird that they wouldn’t say there’s no evening mass / answer the phone – send up a prayer for the others who were disappointed too – and the priest who was probably ministering elsewhere.

    I missed church yesterday too – headache and fever. Not a good start but I’m ok today.

  3. Moni says:

    Sorry to read you were grumpy.
    Just realise one thing, you stayed home to be the best mother you could be. You have your priorities right, something you should be proud of.
    I have not been able to go very often recently either due to my own health challenges. I miss it, of course. But my main job right now is to get well, and that includes a lot of rest. There are several brochures, books and probably websites too with inspirational texts and prayers for each special season and each ordinary day. Just pray at home. And yes, you will miss community, and yes, you will not get the sacrament of communion. But in my opinion nothing is more important than giving your daughter the confidence that you will be there for her when she needs you.
    Hope she will feel better soon and that you will feel better soon too!!!

  4. mum6kids says:

    I’m sorry you missed Mass. I know all too well the hole left when having to miss Mass because of sick kids. I hope your daughter will be feeling better soon and I hope you’ll be able to take part in the Triduum to make up for it a little.
    God bless.

  5. Suzanne says:

    Sorry you had to miss Mass. Don’t you know how pleased our Lord was though…that you felt this way? How many do not
    get it…do not miss it…take it all so for granted. We all have have from time to time, but in answer to your question, Deb,
    yes, I too feel this way so often.

    You did do a good thing…your children may need you and the Lord will give a spiritual Holy Communion anytime..yes,
    I’m sure you know that already.

    I’m keeping you and Alexa in prayers here. Many have not been well. Hmm…makes me think how powerful in a way this is to be down during Lent. Oh, will we appreciate Easter more?
    God be with you, dear…Suzanne

Leave a Reply

