Hola!

The children and yours truly are home from Wales a day early (and more than a few quid short) and we’re all ready for a good nights sleep in our own (warm) beds. The washing machine and dryer have been clanking continuously all afternoon as we unpacked, ate and slumped back into the relatively pleasing familiarity of our home lives (loosley translated that means we are now free to quarrel, cry, throw a fit and go online! Hoorah!). I’m shattered now, but I couldn’t go to bed without sharing the photograph below.

family-at-easter-vigil-1.jpg
(apologies for poor photo quality – image taken by a friend on spur of the moment on Holy Saturday)

Yes, Dad has now been bought into full communion with the Catholic Church! Thank you so much for your kind words and for your prayers, Dad’s chuffed to bits that you have all been so supportive of him during the past 18 months of his journey to Rome. It’s really pretty wonderful that we can all receive communion when we go to Mass now.

Dad chose St. Thomas the Apostle (doubting Thomas), as his Patron Saint (or should I say St. Thomas chose Dad ?). In part I think that’s because all my life growing up my mother called him a doubting Thomas for denying the existance of God and Dad claiming that Jesus would have to stand before him and show him his wounds, before he’d believe.

I was Dad’s Confirmation sponsor, it was, as you’d expect, a very emotional and touching moment in Dad’s journey of Faith. A week later, this past Saturday evening we went to our ‘regular’ Catholic parish in Wales and what was the Gospel about? Doubting Thomas! (but of course, you remembered that I’m sure).

Well, I think that’s enough for now. … except to say that I hope that you all had a much blessed Easter – you, my blog buddies were all in my Easter prayers.

More tomorrow, if you can bear it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Hola!

  1. Mimi says:

    Whohoooooooo! Thanks be to God!

    Lovely photo, and welcome home! You’ve been missed.

  2. Carol says:

    Amen, lovely photo, beautiful family, all of you — welcome back, Deb.

  3. Suzanne says:

    Welcome back from lovely Wales! Congratulations about Dad!!!! I am so so happy!
    I remember everything with Mom earlier and now this! Oh Deb! There are really
    no words to describe how even I feel about this across the big ol pond! He is now
    my brother in Christ too! Welcome home! God bless you forever! Amen!

  4. Alexa says:

    Welcome back! Happy Easter! AND Welcome home DAD!

  5. Gabrielle says:

    This is so wonderful! What a truly blessed Easter. I love your expression, ‘chuffed to bits’. 🙂

  6. Melanie says:

    Lovely photo! Glad to “see” you back and how exciting for your Dad!

  7. Fabulous picture & many congratulations!

  8. seekeruk says:

    Congratulations and blessings to your dad.

    You and your mum look so alike!

  9. blendedworship says:

    What a blessing that your family can worship Christ together! That’s awesome! Thanks for sharing this testimony. I’ve been praying for my sister and my dad for some time now… God is faithful, aye?

  10. Owen says:

    Coming to this late but still super happy for the lot of you.

  11. ukok says:

    Thanks all for the congratulations for Dad and for my family.

    Suz, SO glad you still pass by this way and I’m very pleased you liked your snail mail card 🙂

    Blended worship! Thanks for stopping by…do you have a blog i can visit 🙂

Leave a Reply

