Tag. I’m it! You’re it! We’re all it!

I’ve been tagged by Scott and Jean

The Rulez

1. The rules of the game get posted at the beginning.
2. Each player answers the questions about themselves.
3. At the end of the post, the player then tags 5 people and posts their names, then goes to their blogs and leaves them a comment, letting them know they’ve been tagged and asking them to read your blog.

What I was doing 10 years ago:

I was coming to the end of a very troubled (and invalid) marriage and I was doing a lot of crying and falling apart. 10 years ago wasn’t a good time for me.

Five things on my To Do List today:

1. Go to my part time job as a parish secretary.

2. Try to work to schedule so I can get myself to confession at lunchtime.

3. Finish work on time so I can get home and see to some family stuff.

4. Prepare dinner for us and snuggle down on the sofa, thereby fulfilling my Friday observance of watching a romantic movie (my other Friday observance of course, being that I refrain from eating meat). Rom Com Fridays are the LAW in this household. Don’t like rom-coms? You don’t get an invite!

5. Blog. Which, with the posting of this very post, I will have achieved…voila!

Snacks I enjoy:

Peanut M&M’s, red seedless grapes, stilton cheese, warm and fresh crusty bread, giant green olives. It’s just the perfect meal. Really.

Things I would do if I were a billionaire:

After I was bought round from my near deathly faint I would eventually get around to spending some time in prayer and seeking the guidance of my closest loved ones as to how best to spend my wads of cash, but basically the following would all be on my list of things to do…

1. Pay off my credit debt and my overdraft and put a chunk of money in my current account, just to see the bank cashiers reaction!

2. Do something nice for my parents to pay them back for all that they have done for me, for helping me out whenever they’ve been able to…maybe make a sizeable deposit in their bank account or buy them a holiday home or something. I would also make sure they had no money worries as they approach their twilight years and that they had enough to provide for all their future healthcare needs etc.

3. Ensure that I am financially viable so that I don’t have to be dependant upon any organisation, individual or ‘the state’ for my families income. This might involve setting up a business that could be run from home or making investments.

4. Make sure that my children are provided for. Buy property that they will inherit when they come of age. I have never owned my own home and as the first rung of the ladder in the property market is now way beyond my reach, I likely never will at aged (almost) 40 and with a below minimum wage income. I would love to give the children a good start in life with regard to property and financial stability. Nothing excessive though – I think it would be more important to give them what they would need as opposed to what they want.

5. Donate. But since charitable giving is not to be boasted about, I won’t disclose how much I would give, or to whom I would give it. Lets just say that I wouldn’t be a billionaire for very long.

Three of my bad habits:

1. impatience.
2. a propensity to anger.
3. failing to trust in God’s provision and thereby being rather neurotic in nature.

Five places I have lived:

1. Staffordshire

2. Warwickshire

3. Suffolk
4.
5.

Five jobs I’ve had:

1. Shop assistant

2. Parish secretary

3. Photographer

4. Waitress/bottlewasher in a wine bar

5. Paper turner (don’t ask)

Five people I want to know more about (tag):

Everyone who visits my blog!  Let me know in the combox if you are participating in this meme!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Tag. I’m it! You’re it! We’re all it!

  1. Welcome back, hope you all feel suitably rested! (Well, you won’t if you start thinking about all that ironing you have to do hee hee)
    Already done this on my blog – Alexa got me started on it, and now it seems to be going round everyone!!!!They really do spread these meme thingies!

  2. Tom says:

    Well hello stranger! Nice to have you back from vacation! You know, I have a dream about someday living in Europe and somewhere in the UK would be nice. Lot’s of trees, rolling hills, seasons, and narrow streets in a quiet village is what I’m aiming for.

    As far as the meme goes, I share your bad habits. I’m working on them as they are a sign of needed conversion. God bless!

  3. Rita says:

    I’ve done this meme already too, though I didn’t get the “things on the to do list” question.

    Glad your back, the blogs are a little quiet at the moment. I’m so pleased about your Dad, mine’s been fighting his Catholic faith since the 1970s, and he’s not any happier for doing so. Say a prayer for him, his name is James.

    God Bless,
    Rita
    xxx

  4. ukok says:

    Maggie, i did the ironing this afternoon…phew! Thanks for the welcome back!

    Jen, I really enjoyed reading your responses 🙂

    Tom,

    We had all 4 seasons in one day today, what are you waiting for…get on over here and lap it up! Seriously though, if you ever come over to do a recky of counties and cities and you happen to end up in mine while you are passing through, look me up 😉

    Jackie,

    nice to *see* you 🙂

    Rita,

    Blogs and blog stats are rather thin on the ground since i got back, i’ve noticed. Thanks for sharing about your Dad. Yup, James will certainly be in my prayers henceforth!

    Thanks for the welcome back sweetie 🙂

  5. TO says:

    I played too!

  6. ukok says:

    I’m coming over to check it out now!

  7. Renee says:

    Hi Deb,

    I love the snacks you wrote down. The cheese, bread and olives are making my mouth water right now!

    I’ll do this after my workshop is over. I am glad you are back safe and sound, though, and can’t wait to get back to blogging!

Leave a Reply

