Personal Prayer Request

My 12 year old son discovered a lump at the back of his head last night (under the skin, round, quite hard, doesn’t move easily, worrying me sick…). The receptionist at the doctor’s just informed me that I could have got him in this morning, if I hadn’t already taken him to school as he felt okay…I was hoping not to alarm him and to get him an appointment for after school…my plan failed. I can’t get him in the doctors until tomorrow morning now, when I have to phone them to make an ’emergency appointment’. He has been having headaches and told me this morning as we left for school,  that he had a v. bad headache and felt sick and dizzy all day at school yesterday.

Of course, it could be nothing serious, but lumps on heads cause me considerable concern. I wish I hadn’t taken him to school now, but he was smiley and happy and seemed okay…and I did stupidly think i could get him an appointment for this afternoon.

Please throw a prayer up to heaven, if you can spare one. And if you have any experience of lumps on heads, (not as in ‘bumps’ that have arisen from kids clashing heads together, my son hasn’t banged his head)…then please leave a comment.

Thanks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Personal Prayer Request

  1. pokankuni says:

    My son (who is 14) often had a kind of lump on the side of his neck or on his nape, until two or three years ago, especially when he was a bit ill from flu or a bad cold or sore throat, because the lump was some swollen lymph node, due to an extra need for white blood cells by his immune system. So it was nothing serious. Sometimes the lump was there for months and still his doctor said nothing was wrong. I hope this is the case for your son also. Anyway I’m praying about it! (Forgive my english…I’m Italian) Best wishes!

  2. pokankuni says:

    Forgot details: its size was between a cherry pit and a hazelnut, and -as you described- rather hard, not movable, under the skin.

  3. Praying!
    Why not check back with the doctor and ask them to call if there is a cancellation today? I know your mind will be at ease the sooner you get him in there.

  4. Carol says:

    It could be just a granuloma or vasculitis – these can occur after a viral illness — bodies are incredibly intricate. It could be what we call a “blind pimple” – just under the skin. Plus, the adolescent body can just be plain weird in all its doings. Stop feeling guilty, Mom; even if serious, a mere school day or two’s wait won’t have made any dire difference. I recall first not realizing and then not believing that my daughter’s eyesight could be very bad. When I began to realize how bad it really was, I was terrified she’d go blind, and that’s a horrible feeling — nothing short of prayer deals with a mom’s fears, so I’ll keep you both in prayer.

  5. Jennifer says:

    I will send up an extra prayer for you and your son.
    I have 2 lumps on my head. They about the size of a grape. Hard. Hardly moves. If I press on them they ache but not too bad. The dr said not to worry. He told me what it was but I forget the exact name. I think it’s a calcium deposit.

    Hopefully your son has something as benign.

  6. mimima says:

    Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy, Lord have Mercy.

    We just went through a swollen lymph node incident ourselves.

  7. Rosemary says:

    You and your son are in my prayers. It’s probably nothing serious but these things are so scary. Oh Lord, may it be nothing at all. May it be easily diagnosed. Please give the doctor your wisdom. And may Deb be at peace from now until the appointment, knowing both she and her dear son are in your hands. And Lord, please give her a good nights sleep too.

  8. Suzanne says:

    Deb,
    It’ll probably be okay. I’ll keep this in my prayers though, you know
    that. 🙂 Also, I think teens have alot of headaches…hormonal stresses
    and all that just like menopausal women do. Place it all in Jesus’ Hands.
    Let Him put His arms of comfort around you and rest in them.

  9. Tom says:

    Most assuredly I will/ am praying. Please keep us updated.

  10. Gabrielle says:

    Will be praying for him tonight, Deb, and for your peace of mind as well.

Leave a Reply

