Love online.

Alexa’s story proves that not everyone who allows the medium of internet to be used as a means of fascilitating friendships with members of the opposite sex, is going to end up hacked to pieces and thrust into a dumpster in an alleyway in Chinatown…..and Alexa’s not the only one of my blog buddies who found love online, and more importantly, a lasting, thriving love.

We’ve had this conversation on the blog before so I won’t go on about wasting 6 months of my life interacting with an addict who was a former drug grower and salesperson (check the archives if you are THAT interested) but i just had to share Alexa’s story with you because I find it fascinating, and admittedly, somewhat encouraging….besides which, it’s just incredible that she and Rob had only known one another in person for 24 hours before they had determined that they wanted to spend the rest of their lives together….now that is romantic…no games…no, ‘does he/she like me?’…heck, there’s a very real need to be cautious in a world full of potential nutters, but when you know somehting is right, why pussyfoot around…(besides which, some men are just a little too reticent y’know).

Read Alexa’s story here.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Love online.

  1. Owen says:

    My Mom found the love of her later life online at a pet site. Back in the day when I was still an ordained minister and I had the honour of officiating their wedding. He was from Colorado USA and she Ontario Canada. Sadly after they finally settled into a home in Michigan not too far from the Ontario border her man died in his sleep. Although they only had about three an a half years together it was deeper and more loving than the three and a half decades spent with my alcoholic manic-depressive father. She’s never regretted that time with her man.

  2. Carol says:

    🙂 Aw, Owen.. God is good.

    I met all my husbands online.

    (Kidding!) Actually, I probably ought not add my 2 cents’ worth — 1.5 cents of it is dismal! Distance is a real problem, let’s say between Arizona and Edinburgh, or Alberta and the midwest. Obviously, if anything gets cooking, one or both may have to pull up roots, which affects extended families (and immediate, if there are children), etc. One may just find, too, that the bubbly person on the other video cam for whom one has changed one’s whole life and made all the marriage plans, is in actuality a chronic but well-hidden agoraphobic! It was triply hard, the disappointment first, but also because he (the one left in the lurch) is not well at all; and also, he’d told everyone including all his kids and their kids and all his family about it– had invited folks from everywhere to come wish them blessings.

    But about that .5 cent that isn’t dismal: a friend’s long-widowed shopkeeper mom just remarried…she’d talked with a man online who is into antiques (who happens also to be in publishing), and found they lived only about a half hour away from one another. She’s a perfectly healthy, buoyant, pretty soul, and tho’ he is healthy enough, he was a “thalidomide baby” and very noticeably so. Very. He has many handicaps, but these two were and are crazy about each other. They have the very same interests; I think that helps a lot. Also, he lived in the location of where she grew up, so they found they already knew the same people there in the Lakes region. Also, it didn’t hurt that he is a devout Catholic, and he brought her back to the Sacraments. They are selling their houses and building one expressly for their very own union. Talk about marital bliss. These two are amazing…

    I guess one never really knows..

  3. Melanie says:

    Yea for AOL’s online romance personals! That’s where I met my darling almost 13 years ago and we’re celebrating our 11th wedding anniversary this summer 😉 He proposed on our 3rd date; and we wed 2 years later.

  4. Suzanne says:

    I know a couple who met online. I think caution is to pray beforehand and just be very sensible…that is what we should do rather we meet face to face or any other thing…right? Alexa and Rob’s story is absolutely incredible, though, isn’t it?

  5. ukok says:

    Owen,

    that story is both beautiful and heart wrenching all at the same time. I know what your mum means though. My greatest love gave me a beautiful daughter and then he died when she was 8 monbths old….we weren’t together very long, but I can honestly say (and this is no threat to prospective marriage material because lets face it, Steve is dead and I’ve moved on)that I still love him and I know I always will. Your mum and I, though we have felt that searing pain of loss at something so beautiful being so tragically withdrawn from our lives….we are grateful women, women who knew what it was to be loved in the most comprehensive and intense way…he knew me, he really knew me…and still he loved me…he didn’t pick me apart like every other man i’ve evr known….he didn’t wait for an argument to arise and then tell me I was a fat sod….i knew he loved me….ini fact the hardest thing in the world for me during our relationship…was to get him to accept that I loved him, completely.

    I don’t think I’ll ever love like that again…be that intuitive with anyone, have anyone now the very depths of me, even all my foulness….and still love the wretch that I am….but I’m open to new beginnings, if it be God’s will 🙂

    God Bless your mother….I can appreciate a little more, why you consider her one of your closest friends.

  6. ukok says:

    Carol,

    a friend’s long-widowed shopkeeper mom just remarried…she’d talked with a man online who is into antiques (who happens also to be in publishing), and found they lived only about a half hour away from one another. She’s a perfectly healthy, buoyant, pretty soul, and tho’ he is healthy enough, he was a “thalidomide baby” and very noticeably so. Very. He has many handicaps, but these two were and are crazy about each other. They have the very same interests; I think that helps a lot. Also, he lived in the location of where she grew up, so they found they already knew the same people there in the Lakes region. Also, it didn’t hurt that he is a devout Catholic, and he brought her back to the Sacraments. They are selling their houses and building one expressly for their very own union. Talk about marital bliss. These two are amazing…

    WOW! That is just so romantic. It seems that everyone has a ‘tick box’ these days….we want attractive, healthy, professional partners….and we tend to overlook considerably less attractive and/or ill and/or lower paid members of the opposite sex. It’s truly edifying to read of a story that smacks some reality back into true meaning of romance.

    Thanks for sharing!

    It gives this fat asthmatic part time employee a little hope 😉

  7. ukok says:

    Melanie,

    I’m delighted for you and your hubbie, you are rasing a beautiful family….who’d a thought AOL could fascilitate that!

    Suz, I agree…lot’s of prayers, lot’s of discernment.

    Thanks for stopping by, my friend!

  8. Alexa says:

    thank you for the post, Deb. I hope your head cold gets better.

    What a turd – your son’s dad. If he wants to see him on Sundays, tell him to get his ass to Mass and see him THERE!

  9. Carol says:

    Right on — you go, girl!

  10. Joe says:

    Hi Deb!

    Some of us live in very remote locations and the only way to meet people is online. Yes there are horror stories of predators in sheep’s clothing, but there are also genuine and wonderful people to meet, and this is a way to do that. I think it is a wonderful opportunity overall, and certainly saves on fuel costs at first.

  11. ukok says:

    Joe,

    Great points!

    I agree with you that cybcerspace isn’t full of predatory types. Lot’s of bloggers have written to me or have left comments over the years, to tell me that they found the love of their lives on the internet.

    At the end of the day there may be dangerous people living in our neighbourhoods, working alongside us, we interact with them daily, but don’t *know* about them. They’re the real and immediate threat.

    I just advise exercising caution in cyberspace, but of course, allowing this medium to fascilitae friendships…and if something more comes of those friendships? Great!

Leave a Reply

