Oh My Goodness….

I’m trying to keep things light folks…trying to stay positive…but i think i may have just rocked completely off my rocker!

I must be absolutely mad to share this little idiotic episode with you but….

Click the above link and then press the button that says ‘Play’ if you want to hear something REALLY stupid….if you ever happened to wonder what this cranky Brit sounds like…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Oh My Goodness….

  1. Alexa says:

    DEB! I listened! I listened! Glad I did! You and I are like two peas, you know that?? I love doing stuff like that – and plan on playing around with my laptop recorder today too – since I’m laid up in bed again….read my newest post for that explanation…

    Anyhow – I must tell you “crap” isn’t really a swear word. It’s sort of a synonym for POOP and some people hear the “sh**” word when they see/read “crap” I guess. Me? Well, it’s not the most lady-like word around, so I try not to use it so much – but sometimes nothing else will do.

    Your voice IMMEDIATELY made me think of Halie Mills – what a lovely British accent – and I could UNDERSTAND you – unlike my friend who lives here who was from London, I guess. I can’t always understand what she’s saying – but she says “yah” a lot. I noticed you say “right” like Hugh Grant says “right” – sort of like we’d say, “so…”

    AND last, but not least, YOU HAVE AN AMAZING voice! you should be on American British Idol! Seriously – you can do all those trills and up and down things. I can’t do that. I’m not going to sing on my recording – if I ever get to figure out how to do that. You sound like you could sing a country western type of song – like, I dunno, maybe what’s her name – oh. I forget her name. CRAP

    And I hope you feel better soon, LUV.

  2. When you started I thought, oh my goodness, she sounds just like I do when I’m being recorded! But then you began to sound a bit more northern than wot I would! Well done for filling up the four minutes – half way through I was thinking to myself, if it were me, I’d have to burst into song to fill up the time, and then you said you were going to sing – I was disappointed you left it to such a short bit right at the end though!! (And if I’d sung it really would be crap!![not a word I ever use]), and yes Alexa, it means poo over here too!! I remember when I was little, and my brothers and I were playing footie in the park with my dad, and we children kept saying to each other “oh, that’s a crap shot”, and “what a load of crap” etc.and my Dad, in irritation told us what the word actually meant, (he actually specified dog poo!) I was horrified, and disgusted. I ceased to use it as a child, it’s a shame we grow out of such childish sensibilities, eh?
    You sound really nice Deb, slightly nutty, but a real good laugh! (Oh, and take nutty as a compliment!)

  3. ukok says:

    Alexa, you truly are a darling….but i think you need a hearing test! I have long thought we were long lost sisters….every time i read a post of yours i think so a little more …. which in that case means….i can’t be all bad!

    Love ya!

    MC,

    Your right about my voice changing…my daughter says i use a ‘phone voive’ but i do so completely unbeknowst to me…it’s just somehting i’ve always done since leaving school and working as a secretary and answering phones! So i start out talking like lady muck and end up talking as common as muck!

    And you’re also right that ‘crap’ is a foul word. I try not to say it, really i do…i just have so little self control…i can’t imagine how long i will be in Purgatory!

    Thanks for listening, or should i say, enduring it all!

  4. Renee says:

    That was so fun, Deb. Truly. Do it again!

  5. Suzanne says:

    I liked it too! Since we cannot chat on the telephone … all of us, these ways are nice. I don’t know how you do all that fancy schmansy stuff. Anyway, you have a really neat voice..very jazzy and full of spirit and your own take on a very cool song. I was just listening to the version that the former group…3 Dog Night…
    did of that tune..just last week, in fact.

  6. Antonia says:

    hehe! ๐Ÿ™‚ You have a really good singing voice!!

  7. Easter A. says:

    WOW! Deb, you have a beautiful voice! You are also funny. I was about ready for bed, quite sleepy, but you got my interest going.

    Keep singing for the praise and glory of our God! (joyful shout) Wohhoooo!

  8. mum6kids says:

    I loved it! Hehehe. Do it again-you know you want to!
    BTW we are such a bizarre family we have a little hard back book all about the toilet inventer Thomas Crapper-a good northern lad.
    Crap comes from his name.
    Hope you enjoyed that mug of tea LOL.
    Great singing voice-and that with a cold an’all.

  9. Esther says:

    You sound just what I imagined you to sound Deb. You have a lovely voice.

  10. Renee says:

    Hey Deb, as an aside, I have some photos up of my latest icon. I thought you might like to take a peek.

  11. Therese says:

    Hey Deb. You sound just like my girlfriend Hazel. She moved here from the UK so I suppose that explains it. I have a picture in my mind of you now that is similar to Hazel. Do you have a photo on here of you?

    I love your singing voice.

  12. Carol says:

    What a beautiful voice, Deb. I’m not surprised.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. ukok says:

    How sweet are you all….okay, how much do i have to pay you for being so absolutely wonderful?

    (((hugs all around)))

  14. ukok says:

    Therese, i do have a photo on here somewhere..i’ll have to see what i can do about putting one back up on my ‘about’ page ๐Ÿ™‚

    Where does Hazel live in the UK?

  15. Karen H. says:

    Girlfriend, you’re not shouting, you’re barely whispering. ๐Ÿ˜€ Great post, and great voice. In America “crap” is used among “normal” people all the time. It’s a mild synonym for ****, which rhymes with “hit.” But it’s a very mild word. According to comedian George Carlin there were 7 you couldn’t use on TV $**t, **** (the BIG one beginning with “F”), Screw (as in “turn of the”), mother-compoundword-of-anglo-saxon-variety, cock-******, and tits. Some words can or can’t be used depending on context. It’s okay to prick your finger, but don’t finger your *****. That sort of thing. ;-D

    Why do British people sing with American Accents? ๐Ÿ˜€ I bet if we woke you up in the middle of the night your speaking accents would be just like ours too. ;-D

  16. Mimi says:

    You, my dear, sound lovely!

  17. Rosemary says:

    Deb! What fun it was to hear your voice, both speaking and singing. you sound exactly as I imagine you would. And you can sing! Really. I just finished watching American Idol and you are every bit as good as those finalists. Thank you for sharing your voice. It was like getting to meet another part of you. Love your British accent. It sounds so much nicer than American English. Hope you’re feeling better. God bless

  18. Rosemary says:

    This is Rosemary’s daughter Elizabeth,

    I think you have a great voice. And I didn’t think your recording was boring, I think it was good. I’m 11 years old… (my mom told me to write my age). I love your accent. I hope you feel better. I’ve never talked to someone in the UK before.

  19. Therese says:

    My friend Hazel moved from the UK. I don’t know where she lived. I didn’t realize at first that she was from the UK because her accent wasn’t as strong as others I had known from there. I will have to text her and find out where she lived when she was there.

  20. Gabrielle says:

    I think you have a lovely voice too, Deb, both speaking and singing. I really liked hearing your lovely accent. If you enjoyed doing this as much as we all enjoyed listening, you could get an inexpensive microphone/headset, so you don’t have to hunch over the laptop the whole time. ๐Ÿ™‚

  21. ukok says:

    Elizabeth, you’re adorable! I love that you were so kind as to type a comment to me! You have to look out in the post because you know what, I’m going to be sending you a little something in the post for listening to my first podcast all the way through! It might take a couple of weeks to get to you, but i promise i’ll be sending a little bit of something to you. Thanks so much for listening ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Rosemary says:

    Deb, Elizabeth just read your comment and her face lit up with a BIG smile. “She’s going to send a little something to me???!” You are so sweet. Hope you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

