We are Family…

Isn’t if funny how sometimes when we use something frequently, we tend to not *see* it after a while ?

British readers will be familiar with Tesco no doubt, it’s a major supermarket chain in the UK….British readers who shop at Tesco will also no doubt be familiar with the Tesco Clubcard.

It’s a loyalty card that I like a lot.

I like it a lot because every time I shop at Tesco (which hasn’t been a very much lately as I’m waiting for their new store to be built in the area because the other store nearby is rather crummy and understocked) I get points added to my card.

The points are then allowed to accumulate so that 100 points turn into £1 fairly rapidly actually….and the best bit…the points an be exchanged for 4 times their value when used in conjunction with other offers, known as Clubcard Deals.

For example, a theme park pass that costs £33 in per person, can be purhased online with just 825 Tesco points. Last year this scheme enabled me to take 4 of us to Alton Towers for the day, and the good news is that I already have enough saved up to take us all again this year! I love a bargain and there’s no way I could afford to pay in excess of £100 for a day out on my budget. Not when you have to add meals, travel expenses etc.

So, the point of this post isn’t actually about Tesco’s really, I’m just getting a bit sidetracked as usual….but in a way it is about Tesco because I just had a new Tesco key fob and loyalty card posted through my letterbox and when I went to put the keyfob on my keys, it was like i was seeing *something* for the first time.

Another key fob I have on my house keys is one of the Holy Family..I knew it was there because I put it there, but I haven’t *seen* it in ages. Well, in my family things are really quite difficult right now, as you’ll know if you’ve been reading my blog for a bit….and it seems that each day is bringing another worry, another argument, another dilemma with it.

This morning was no exception….. on the school run I actually nearly drove into a bus and I swore the worst words at my daughter …all because she couldn’t get her own way about something and kept whining at me as I was driving. I was almost in tears with frustration with her! Not good when you are driving.

Anyway, I’m getting distracted again….so on the reverse side of the Holy Family key fob is a prayer, and it read…

Family Prayer

God made us a family.

We need one another

We love one another

We forgive one another

We work together

We play together

We worship together.

..and I just needed to read that today.

I needed the reminder that even when I don’t know what the hell I’m doing, and when I just don’t feel cut out for this single parent mullarky, God made us a family.

No matter if little miss horrorbags or little master ‘I prefer my Daddy’ try to make me feel like I am the most awful mother in the world…no matter that neither of my children seem to care about anyone else other than themselves….no matter if they are being stroppy and difficult and cynical about attending Mass and questioning their faith and not hearing me when I try to guide them….no matter if they think they know it all….no matter that I have worries and responsibilities that I pray to God they’ll never have to endure ….no matter that they continue to heap more worry, more stress upon me…no matter that one minute they can be loving and affectionate and the next scathing and completely unpredictable….we weren’t thrown together by accident.

Our bizzarre little family is all a part of God’s plan.

God knows what He is doing.

This entry was posted in Home & Family, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to We are Family…

  1. Suzanne says:

    I have that prayer card too and I’ve lost it! I love that prayer card…I’m going to search for it. Also, I’ve been communicating with my nephew…he gave his family woes as a teen. Anyway, he’s trying to raise his only son who is about 8 now with only having him 2 and half days a week. My nephew is a decent young man now, I believe … for the most part and he tells me that the reactions we show our teens are important, so watch your reactions. Would you like to personally email more about this…you know why I wonder that….let me know.
    Suz 🙂

  2. Carol says:

    Even in what you might call less bizarre families, there are similar or same troubles, and it’s not a matter of whose the bad guy now.. it’s just life. Life is hard. But the alternative may be even harder on everyone. I have the easiest confessor in the world. On Saturday after confessing my sins with my own shock that I’m still such a jerk, he said after giving my penance, “Oh, and you know what else you can do?” He said to do something nice for myself this week. He quoted a couple of saints and said of their wisdom that if we ourselves have more peace within us from being happier (say, by doing something for ourselves), the more we’ll be able to give that to those around us. We can’t draw on what isn’t there. Just passing that along, for whatever it’s worth. And just a side note that these two will make you a Grandma one day, and then you will see just how much they’ve always loved and needed and trusted you. You will be the treasure they give their kids.

  3. Mimi says:

    Dear Deb, I’ve been struggling with parenting these last couple of days, I thank you so much for your words, that is exactly the lesson I needed to read this mroning. Thank you!

  4. Christine M says:

    Isn’t it amazing how God shows you things, just when you need to be reminded of him the most!

  5. Esther says:

    When you post these things it usually strikes a chord with me too. Thanks Deb. BTW, I love the photo of you on top 🙂

  6. Cathy Keller says:

    I know that the family I have is a gift…some days I am aware of it more than others. The key (no pun intended) it to take time to work on the gift! Thank you for this post…You are Terrif’

  7. Karen H. says:

    Great post. I think more families are like yours than the Trapp family!

  8. What a wonderful little prayer! No family is perfect–but we can strive to do better.
    Had to LOL at “Miss Horrorbags” though. I’ll have to save that one for when Middle Sister ramps up the drama.

  9. Jean says:

    I love that little prayer! It’s wonderful that you can look at this with a sense of humor and give it to God.

    It’s good to see your beautiful, smiling face above. Sorry, but I have to ask, have you lost weight?

  10. ukok says:

    I’m glad I shared this with you all, because it helps me to know that some of you share a similarly sinful daily life!

    And those without kids still appreciate where I’m at, because you’re human too!

    Jean, no my dear I’m still rotund! It’s just artistic licence that had my former photographer self cutting off the other 2/3rds of my width! LOL! (I know a good many tricks like that).

    I lost a few pounds, which didn’t even put a dent in how much weight I have to lose….but I then gained it all back…arghghghghgh!

    p.s. Suz, sorry I haven’t responded to your last email yet, but if you want to email me about your nephew I will read it and try to get back to you soon, promise 🙂

  11. Gabrielle says:

    Deb, how about sharing that little prayer with the kids; they just might surprise you and “see” it too!

  12. ukok says:

    Gabielle, you are so right, such a simple idea, and yet I never thought of doing that. We prayed it together years ago, but not since. Perhaps we’ll say it before grace tomorrow, before our mealtime?

    Hopefully I will remember to take it out of my bag!

  13. ukok says:

    Gabrielle, we did it, we prayed the prayer before we gave thanks for our evening meal! Great suggestion!

Leave a Reply

